We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-Taking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Matterhorn

The Matterhorn
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$270*
and up
Private Guided Tour to Mount Matterhorn Area and...
Ranked #1 of 46 things to do in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing mountain towers 14,700 feet on the Swiss-Italian border.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breath-Taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Gorgeous scenary, the cable ride up offers many opportunities to soak in the different views and landscapes. We had plenty of fun at a couple of the games station, totally thrilled with the experience.

The Ice Palace was nothing to shout about though, we enjoyed the one at Jungfrau much better.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank teoliyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Went up to the Rothorn via the Sundegga funicular, gondola and then cable car. The view from the Rothorn gives the classic Matterhorn view. The Gorergrat Bahn takes you closer to the Matterhorn (we didn't go so I can't tell personally) but doesn't give you the same angle view.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank wayneremington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The cable car ride up is superb and offers amazing views. The hike down on the Matterhorn Trail is another sight to behold but the signs could be confusing at times as it offers options on routes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nocrosscourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Matterhorn Trail: From Schwarzsee via Stafel to Furi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This trail has been on my wishlist for the last 6 years, and I was lucky to do it this year. The weather was perfect from the very morning, and we started at the Schwarzsee cable car station at 2583 m. The trail is wide and easy in the beginning, suiting bicycles, even heavy trucks that use it occasionally. The path goes roughly along the north side of the Matterhorn, letting better views of its glaciers and snow covering this side. Especially interesting is the curtain shape that the snow got (see attached photos). As we descended, the flora gets thicker and low trees appear. It looks like a lot of green swellings on the ground. At Stafel you may stop for a tee and refreshments. The trail continues above the very deep gorge of the river below. Later on it turned out that most of the water in this river that comes from the Matterhorn glaciers - is collected in a big reservoir and from there literally stolen and transferred via long tunnels to Grand Dixence - to power the hydroelectric power station. Zermatt never sees this water anymore. We reached Furi after 4.5 hours, very tired and satisfied.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank adamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cable car ride - Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Cable car ride was good and amazing. This ride up is definintelt not to be missed. Worth the time, effort and money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Matterhorn also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to The Matterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing