We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best ski vacation ever. Summer/Winter.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Matterhorn

The Matterhorn
Zermatt, Switzerland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Zermatt
Type: Outdoors
Activities: Mountaineering, Hiking, Skiing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This imposing mountain towers 14,700 feet on the Swiss-Italian border.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The best ski vacation ever. Summer/Winter.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's an unbelievable ski experience. Ski both countries. Get yourself a reservation in one of the Italian restaurant in the mountains for a nice home made lunch. Get there early getting through 3 gondolas to get to the top top takes a while. A week minimum.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    77
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“one less on my bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have always wanted to come here, It was just stunning to see. I would recommend taking a warm jacket up as I didn't and regretted it as lots of the time I was shivering.. silly me.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York, United States
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the most amazing things I have done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The World famous Matterhorn is all that it cracked up to be! Of course I have only seen pictures, hwever being able to see it live is quite an experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Take the train from Zermatt to the observatory and there you will find an awesome view of the Matterhorn. Absolute breath taking view!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

All pictures don't do this magnificent mountain justice..you just have to see it for yourself. It was beautiful and majestic.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Matterhorn also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to The Matterhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Matterhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.