We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not the place, it's the people ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Berghof Zermatt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Berghof Zermatt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Winkelmattenweg 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Luxembourg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's not the place, it's the people ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The popular quote does summarize the essence of this hotel. The owner family and the entire staff do everything to make you feel at home. Last time that I was able to appreciate such a high level of hospitality was in Asia. It would however be great for other (unfortunately many) Swiss hotels to take example on the Berghof experience.

The hotel is superbly located for skiers, just a few meters from the matterhorn glacier paradise lifts. It is a 10 minutes walk to the town center, but then, you are on holidays, and without the noise and the smell of car exhausts, walking is a great experience.

The hotel has all the facilities you would expect from a 4* hotel, the food is very good; the wellness area has been extended with a wonderful swimming pool. Hotel prizes are ok, remember that you are in Switzerland in general, and in Zermatt in particular.

To conclude, I highly recommend this hotel, a true gem I will surely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently spent a weekend in Zermatt for an early pre-season ski. I have been to Zermatt many times, but this was my first stay at the Berghof, and it won't be the last. Yes, the location is unparalleled - right next to the Gondola station. Yes, this is a little ways from town, but a nice walk. The hotel itself is lovely, feels very Chalet like without being kitchy. The rooms were a generous size. The staff is super friendly and helpful. Will definitely be coming back. And hey, if it's good enough for the swiss ski team, who we missed by a day, then it's good enough for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Zermatt is chic and expensive and with good reason - it provides some of the best skiing in Europe. (If you want to enjoy its pleasures at budget price, stay in Cervinia in Italy and buy an international ski pass. But, if you do, keep a watchful eye on the weather forecast as the Theodul pass will close in bad weather and you will face a huge taxi bill back to the Italian side). But, as a result and rather like the Trois Vallees, Zermatt has become a little self satisfied. This was our fourth trip to Zermatt in the last six years and, while we love the location, we have found the hotels to be rather unfriendly in their service and general attitude towards their clientele.

Not so the Hotel Berghof. In fact it is so good that I did consider not posting this report in case the place becomes too popular as a result. My wife declared it the best ski hotel we have ever stayed in (and that is many). It feels more like home than an hotel with friendly but unobtrusive service, and comfortable spacious rooms with magical, glorious views of the Matterhorn. Dinner is superb. The new spa and pool should win a design award. Breakfast is perhaps rather limited and the ski room somewhat cramped but these are minor criticisms.

Don't stay there if you are one of the skiing in-crowd and want to see and be seen.
Don't stay there if you want to be in the centre of the apres ski night life - as other reviewers have pointed out it is not in the centre of town.
Don't stay there if you want a huge dining choice - there are only two choices of main course at dinner but both were cooked superbly every night we were there.
Don't stay there if you want to meet up with other English speakers - you will be lucky (or perhaps unlucky) to hear another English voice.

Perhaps the greatest praise came from our daughters who are very much into the apres ski scene - 'We really did not want to go out on an evening'.

Room Tip: Choose to go in one of their Winter Ski weeks to make the package a little more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adams, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I had never been to Switzerland but chose this hotel based on a friends recommendation and what a trip! We spent the Christmas season in this warm, old country style hotel that catered to the lack of French that we spoke and really made us feel like we were a part of the country. An absolutly fabulous breakfast in the morning and a staff that was more than helpful in pointing us in the right direction to see Zermatt and how beautiful Switzerland is.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Hotel Berghof is one of the best in Zermatt. The location is favourable for skiers as it takes about 2 mins to walk to the lift station. The only disadvantage location-wise is, that it is approx 20mins away from the main street called Bahnhofstrasse. Since there are many taxis available at any time, even this little disadvantage is not an issue. The Hotel itself is very clean and build nicely with lots of wood and a very homey atmosphere. The owners family treats guests like their own family which makes them the nicest hotel patrons in Zermatt I would say. The rooms are spacious, clean and price/value is one of the best you can get in Zermatt. The breakfast buffet is nicely prepared with lots of food, for every culture/taste something to find. Even dinner's are almost a must in that well served delicious restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My husband and I cannot say enough good about this hotel. We have been lucky enought to have stayed here many times, and cannot imagine being in Zermatt at any other hotel. Franz and Regina are wonderful hosts, and go out of their way to make sure their guests are comfortable, and happy. Everything about the hotel is like a fairytale. It's location at the far end of town is wonderful, because it is quiet, and it necessitates a wonderful walk to and from the village center (not a long walk) that allows you to enjoy the village and it's clean fresh air....which is one of the main reasons you're here anyway! Many rooms have clear views of the Matterhorn......which Franz graciously provided us with this trip, even though we came without a reservation. You cannot really enjoy all that Zermatt has to offer without a stay at this wonderful "home away from home". We would never stay anywhere else again.....Five Stars don't buy you a peaceful night....even in Zermatt!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We had fantastic ski holiday in Zermatt recently. 12 nights in Berghof made huge difference for our holiday.

We found this hotel via internet search and booked direct with the hotel. The location seemed perfect for our need. We always like to stay closest possible to the ski lift so we don't have walk or take bus with our ski gear. We were so pleased when we arrived and praised ourselves for finding the place.

The hotel is literary right next to the Klein Matterhorn cable car (After couple of days of walking down ~30m of stiff hill to cable car station, we found the side door to the cable car building is less than 10 steps away) which gives you easy access to all ski area of Zermatt and Cervinia, Italy. It was also easy walk down (less than 10 minute) to the town centre but this wasn’t necessary often for us as we had half board which include 5 course gourmet dinner meal every night. Menu changes everyday, it was kind of exciting to wait for the dinner time every night. Meal would typically consisted with starter, soup, salad from salad bar, choice of main meal (2 options) and choice of dessert (2 options) which were all delicious and exquisitely presented.

Buffet breakfast was excellent too, with a dozen choices of bread, variety of fruit, cheese, cold cuts, cereals, home made jams and our absolute favourite - bircher-muslie. They also served excellent coffee (and hot chocolate for our son) every morning.

We choose to stay junior suit which was fraction more than normal double room as we have a 12 old son. The room was very spacious and uncluttered, enough room for extra bed, very clean bathroom with heated floor, big balcony with great view and nice fire place.

Ski storage area is well organised, each room has own designated cabinet for skies and enough heated boot rack for every guest.

Staff and owner were friendly but not intrusive. We were very happy and satisfied with the Hotel Berghof and we would definitely go back to Berghof.

We would recommend Hotel Berghof to anyone who like to stay close to the ski lift and enjoy fine dining style meal.

  • Liked — Proximity to ski lift and amazing meals
  • Disliked — Can't think of any
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alfa
Hotel Alfa
#92 of 116 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Artist-Apartments & Hotel Garni
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Darioli
Hotel Darioli
#102 of 116 in Zermatt
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#54 of 116 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
1.0 mi away
Residence Patricia
Residence Patricia
#87 of 116 in Zermatt
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Best Value, Qui...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dufour Zermatt
Hotel Dufour Zermatt
#22 of 116 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berghof Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berghof Zermatt

Address: Winkelmattenweg 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Berghof Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Berghof Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.