We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food & Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avena

Avena
Steinmatte, Zermatt, Switzerland
0279678333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food & Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We enjoyed everything we at at the Avena and the service was really good and friendly. The price was more reasonable than some others and the quality was great. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liveseeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
miami, florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Undiscovered Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This restaurant was not on our radar prior to arrival in Zermatt however we happened to walk by it one night during our stay and peeked in. The ambiance was inviting and the restaurant was full - always a good sign:) We went twice for dinner during our week stay which says a lot because there are quite a few great restaurants in Zermatt. They remembered us when we came back the second time and even remembered what we had ordered! Would recommend to anyone traveling to Zermatt looking for a nice, traditional restaurant with great food and a lot of warmth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aspenfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Underestimated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Everyone knows where Papperla Pub in Zermatt is. Across the street from Papperla is restaurant Avena, few people knows about. The owners apparently are not promoting the place enough, and I think it is pity, because the restaurant is really good and moderately – as for Zermatt – priced. For instance the web page is in German only and does not contain a lot of info. But once you are in, you will have the choice of local and Swiss food, Italian and international as well. Good wines also. The service is quick and dedicated, ready to help and of course multilingual. The interior is perhaps nothing special but on line with local style. And finally – the prices are lower than in many other Zermatt’s places. All together makes Avena good place for almost everything, from quick solo meal, through regular dinner for two, to family or friends meeting. Cost, for standard dinner, will be in the FF range rather than FFF per person. Reservation is recommended but you might also drop in without a call.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Piotr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avena - best discovery in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I would definitely recommend Avena to Zermatt visitors. It's certainly not cheap (at 40-50 Swiss francs for the main dish), but it has amazing food and is less expensive than a lot of other less impressive restaurants in Zermatt.

We were in Zermatt in March 2012 and after our first dinner, we went back to Avena for two nights in a row.

My personal favourite was the beef tartar with Cafe de Paris sauce - an abosulte delicacy! Deer carpaccio, as well as the French onion soup for starters were also amazing.

Everything was great - the food, the service, the ambiance and value for money.

It's suiitable for romantic dinners, as well as with friends. And we've also seen solo diners..

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avena also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Avena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing