We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BELLERIVE Superior

Save Saved
You added BELLERIVE Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BELLERIVE Superior
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved this small hotel with incredibly welcoming and friendly staff/owners. Breathtaking views of the Matterhorn and easy walk into main part of town or to the train station.
Rooms were lovely and well furnished. Bathroom was great. Comfortable, clean, and nice breakfast.
Would love to visit is hotel again someday!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
88
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

no doubt the hotel is a bit far from town and train station but the owners make extra effort to make us comfortable. call the hotel, they will arrange pick up and drop off from / to station. walking time is about 15 mins to town. no joke if u r walking in -15°c temperature. beautiful slopes view from our room. can just sit for hours looking out of the window. breakfast is provided, good coffee and fresh bread and eggs. good milk and cheese. room size a bit small but alright if u don't open both suitcase at same time. room clean with hair dryer and fridge. a bottle of water is provided. make sure u have good walking shoes as snow can turn slippery when wet. over all we had a comfortable stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Bellerive (two friends on a snowboarding trip) for a week over the Zermatt Unplugged event this April.

The hotel in located centrally - close to the main shopping and eating area of town, and about half way between all three main ski lifts. We had a beautiful view back across the town from the fourth floor - with a balcony, large bathroom and spacious room. The service was excellent and helpful, and facilities of very high level - including ski room, ski passes available from reception (no lines at the ticket counters for us) and lovely spa/sauna area. The hotel is relaxed and very quiet - helpful when so close to the centre of the village and had all the features of a large hotel, despite being boutique.

The only critique i had was questionable wifi quality from inside the room - but if i sat close to the door, i could Skype and work easily.

Zermatt is a fabulous place to visit all year around. The best mountain resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The owners Katja and Mario make you feel right at home.
Manuela and the rest of the team couldn't be more helpful with requests such as reservations for the big five (mountain restaurants) since it's imperative make them in advance to secure good spots especially on sunny days.
The hotel is very conveniently located to major attractions and lifts. A decent and compact SPA comes handy after a long and hard day at the slopes!
Some minor issues aren't really worth mentioning here. All in all, we were very satistified and can recommend this place to everyone planning to visit Zermatt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bellerive, Zermatt, in December 2013; and we absolutely loved this place. Mario and Katja were so helpful; and have kept this Swiss gem immaculate and perfect.

Our room had a perfect view of Matterhorn. Breakfast was perfect and the hotel was quiet, clean and perfect (exceeded expectations).

Mario and Katja: thanks for your recommendation for Swiss cheese fondue. Btw, I proposed Megan in St Moritz on a frozen lake, after we left Zermatt.

Thank you so much for your hospitality.

Pankaj

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We always read up on Tripadvisor before we set off on our holidays and when researching where to stay in Zermatt we came across The BelleRive Hotel and were very impressed by all of the positive comments.

The hotel owners, Katja and Mario have created a beautiful, relaxed 'home from home' hotel.
Firstly, the service is that of a 5* hotel. They are so friendly and happy to help with any enquiries you may have. The rooms are comfy, spacious, cleaned to a very high standard daily. Bath towels etc are replaced daily, toiletries always replenished.

Little extras set this hotel a part from other 3*'s - you can enjoy a complimentary bottle of wine, chocolates and fruit upon arrival. Rent DVDs, relax in the smart jacuzzi/sauna area.. Indulge in their delicious breakfasts - homemade jams, fresh local cheeses, variety of breads.. Hot foods are also included plus a huge variety of coffees and teas to suit any discerning guest.

We have had such a memorable stay in beautiful Zermatt, but a huge part of this is with thanks to the BelleRive.

If ever we travel to Zermatt again for a skiing holiday - we will be sure to stay at the BelleRive!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I've just got back from Zermatt and felt I should write a review about this hotel. Although many hotels are efficient and often difficult to fault the owners of the Bellerive seemed to find that next level of personal service. Examples of this were when some of our party had to make a very early start to the station they kindly made them sandwiches to take on the train. When we missed the closing time of the ski rental shop they sorted taking the skis back for us no problems and made really good dining suggestions.
In terms of location its fairly central in Zermatt a few minutes away from the church and main street. We had a room in the eves - a great blend of modern design with exposed beams and large velux windows looking up to the mountain. Some nice touches such as the nespresso machine in the room so you can have a nice coffee rather than those little instant sachets you get in may hotels.
All of my party were very impressed by the warmth of welcome and service and I'd certainly stay again next time I'm in Zermatt

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BELLERIVE Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLERIVE Superior

Address: Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BELLERIVE Superior 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your BELLERIVE Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive Superior Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BELLERIVE Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.