We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continually good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BELLERIVE Superior

Save Saved
You added BELLERIVE Superior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BELLERIVE Superior
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
knutsford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Continually good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

been visiting zermatt and staying herefor over 10 years. It is amazing. Mario and Katya repeatedly carry out small improvements to the hotel, improving things which one had not noticed could be improved. If going to stay in Zermatt, you are making a mistake if you stay anywhere else.
Good value, personal attention, prompt assistance when a ski injury required a visit to medical facilities. Even a new all singing and dancing coffee machine.
Although bed and breakfast basis only there is a facility to dine in the good restaurant attached and Zermatt is full of diverse good restaurants which are pleasant to visit

Room Tip: Ask for Matterhorn view- pretty as well as gives you late afternoon sun, by Zermatt standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
87
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. Mario and Kaya have thought of everything. We had a Sky Room with a full on view of the Matterhorn. The room itself was large and had everything from a Nespresso to binoculars to view the mountain. We were able to buy our ski passes from the ever friendly front desk staff; the ski room itself was big enough to accomodate every one's skis and boots and the girls in our family loved the spa. Breakfast had hot and cold options. This is one of the very best htoels I have stayed in anywhere in the world. And it's located in Zermatt, surely the prettiest and best run ski town anywhere. Altogether, a superb experience. (With some very good skiing as well).

Room Tip: Splash out on a Sky Room and watch the sun go down on the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I spent a weekend in this lovely hotel owned by a very nice couple. Hotel is very well located in the centre of village, rooms are nicely furnished and have all comforties at very good value for money considering that Zermatt can be overly expencive. After skiing do not miss to have a massage with Matilde, she is great! A place to recommend (I have already booked the second stay)!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After travelling Europe for 5 months in a range of accommodation we splashed out for a stay over Christmas at Bellerive. It did not let us down! Mario and Katja have created a fantastic atmosphere of an intimate but luxurious hotel in a perfect location. If you're skiing, it is situated equal walking distance to both main ski lifts. The service was exceptional: they went out of their way to cater for my vegan wife and specially cooked a hot breakfast each morning, they were swift to change our pillows when we asked for firmer ones and they genuinely treat you like a family guest. Our white Christmas dream was realised thanks to a big dump of snow on Dec 26th and what a perfect place to stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor, did not have a Matterhorn view, go higher if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

During our monthlong trip to Europe, my husband and I stayed at Bellerive while in Zermatt and we were extremely satisfied! Our room had a perfect view of the Matterhorn. It was so breathtaking that I cried tears of joy. I had always wanted to see Switzerland and this whole place was so perfect. When we arrived in Zermatt, some helpful travelers at the train station informed us of the free phone there to call hotels. Beside the phone was a listing of the hotels so you know which number to dial. The Bellerive electric cab/driver came to the station and picked us up promptly and loaded our bags. We checked in with the owner who was totally expecting us and acknowledged an email I had sent telling them that during check out, we would be leaving very early to catch a train (5am). He called and made arrangements for the cab. He gave us detailed information about how to take another train to the Matterhorn peak area. He even made arrangements for a full breakfast to be sent to our room the night before we were leaving so we would have something to take on the train (SO THOUGHTFUL and the breakfast they gave us was very extensive, complete with meats, breads, cheeses, cereals, fruit, milk, juice and the works, all sitting beautifully arranged in our room when we got back that evening!!!). Our room was immaculate, ultra-modern and beautiful! Robes and slippers provided. What an experience! I couldn't believe it when I opened the balcony door and there it was - the Matterhorn in all of its majesty! WOW! No detail was overlooked by this hotel. They show extreme concern for the satisfaction of their customers. The location is a short walk to the main restaurant and shopping area. Divine. Can't wait to go back someday! The sooner the better.

Room Tip: You can use the free phone at the Zermatt train station to call your hotel to pick you up. Get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our triple room was clean, nicely decorated and had a wonderful view of the Matterhorn. The children loved the sweet smelling fragrance of the room. Everything in the room looked good and was functional. Great breakfast and hospitality from the female owner!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Bellerive at the end of our Haute Route trek and it was a wonderful way to finish of a remarkable trip. When we arrived after a long day of walking, we went to the wellness center and enjoyed the whirlpool, the dry and steam saunas and the relaxation area. The hotel is in a good location in Zermatt... close to all of the shops but not on the main busy road. There is a lovely fireplace in the lobby which I bet is perfect for relaxing with friends on a winter's day. Our standard room was comfortable and clean with a decent sized bathroom. The buffet breakfast was well-stocked with a broad selection of items. The croissants were delicious and the fresh squeezed orange juice was a treat. The receptionist was very helpful and answered all of our questions about our departure from Zermatt, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BELLERIVE Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BELLERIVE Superior

Address: Riedstrasse 3, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BELLERIVE Superior 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BELLERIVE Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellerive Superior Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BELLERIVE Superior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.