We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute must stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Save
You added Coeur des Alpes to your Saves list
Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute must stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Switzerland is an absolutely beautiful country, and Coeur des Alpes Hotel truly encapsulates this beauty.

The service and hospitality is as impressive as the setting (virtually on the doorstep of the Matterhorn!) of the hotel itself. The hotel's design, ambiance and facilities are top notch, and located perfectly between Zermatt's centre and the Gondola lift.

Highly recommended for any and all types of travelers (children, no children, skiers/snowboarders, etc).

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    30
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
121
263
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are regular guests at the coeur des alpes and it is always a treat to stay here. Our favourite room is the penthouse suite with a large balcony, its own fireplace and an unforgettable view to the Matterhorn. We love this place for its familiar ambiance, personal style and the friendly owner and staff. A lovely stylish boutique hotel with lots of charm. Not to be missed in Zermatt!

Room Tip: Room with view to the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in the middle of a tour through Switzerland and Italy, after he had done business in Zurich. We both loved the spa, our room was perfect, and the location of the hotel can't be beat. The service was among the best I have experienced anywhere - even eggs cooked to order with a delicious included breakfast! Can't say enough wonderful things about this sweet hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

What a thrill to find a hotel that combines fantastic hospitality, incredible design in a magical setting. Everything you have read in previous posts on Tripadvisor about Couer des Alpes is true. The owners exude hospitality without being overbearing and truly enjoy the interaction with guests. From the moment of arrival to the sad day of departure, you are made to feel welcome. We stayed in the Joel loft and woke each morning to a great view of the Matterhorn. We can't wait until our next visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the suite facing Matterhorn. Shame about the cloudy weather but if I could extend my holiday instantly, I would not hesitate to do so. Excellent design and make you feel just like home when you arrive. Very near the Matterhorn lift. Everyone there were very helpful. They will do everything they can to make your perfect stay. Already planning my next trip back!! Thank you for our wonderful stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Right from first contact, we received nothing but the most genuine and friendly service. Thomas met us at the train station and we were most fortunate upon arriving from Paris in the afternoon that the Matterhorn chose to appear from behind the fog, very special first impression. Once I visited their website, I fell in love with the loft apartment and although a bit of a luxury was not disappointed - very spacious. Breakfast was delicious and we hope we can visit this hotel and area again and spend longer in a very beautiful part of the world. The owners and staff made us feel very welcome!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Zermatt is such a compact town. From the hotel lobby we enjoyed an amazing view of the Mattehorn. The hotel is stylishly furnished with complimentary tea and cookies throughout the day. This is a very nice gesture for guests in need of a quick refreshment after a long train ride or a day of hiking. The hotel is a short walk from the Ropeway that brought us up to Schwazee. The ride was breathtaking and the walk down to Furi was scenic with the Mattehorn as close up as it could get. The Swiss standard of a 2.5 hour walk was really a 4 hour hike for us! Deserving of mention was Leni's
warmth and hospitality. Being the owner, she set high standards of service, providing us with great breakfast spread including freshly squeezed orange juice! Looking back we observed the Swiss to be very private people, so it was really a treat to have experienced a friendly atmosphere at the start of our Swiss holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coeur des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.