We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Coeur des Alpes for 4 nights last summer and absolutely loved it! It is a small property, maybe 10-15 rooms in all if that, and is the closest hotel to the Matterhorn. We got the penthouse suite, which has stunning views of the Matterhorn. The room is pretty cool, with its own fireplace, and a little balcony, as well as a nice tub in the room itself. Some of the best features of the hotel were the location and views, the amazing breakfast, and the hosts, Thomas and Leni. They literally look like they stepped out of the pages of a hospitality magazine, and could not be nicer. My husband and I were on East Coast time, and kept waking up later than we would have liked, and Leni was nice enough to leave the breakfast out for us so we could enjoy it!
There are all sorts of amazing hikes from walking distance of the hotel, or you can take the train for other gorgeous hikes as well.

The one negative was one day after it rained, our room sort of flooded - maybe a window was left open? And it took them a while to get that sorted, but they eventually did.

While the room was certainly pricey, we felt that it was worth it from a value perspective. If we ever come back to Zermatt, we would certainly stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms with Matterhorn views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
105
229
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here in December 2012 and was one of best hotels we stayed during the course of our trip in Switzerland.

Pickup from the train station was prompt and easily arranged using the telephone directory at the station.

Room was spacious, neat and clean- would be good if there were water kettle provided though.

Each room also had their individual ski lockers in the basement. Proximity to town centre was a good 10 mins walk.

Overall, a favourable experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights and it was amazing. We stayed in one of the loft suites which was stunning. Although not a ski in/ ski off hotel the Matterhorn Express bubble is only about a 5 minute walk and you can lock your skis there for chf2 per 24 hours or make use of the hotels ski room. Town is only about a 5 minute walk which is key as the hotel does not have a restaurant. In fact the one and only suggestion I could give the hotel is that perhaps they could offer a light snack menu. Other wise, it's all amazing. The staff are so friendly and I cannot think of any other hotel EVER that has such nice staff. The wellness spa is fantastic including an outdoor hot tub, pool, hamman, sauna and relaxing loungers. Super hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the loft suites if you err travelling as a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times and love everything about it. The rooms are cool, comfortable and some have fireplaces and balconies with Matterhorn views. Leni and Tomaz who run it are very friendly and helpful. The wellness spa is great after a hard day on the slopes. There is no restaurant but a relaxed buffet breakfast is laid out every morning and lovely tea après ski. The location is brilliant for the Klein Matterhorn express bubble and you can ski very close to their lift. It is very quiet at night as it is off the beaten track, but still an easy walk into the main part of town (less than 10 mins)

Room Tip: Obviously Matterhorn view is great but costs more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been back to Coeur des Alpes for five years in a row and have just booked again for next February. The team at the hotel is outstanding, in particular the welcome, the housekeeping, the Tuesday night Raclett evening and the sports massages. The facilities especially the outdoor hot-tub with views out over the Matterhorn always impress. A very enjoyable week skiing in an exceptional hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very special little hotel in Zermatt ! Leni and Thomas are always there to welcome guests and to care for everyone ! We spent a great week there, and enjoyed the spa (an outside jacuzzi where you can spend an hour looking at the Matterhorn !) as well as the 'Raclette' evening ! A great place to go with kids : as a family, you can have one of the lofts, which are big enough for four people. In summary, excellent hotel, in a great place !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I went on a week's holiday to celebrate out 20th wedding anniversary and had a magical week in this beautiful hotel.
The staff were fantastic, going out of their way to be helpful and making us feel part of the Coeur des Alpes. The main area of the hotle is stunning, with a glass floor showing the swimming pool below! The rooms comfortable and very well-fitted, despite the fact that we had the smalles room in the hotel, we were still very comfortable.
We can't wait to go back and experience it all over again.
Thank you to Leni, Thomas, Sandra and all the rest of the team.
Fiona and Roland P

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coeur des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coeur des Alpes to your Saves list