We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coeur des Alpes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zermatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coeur des Alpes
Save
You added Coeur des Alpes to your Saves list
Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very special little hotel in Zermatt ! Leni and Thomas are always there to welcome guests and to care for everyone ! We spent a great week there, and enjoyed the spa (an outside jacuzzi where you can spend an hour looking at the Matterhorn !) as well as the 'Raclette' evening ! A great place to go with kids : as a family, you can have one of the lofts, which are big enough for four people. In summary, excellent hotel, in a great place !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    29
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
115
253
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I went on a week's holiday to celebrate out 20th wedding anniversary and had a magical week in this beautiful hotel.
The staff were fantastic, going out of their way to be helpful and making us feel part of the Coeur des Alpes. The main area of the hotle is stunning, with a glass floor showing the swimming pool below! The rooms comfortable and very well-fitted, despite the fact that we had the smalles room in the hotel, we were still very comfortable.
We can't wait to go back and experience it all over again.
Thank you to Leni, Thomas, Sandra and all the rest of the team.
Fiona and Roland P

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The husband and I had a hard time looking for a hotel in Zermatt as we're only 1.5months away from our travelling date when we booked. We're glad we took a little splurge which is totally worth the money! Leni and Thomas were really prompt replying to our queries over the email and gave us enough time to make our decision.

Once we reach the railway station, we gave the hotel a call and their private taxi came to pick us up after a short 10-15mins wait.

The thereafter experience was completely awesome.

We were greeted by the hotel reception who led us to a seat with tea served while we waited for our rooms to be ready. Leni came to say hi and assure that we'll be well taken care of. The room keys took a little while, but before we could walk up to tell them that we'll take a walk around town as we wait, they told us that our room is ready. We were then guided to our room which came with a free upgrade to their sky apartment that comes with a private lift.

While we usually lug our luggages in our hotel room and flee for our sightseeing, we spent 2 hours taking pictures around the 3 bedrooms, living, a bathtub, kitchen, small study, wardrobe, backyard, showers, a fireplace and balcony fronting a part of the whimsical town and Matterhorn before we left the apartment reluctantly.

All amenities were in spick and span condition. They even took care of details likes bathrobes, hair-dryer with diffuser(for curly hair) and room slippers in men and women sizes which many European hotels have neglected.

Location was a little walk away from the central of Zermatt, in which, however, no complains since Zermatt is small.

When we told them that we'll be leaving the hotel early the next morning at 6am, Sandra even pre-prepared our breakfast for us to takeaway on the train and arrange for a taxi.

You can tell how much they enjoy working together like a family while making you feel like home(yet with a class). You literally feel like your best friend welcoming you to stay over at her extravagant home. This shouldn't be best hotel we've stayed during our holiday, but the awesomest in our travelling journal. We'll definitely stay here again if we have the chance to return one day.

Room Tip: The Matterhorn-facing rooms have to be the most serene.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a special place.
1. It has the warmth and personality of a B&B, but it is a hotel, and you get most of the amenities you would expect
2. People are extremly friendly, and accomodating. Special requests are not a problem, but a way to excel in customer service. People are also thinking ahead - the highlight was when Sandra at recpetion told us on Friday to make Saturday dinner reservations, as Saturdays' are very busy
3. They know everyone and can arrange anything in Zermatt
In addition
4. Rooms are tastefuly decorated
5. Walking distance from one of big ski-lifts
6. Great SPA
7. Considering that this is Zermatt, the prices are very reasonable.
It was really a pleasure to stay here, and get this personal touch that is lost from almost all big hotels nowdays. You are guided and assisted by the people who live in the place and are proud of it, and it shows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Glâne, Suisse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Since 6 years, we have been through quite a lot of rooms, suites and lofts. Everywhere the same warmth and cosy feeling! Each time we leave we just cannot wait to our next stay be it in winter or summer..
Leni, Thomas, family and team make each visit a magical moment in a magical environment!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. Zermatt is a beautiful ski town wih great slopes and great food.The best part about our stay at this hotel was the service, The owners Leni and Thomas ensured that we had a great time. They went out of the way to help us and make us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, clean and yet very cosy. The hotel staff- Sandra was extremely helpful as well. We all had a great time and wish we can revisit this hotel and zermatt soon..

Room Tip: Stay in Thomas loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting something more after booking based upon trip advisor reviews. The loft apartment was "funky" and very clean,and the breakfast quite nice. We were disappointed that the Matterhorn view from our loft did not exist ( unless you went to the terrace, climbed over chest deep snow, and strained around the corner with your camera).Previous reviews praised the warm welcome , so we were not so happy to wait at the station whilst another couple was collected first,be picked without one word said ( no English maybe), and in the lobby note the couple having lovely snacks and an animated conversation with the owners whilst we were - for a second time- ignored. On two of the 7 nights the cleaners rushed in to do our rooms whilst breakfasting ,and as we had ski lessons to attend we had to ask them to leave so we could quickly get our ski wear on. It was early, surely this was an unnecessary intrusion, almost as if we were being "watched". After a big day on the slopes, preparing to go to the pool, the owner spoilt my evening by "telling me off" - with a fake smile- for wearing my Après boots as they may damage the floors. I noted the wooden floors had heaps of scratches and I noted the owner walking around in ski boots the following day. My daughter was sick one evening and we could only find sandwiches in Zermatt at that time, I guess we are more "hotel & room service" type of people. We were unable to close the curtain as the electronic switch was faulty.We reported the fault but it was not fixed and thus for the final 5 nights of our stay could not close the curtain of the loft. LOVED Zermatt, but we have travelled 5 star around the world, and to our disappointment this was just a fancy B & B - not a 5 star establishment!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coeur des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coeur des Alpes

Address: Oberdorfstrasse 134 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#2 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Best Value Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a little unique hotel in Zermatt with a wonderful view to the Matterhorn. The artist Heinz Julen our brother made a fantastic boutique hotel for us. We love to make you happy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coeur Des Alpes Zermatt
Coeur Des Alpes Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coeur des Alpes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.