We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonne Zermatt to your Saves list
Hotel Sonne Zermatt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Bristol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was our 4th trip back to the Hotel Sonne and we were not disappointed. When we arrived it was like seeing old friends again. Nearly all the staff were the same and they all remembered us and made us feel most welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. Rooms are very comfortable, the swimming pool is great after a days skiing and the food is very good. I am sure we will be back for a 5th visit next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Lieber Simon P.

Wir möchten uns herzlich bei Ihnen für das schöne Feedback bedanken. Es ist schön zu hören, dass Sie Ihren Aufenthalt in vollen Zügen geniessen konnten. Es ist auch für uns immer wieder toll, Euch bei uns zu haben. Schon bald ein Teil der Familie Forster, könnte man fast sagen.
Wir hoffen sehr, dass wir Sie nächstes Jahr wieder bei uns begrüssen dürfen. Wir wünschen Ihnen einen tollen Start in den Frühling und bis ganz bald.
Das Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
55
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were looking for a hotel for a short ski-break in early April and were delighted to have found the Sonne. Everywhere in the hotel, from public areas to the pool and wellness areas to the rooms, is clean and immaculately maintained. Each and every member of staff that we met couldn't be more helpful. The availability of ski passes in the hotel and use of the hotel transport to the ski lifts took the hassle out of the start of the ski day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Chris H.

First of all we would like to thank you for such a great Feedback, which is very appreciated. It was a pleasure having you here and we are also happy that you could enjoy your time here with us. We do hope you could return with positive thoughts and with a smile on your face and of course: with new energy.
Once more: thank you so much for everything and we look very much forward to hopefully welcoming you again, next year. We wish you a wonderful start into spring.
The whole Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Sonne for the first week in March this year and we were not disappointed. Having researched a lot of possibilities in Zermatt the Hotel Sonne had a lot to offer.
The decoration is charming and very cosy and the bedrooms are a good size.
They have a beautiful spa with indoor swimming pool ,and lovely hand painted scenery around it on the walls.
It has 2 Jucuzzis and a wonderful hot tub outside surrounded by snow and icicles hanging from the rocks. Bliss after a hard days skiing, soaking in the hot tub under the stars!
Dinner we felt was rather overpriced and not special so we had bed and breakfast and that way could eat out in the local restaurants. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a high room with balcony and good view; as they all vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Google Translation
Liebe angelahancock

Vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihr Feedback. Schön, dass Sie sich hier bei uns gut erholen konnten. Wir schätzen es sehr, dass Sie sich ein paar Minuten Zeit genommen haben uns zu bewerten. Im März diesen Jahres hatten wir tolle Schneeverhältnisse, was sich auch in unserem Aussenpool gut erkenntlich zeigte! :-)
Es würde uns sehr freuen, Sie auch im nächsten Jahr wieder bei uns willkommen zu heissen und wir werden versuchen, die kleinen negativen Aspekte in positive Aspekte zu verbessern.
Wir wünschen einen schönen Start in den Frühling.
Das Sonne-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hello,

This was my second time staying at Sonne Hotel and there are no words to describe this place. In my arrival I felt the same thing as last time, the welcoming environment, the cosiness of its facilities, the helpful and cheerful staff, and it goes without saying the incredible comfort of my room. When I first stepped into Sonne Hotel, and this amazing feeling came back, I knew I was right to come back to this marvellous place.

Once again I was impressed with the swimming pool area, sauna and the hot open air bathtub. It’s just amazingly beautiful to relax a bit after a skiing day on a hot bathtub with an astonishing view to the mountains covered in snow. It makes me realize how lucky I am sometimes! Just the perfect combination after a beautiful sunny skiing day.

Also every meal was impeccable, with a creative and well executed menu every single day I was excited to know what was waiting for me. Not only the buffet had a great variety of entrances and hot dishes, but also there was always a spectacular selection of main courses.

My room was just heaven, with a view to the mountains and all the comfort it was as Swiss as it can get. I was very impressed with the Wi-Fi connection in it, as well as in the whole Hotel.

One of the things that impressed me the most was one night as I was having dinner one of the members of the Forster family who was also having dinner started to talk with one couple sitting next to them, after a little while there was about 4 or 5 separate tables talking and laughing with each other, suddenly the dining room had the most warmth and welcoming atmosphere I will never forget.

A family Hotel, beautifully located in one of the most charming Zermatt corners. A place that makes it very difficult to leave. I strongly recommend it and I’m already looking forward to coming back next season.

Marcos.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Marcos L.

What a fantastic Feedback, thank you very much for the amazing Feedback. It was a real pleasure reading it. We are very happy, you felt this way visiting us for the second time.

We will also Transfer your Feedback to our staff, because it was the whole Team, not just us as a Family. Without our staff, the sonne-Team, we would not be where we are right now.

As you mentionde: Our spot is unique: calm, cosy and still very fast in the village Center. We really hope to welcoming you back next year. And who knows; probably even in Summer! I am sure you would love it.

Thank you very much for sending us a Feedback. We really do appreciate. The whole Family wishes you a wonderful time and we look Forward to your "third visit". All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I fully understand the high rating. Excellent and charming family owned hotel. The Forster Family are very friendly and helpfull. Everything was convenient - transportation, ski rental and lunch and dinner reservations.The hotels location is great, in a quiet area, but few minutes from the busy "city". After a long day skiing it was wonderfull to go to the swimming pool and the outdoor Jacuzzi. We had a great stay and will be back.
Norwegian Family of 6 adults.

Room Tip: ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Normally I would have good things to say about this hotel. Our room, a junior suite, was very nice and comfortable. It was really just a room with a little extra space, but so be it. The hotel was reasonably well located with transportation to the lifts in the morning. The public spaces are well designed, comfortable and well lit (something often lacking in hotel lobbies). The owners and staff were friendly and helpful with tips and information. Until...

We came for a brief ski vacation which we had booked less than 2 weeks before arrival. (The hotel was not full) We persuaded another couple to join us. Unfortunately, my husband injured his leg on the morning of the very first day! That same morning we decided to cut our stay short by one day (5 to 4) as I did not want to ski so much alone.

The owners of the hotel insisted on FULL PAYMENT for the 5th night. They will give NO REFUND FOR A BOOKED STAY THAT IS CANCELLED OR SHORTENED AFTER A CERTAIN POINT. They kept stating "this is the policy" as if this were a directive from on high but in a family owned hotel the directive was from themselves. It is true that this is written on their booking page and they recommend taking out travel insurance.

The smart move on their part would have been to show some flexibility and compromise with us. Had they insisted on 50% of the cost of the last night we would not have said a word. As it was, they did not even remove the value of the breakfast for the morning we were not there as we had already left!

They received full payment for the night we did not stay in the hotel. I hope they enjoy the money because what they received in return is a GUARANTEE THAT WE WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN OR RECOMMEND TO OUR FRIENDS.

We loved Zermatt and look forward to coming again next season. We will NOT return to the Sonne Hotel as they left us with a bad taste.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Google Translation
Liebe Lilly 176

Als erstes möchten wir uns herzlich für das ehrliche Feedback bedanken. Auch bedanken möchten wir uns, dass Sie uns während einige Tagen besucht haben. Das hat uns sehr gefreut.

Wir finden es sehr Schade, dass Sie nicht mit einem 100% guten Eindruck unser Hotel verlassen konnten. Wir als Team, versuchen immer wieder, unser Bestes zu geben. Es ist klar, dass uns das nicht immer gelingen kann, auch wenn wir das versuchen. Wir können sehr gut verstehen, dass Sie sich mit unsere "Cancellation Policy" nicht anfreunden konnten. Trotzdem möchten wir versuchen Ihnen das kurz zu erläutern. Im Normalfall sind wir sehr flexibel, was die "Stornierungsbedingungen" anbelangt, speziell als Familienbetrieb verstehen wir unsere Kunden oft. Jedoch gibt es auch bei uns Zeiten, an denen diese Bedingungen einfach eingehalten werden müssen. Leider konnten wir das Zimmer nicht mehr weiterverkaufen, da Ihre Zimmer unsere letzten Suiten waren. Wir mussten teils Kunden absagen, welche gerne während dem gleichen Zeitraum hiergeblieben wären oder eine Nacht früher angereist wären.

Wie oben kurz erwähnt. Wir wissen, dass eine 100%ige Zufriedenstellung einfach sehr schwierig ist umzusetzen. Dennoch schätzen wir Ihre Ehrlichkeit. Ebenfalls freuen wir uns sehr, dass Ihnen Zermatt sehr gut gefallen hat und Sie Zermatt erneut besuchen werden. Für die Zukunft wünschen wir Ihnen alles Gute und viel Glück bei der Wahl des Hotels. Und wer weiss: Vielleicht erhalten auch wir als Familienhotel eine zweite Chance.

Alles Gute
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I have stayed in this wonderful family owned hotel for many years and really do feel part of the family; the welcome from all the staff is exceptional. As other reviewers have commented the food is excellent, served in an exceptionally comfortable room with beautiful linen covered tables. The bar area is very relaxing for pre dinner drinks and chat.The bedroom suites are immaculate and the steam rooms, swimming pool and outdoor jacuzzi just perfect at the end of the day. The family and their staff just make for a perfect holiday. Can't wait for the next trip!

Room Tip: I haven't had a room that I did not like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Sonne_Zermatt, Manager at Hotel Sonne Zermatt, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir

thank you very much for your great and honest Feedback. for us it was as well a pleasure having you here It is just not the same without you. I will Transfer the outstanding Feedback to the whole Team, I am so sure, they will enjoy reading it.

The whole Family wishes you a wonderful year and we look very much Forward to welcoming you again, here at the Sonne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonne Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne Zermatt

Address: Metzggasse 35 | Postfach 121, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonne Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sonne Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonne Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.