We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly Hidden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bijou Hotel to your Saves list
Bijou Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winkelmattenweg 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Slightly Hidden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Once we found this little gem, we were pleasantly surprised. Situated next door to the cable cars at the outer extremity of the village, we couldn't have been better positioned for Matterhorn views right off of our balcony. Friendly owner/operators were helpful and accommodating. A nice little breakfast room provides a quick start to your day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    31
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excellent views of the Matterhorn and easy accessibility to the cable car station to reach Matterhorn Glacier palace. Rooms are beautiful and spacious, windows are wide and allows beautiful views of Matterhorn. A 15 minute walk to city center and the train station. Andre and his team has been very helpful and courteous. Location of the hotel is excellent, completely away from the bustling village center, yet within 15 min walk to the center. Overall our experience has been great, would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Send an email to Andre before you arrive so that he can arrange to pick you from the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I liked everything from the reservation enquiry to the Train station drop off. Its run by a father/ son duo, who are amazing. I was picked up prompt from the railway station, on the way a little explanation of Zermatt and places to see. Its uphill. The hotel does not have elevator, the room is functional, clean with good internet connectivity. The splendid part is the 24 hour hot water availability. Breakfast is basic with all essentials, you also get a view of the Matterhorn in the breakfast lounge. What I liked is that unlike most Hotels, they do not make a big batch of scrambled eggs and let it run cold, here a small fresh quantity is made and refilled frequently. The cable cars are just down the hill which is around 2 minutes, the city is 10 minutes walk from then Hotel. Great location for skiers and non-skiers with good service.

Room Tip: I went for a triple room for the kids. You could ask them to rethink the room rate since its family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a week at the Bijou and never got bored with the fantastic view of the Matterhorn from our bedroom. The hotel is situated a bit away from downtown, but closer to ski lifts. If you are looking to ski or hike, this is a good location for you. The hotel is close to a few bars and restaurants, so you won't necessarily need to walk downtown every night for dinner. If you are skiing, we strongly recommend storing your skis/boots down near the lift at a rental shop with onsite storage. This will help you to avoid hauling your gear up a hill after skiing all day.
We liked that the staff was friendly and helpful We liked breakfast, but would suggest adding a few hot items (eggs) a few times a week or bringing in a bit more variety. After a long day of skiing, there is nothing like coming down to the bottom, and being super close to your hotel for a great hot shower and apres ski on your bedroom deck overlooking the Matterhorn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel Bijou is a typical basic Swiss mountain hotel that looks a bit dated with the fixtures and fittings but everything works perfectly which is all that matters when you want a clean bed for the night and good shower.
I have stayed in several hotels in Zermatt before and what I liked most about the Bijou was the owner, Andre. Swiss hoteliers are often just functional and it is quite unusual to come across one where the owner/staff are more approachable and engaging. He was helpful with tips on where to go and was conversational. He speaks excellent English.
We had a room facing the Matterhorn and what a wonderful surprise to open the curtains in the morning and see the view.

It is a bit of a climb up to the hotel so if you have a lot of luggage then you may want to grab a taxi which costs around 25CHF.

The hotel doesn't do meals (except breakfast) so if you are looking for something a bit out of the main street I must recommend the Hotel Cervo for lunch or dinner. We went one day and were surprised to find ourselves eating next to the same people that we had eaten breakfast with in the hotel. It is a bit out of the town centre so call ahead and book. In fact for dinner you need to do a bit of planning as so many places get booked out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent service from staff: an 'upgrade' to a larger apartment by management due to our needs (at no extra charge), a truly INCREDIBLE view of the Matterhorn,excellent breakfast with a range of options available with the dining room having an impressive Matterhorn view, huge spa bath, outstanding value for money, clean rooms, daily serviced rooms which we didn't expect for the price we paid, helpful and friendly advice with obvious knowledge of the local area. All 4 of our group would highly recommend Hotel Bijou to anyone wanting a relaxing, cheerful place to stay in Zermatt. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bijou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijou Hotel

Address: Winkelmattenweg 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bijou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bijou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.