We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bijou Hotel to your Saves list
Bijou Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winkelmattenweg 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I liked everything from the reservation enquiry to the Train station drop off. Its run by a father/ son duo, who are amazing. I was picked up prompt from the railway station, on the way a little explanation of Zermatt and places to see. Its uphill. The hotel does not have elevator, the room is functional, clean with good internet connectivity. The splendid part is the 24 hour hot water availability. Breakfast is basic with all essentials, you also get a view of the Matterhorn in the breakfast lounge. What I liked is that unlike most Hotels, they do not make a big batch of scrambled eggs and let it run cold, here a small fresh quantity is made and refilled frequently. The cable cars are just down the hill which is around 2 minutes, the city is 10 minutes walk from then Hotel. Great location for skiers and non-skiers with good service.

Room Tip: I went for a triple room for the kids. You could ask them to rethink the room rate since its family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
36
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent a week at the Bijou and never got bored with the fantastic view of the Matterhorn from our bedroom. The hotel is situated a bit away from downtown, but closer to ski lifts. If you are looking to ski or hike, this is a good location for you. The hotel is close to a few bars and restaurants, so you won't necessarily need to walk downtown every night for dinner. If you are skiing, we strongly recommend storing your skis/boots down near the lift at a rental shop with onsite storage. This will help you to avoid hauling your gear up a hill after skiing all day.
We liked that the staff was friendly and helpful We liked breakfast, but would suggest adding a few hot items (eggs) a few times a week or bringing in a bit more variety. After a long day of skiing, there is nothing like coming down to the bottom, and being super close to your hotel for a great hot shower and apres ski on your bedroom deck overlooking the Matterhorn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel Bijou is a typical basic Swiss mountain hotel that looks a bit dated with the fixtures and fittings but everything works perfectly which is all that matters when you want a clean bed for the night and good shower.
I have stayed in several hotels in Zermatt before and what I liked most about the Bijou was the owner, Andre. Swiss hoteliers are often just functional and it is quite unusual to come across one where the owner/staff are more approachable and engaging. He was helpful with tips on where to go and was conversational. He speaks excellent English.
We had a room facing the Matterhorn and what a wonderful surprise to open the curtains in the morning and see the view.

It is a bit of a climb up to the hotel so if you have a lot of luggage then you may want to grab a taxi which costs around 25CHF.

The hotel doesn't do meals (except breakfast) so if you are looking for something a bit out of the main street I must recommend the Hotel Cervo for lunch or dinner. We went one day and were surprised to find ourselves eating next to the same people that we had eaten breakfast with in the hotel. It is a bit out of the town centre so call ahead and book. In fact for dinner you need to do a bit of planning as so many places get booked out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent service from staff: an 'upgrade' to a larger apartment by management due to our needs (at no extra charge), a truly INCREDIBLE view of the Matterhorn,excellent breakfast with a range of options available with the dining room having an impressive Matterhorn view, huge spa bath, outstanding value for money, clean rooms, daily serviced rooms which we didn't expect for the price we paid, helpful and friendly advice with obvious knowledge of the local area. All 4 of our group would highly recommend Hotel Bijou to anyone wanting a relaxing, cheerful place to stay in Zermatt. Thank you for making our trip so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We traveled to the Matterhorn on a weekend whim from Geneva, and booked this hotel through this site. Although it was still the off-season, there were rooms available and they were great. Part of the hotel was not yet open for the season, and we needed room enough for a couple and a third adult, so instead of the apartment space that we booked online, the owner gave us two adjoining rooms at the same price. It worked out wonderfully, as we had plenty of space and privacy. The balcony of one of the rooms overlooked the Matterhorn itself, in all its splendor. The breakfast was tasty, and staff was pleasant, and the owner/manager was well-versed in English and very helpful. He even gave us a free ride down to the train station upon our departure. We will hopefully get back to the Bijou again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel had friendly staff, and a beautiful view of the Matterhorn. The hotel is well priced considering Zermatt hotels can be extremely expensive. The rooms are big, the hotel embodies the Swiss style, and it's not too close to the village so there are very few people around. There is quite a steep hill to get to the hotel, but these are The Alps after all. Breakfast is generous, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevensville, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you have ever seen the movie Heidi and fell in love with the alps atmosphere then you'll be right at home here. The sounds of cow bells off in the distance and the view of the Matterhorn really make this the perfect place to stay. The staff is so very friendly and speak so many different languages everyone can feel at home. Our room was a nice size..our first experience with a double bed (really twins pushed together) so it was funny to wake up in a crack but we made do. Bathroom was a nice size with a tub! The town is just so what I expected. We only had one night but would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
Hotel Berghof Zermatt
#49 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jaegerhof
Hotel Jaegerhof
#53 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bijou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bijou Hotel

Address: Winkelmattenweg 52, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bijou Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bijou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bijou Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.