We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aristella swissflair

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aristella swissflair to your Saves list
Hotel Aristella swissflair
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Steinmattweg 7, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Phoenix
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

What a delightful surprise this hotel was! We opened our room door to the balcony with the spectauclar view of the Matterhorn right before us. Even when we ate out, we'd enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony and just gaze out at the view. Hotel is only a few years old and everything looks brand new. Lots of windows and light and everything you expect in a first class hotel. Included a full buffet breakfast, too. We ate a hardy breakfast each morning before we hiked each day. There is even a washing machine and dryer that you can ask to use. Hotel is just far enough away from the main street to be quieter at night. The staff always greeted us and made us feel like special guests. When you arrive by train, call the hotel and they will come in a golf cart to get you and your luggage. We walked there instead, but appreciated the courtesy ride back to the train station when we left.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor (only 4 floors) that offered the best Matterhorn view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
74
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The owners were wonderful, helping us with our dilemmas. Beautiful room and bath. Enjoyed the breakfast. We did eat at their restaurant and had the flaming beef dinner. Very good. Did some hiking and so taken with the area, went home and booked a ski vacation for 2014, at same hotel. But not half board, because we enjoy eating at all the different places. One night will be there, tho.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A great stay at the beautiful Hotel Aristella Swissflair in Zermatt. From the warm welcome and quick check-in right through to departure everything was top-notch. We stayed in a family room (two single travellers) which is very spacious and appointed with modern, clean-line furniture, and had an excellent view of the Matterhorn (2nd floor, Room 201). Both sleeping areas felt quite private. Also, the bathroom is very well-designed. The owners and all staff were friendly and relaxed but things were happening efficiently in the background. After walking around the town of Zermatt and looking at lots of other accommodation, I'd definitely recommend this property over most others around and slightly above its price-point.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The view from our suite was simply spectacular. I spent hours both in the terrace and at the inside sofa, just watching the Matterhorn wile drinking a spritz. That view alone is worth the visit.

Also worthy of mention were the senior (owner?) staff, and the Italian waitress and driver, who were corteous and helpfull beyond their duty.

We were less impressed by the dinner, as both the food (fondue) and the service were only so-so, and that is being generous. Also, the lady who manned the front desk in our second day didn't really understand English even if she though so, and couldn't answer the simplest questions.

Even having mentioned these shortcomings, I would heartly recommend the Arsitella to anyone going to Zermatt. Just don't order the fondue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay was excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Clean and modern rooms, with good facilities. We were there for a very short time, so they even offered to bring our luggage to the train station should we need more time in the morning to do a little more sightseeing. If we visit Zermatt again, we will definitely stay with them.

Room Tip: If possible, request for the rooms facing the Matterhorn side when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our stay in Aristella, in Zermatt was perfect - All of the team were welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Standard of accomodation very good, facilities excellent and to high standard, we enjoyed chilling in their spa and taking in the view of the Mattterhorn after a great day hiking around Zermatt. The food was delicious in the restuarant and service perfect. We would recommend to anyone. It has a great central location and has a very personal touch in every part of the service they provide - Very relaxing and enjoyable stay thanks to the Team next time we will be staying longer.

Room Tip: Rooms with Matterhorn view - top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Two of us stayed here briefly after a long hike through the Alps. Katja and Bernard were warm, welcoming, and very helpful. They delivered our luggage to the train station when we left so that we could have the day to walk around Zermatt. The room was clean and comfortable and the spa facilities were excellent. A fantastic place to stay in Zermatt and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aristella swissflair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aristella swissflair

Address: Steinmattweg 7, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Aristella swissflair 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aristella swissflair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aristella Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aristella swissflair, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.