We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpina Hotel to your Saves list
Alpina Hotel
Englischer Viertel 5, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family recently spent several nights in the Zermatt area and loved the Hotel Alpina. The ladies who run it are very nice and great to deal with. The rooms are very nice and very clean. Everything was fantastic, including the breakfast. We loved the 'feel' of the hotel with unique decorations. The hotel is very much like a bed and breakfast with the many personal touches. We couldn't believe it was only a two star hotel. Much better than many 3-stars we have stayed at for less money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This old (1904) small bed and breakfast hotel located near the Church in the centre of the town provides a wonderful peaceful oasis in the midst of a very busy tourist town. The service is always considerate and careful and the new managers go out of their way to be extremely helpful. The bedrooms whilst scrupulously clean and simply furnished, provide all that is needed, the balcony with our room provided much extra space a with views of the mountains. The lounge area provides a very useful haven to relax. As a base to explore the village the valley and the mountains it is exceptional to find such excellent personal service and peace in such a busy resort. Good value for Switzerland and much enjoyed. There are so many excellent restaurants to chose from in the valley and village it is a delight to be able to be free to vary ones diet and choice in this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains on the southern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Recently renovated, very clean, nice breakfast, and the owners were extremely kind and helpful. They were actually more helpful than the tourist office was. Highly recommended! Very centrally located, can walk to all Zermatt attractions easily from here, and close to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

Probably one of the best value for money hotels in a very expensive resort. Hotel is run by two sisters who couldn't have been more helpful. Only wish they did half board. Rooms were spotlessly clean. Bathroom looked like It had been completely refitted. Decent size room. Breakfast was continental though there was plenty of choice; fruit, yoghurt, cereals, lovely fresh bread, cheese, meats etc. They did eggs on request which you had to pay a little extra for. Situation was very central but quiet just behind the main street with bars, restaurants, shops etc only a couple of minutes walk away. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. It's not four star but then you're not paying four star prices!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I usually stay at 4 or 5 star hotels around the world. But Alpina allowed me a shorter stay (three nights) during peak season when many hotels demand seven nights, and it's a very pricey village. So I stayed here and was absolutely thrilled with my experience. I had a small, single room with a bathroom a few doors down the hall shared with one other person (who I never saw). The room had a very sweet balcony overlooking the Matterhorn. It is very clean, with wifi, and the two sisters who run the hotel are so incredibly nice. The breakfast was good and plentiful. They have a room for your skis and another room where there's a boot warmer for the morning. I crashed into a snow bank and one of the sisters even gave me an ice pack and some kind attention after my injury. Definitely stay here. The hotel has been around for about 100 years and I can see why. It's also very, very reasonable and near everything. About a 7 minute walk to the train station and around the corner from the main street with restaurants, bars, etc. It's also very quiet here. Loved it!

Room Tip: If you are by yourself, get one of the rooms on the top floor with a bathroom down the hall. I promi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Alpina on a boys' weekend ski trip. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and it's perfectly located for restaurants and nightlife and just a short stroll from the train station. Breakfast is basic yet good. It's nothing fancy but who can complain for only CHF 100- per night in Zermatt?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Alpina is simple, clean, good location and the owner is very helpful. If you are searching for a good value hotel at Zermatt, try Alpina Hotel. I will be back to Alpina hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotel

Address: Englischer Viertel 5, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alpina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.