We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Zermatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel National to your Saves list
Hotel National
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best location in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The National holds the card that trumps all hotels in Zermatt. Opposite the Sunegga lift it's easily the best location, no need for long walks to the lift or squashing on the bus. We were given a warm welcome and complimentary drink at the bar (followed by another!), our room was great, although no Matterhorn view but when you're skiing in its shadow every day it was no bother. Hearty breakfasts each morning with eggs cooked to order, the staff were always willing to assist. The spa was great, with hot tubs, saunas, steam rooms and a crazy shower the goes from hot to icy alpine cold!
Highly recommended for couples and families. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
40
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

service was exemplary, staff very friendly, clean, amazing food, lovely rooms. the hotel is located in the heart of zermatt. i can really recommend this hotel - you will have a fantastic time in the most beautiful place in Switzerland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location directly across from the fastest lift in Zermatt the takes you directly in to the high alpine. The atmosphere is pure Swiss chalet with exceptional service complimented with phenomenal cuisine.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a large group in February of this year. What can I say? The staff were very friendly and incredibly accommodating, always eager to help us out with booking trips, advice on where to eat, visit etc. - not an easy task with 30+ people.

Food was very good, breakfast buffet was excellent with plenty of hot coffee to keep us all going. There were also speciality nights on offer with local entertainment.

Rooms were a good size, all seemed to have balconies and some have amazing views of the Matterhorn. They were kept immaculately clean with an evening turn down service as well as fresh fruit daily.

For those in need after a day on the slopes there is also an excellent spa and massages are available.

Location wise you can't beat this, a stones throw from the centre of the town, ski rental shops within 1 minute, access to the Gornergrat railway 2 minutes away, and the lift is across the street.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations in cleanliness, location and service. We would highly recommend staying here and would definately stay here again. The staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. They go above an beyond to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The hotel Manager, Michael made us feel like family, was always available to answer any questions and help us with our stay in Zermatt.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Chris,
I want to jump at this chance to thank you for your confidence in our Hotel National Zermatt and our services. There is no better compliment than that you felt @ ease and found everything according to our promises!

It is not our sole objective to meet your needs but to beat them and to inspire you. Awesome reading your words here that we have achieved our objectives and, again, thank you that you are sharing your enthusiasm with us and others.

For your next holiday time we have noted your likings regarding your room and we will do everything in our power to correspond to your preferences. When the mountains are beckoning next time we are looking very much forward to seeing you here again!

With sunny greetings from the “National” to the shores of Lake Ontario!
Your Michael Bresser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were a group of 12 (6 couples) and our whole experience was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and attentive, the food (buffet and a la carte) was very good. I would highly recommend the Swiss speciality night which included entertainment. The rooms were sparkling clean, the bed inviting and there was lots of storage in the bedroom. When we got back from skiing there was always fresh fruit waiting in our room. Loved that in the ski storage room our boots could be left on warming racks. There is a lovely spa with whirlpool etc. however be warned that in the sauna and steam rooms nudity is normal. We were close to everything - ski rentals, lifts, restaurants and shops. A special thanks goes to Michael the manager for going above and beyond (literally as he guided us to the Italian side to ski) and making our stay most memorable!

Room Tip: The upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Julia,

on behalf of the entire Hotel National Zermatt team a BIG THANK YOU for your time and your great feedback! We very much appreciate your overall excellent rating.

We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you as our guests and it is, amongst other things, due to comments like yours that we feel even more encouraged to live our passion for exceptional, surprising and first-class service every day.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in near future! Please let us know if there is anything, we may do for you.

With best regards from Zermatt in early spring

Michael Bresser & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our family of 5 had a fantastic stay at the Hotel National Zermatt. The rooms are nice, food is excellent and the staff is very friendly/helpful. Our three kids said it was the best ski vacation we have ever had. Location across the street from the lift makes for an ideal location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Geschäftsführer at Hotel National, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Todd & Family,

Thank you for sharing such fantastic comments with others and us! I am delighted to read that your entire family enjoyed their holiday time with us and that you had a memorable time!

We always strive to exceed any expectations – let it be those of our smallest guests or those of adults. We therefore highly appreciate your positive feedback hearing that your family enjoyed not only our unbeatable location but also the excellent and friendly service provided by my entire team.

It is said that children are never shy about telling the truth so please forward our special thanks to the three of them promising that we are “full bore” carrying on like this – so that their next verdict turns out with 2 thumbs up, again;)

We already look forward to welcoming you back at the next opportunity!
Take care, with best regards from springlike Zermatt

Your Michael Bresser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel National 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 54 of our rooms have a south-facing balcony, 41 of which offer an unimpeded view of the Matterhorn…you can be as flexible or spontaneous as you wish – simply book thenumber of sunsets you would desire, completely at your discretion with or without half-board (except public holidays)…you can enjoy your holiday regardless of the weather – our weekly schedule provides sporting adventure & fine dining both on and off-piste ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.