We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great well-located hotel with superb service. Highly recommended.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel National to your Saves list
Hotel National
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
428 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“This is a great well-located hotel with superb service. Highly recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very highly recommended. The National is perfectly located across the street from the Sunnegga lift and a few minutes walk from the main train station and the Gornergrat railway station. A very high level of service begins as soon as you step off the train and the porter whisks you away in the electric taxi. Aylin at reception provided us with wonderful service throughout our stay. Rooms are very comfortable, if not opulent and most of them overlook the Matterhorn. The spa and indoor pool are beautiful. Breakfast is really good, but I recommend eating elsewhere for dinner, as there are so many great restaurants nearby. The lobby bar is the hub of activity for the whole place, and there is an enclosed cigar room just off the lobby. Really flawless service throughout the hotel. We would highly recommend the National for families and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: For Matterhorn views, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    33
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
59
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel National is a warm, friendly hotel with excellent service. It is very clean, the spa is amazing and the location is superb with immediate access to the Sunnega ski lifts. This is a terrific spot for families. Perfect Swiss hospitality! Thank you.

Room Tip: room 301 is a quad and is quiet with a great view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is very clean in fact spot less, our room was spacious and nice with a balcony view overlooking the Matterhorn. The ski room facility is a plus. The staff are very friendly , professional and they take an extra step to make u feel at home. The food is fantastic and every other day there was a theme night we specially enjoyed the champagne dinner night. The chiefs are Seriously skilled, creative both in terms of ingredients and presentation and the menus changes everyday.

The hotel is only 3 minutes away with the underground funicular railway to take you all the way to the Sunnegga (2,288 m. above sea level) and 5min walk to the train station and the main Street of Zermatt village which is definitely a plus.

We found the hotel staff to be very helpful especially Teresa from the front desk, she really made sure we are happy all the time. This is a 5 star hotel in terms of service and cleanliness. I would highly recommend the hotel for your stay in Zermatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Leiter Front Office at Hotel National, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Rania

It’s me, Theresa, from the Hotel National Zermatt. I dearly want to thank you for your heartfelt comments and appreciate that you have taken your time to appraise our hotel.

Great, that you felt like home during your stay and that we could prepare you an unforgettable experience. We always try to welcome our guests with personal service at the highest level and it is our inspiration and motivation to bring a smile on their face. We have fun @ work and try to transfer this joy to our guests. The best reward we can imagine is to receive, at the end of the day, a comment like yours!

With warmly greetings from the entire Hotel National Team we want to take this opportunity to let you know that we are looking forward to prepare you unforgettable moments soon again!

Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed with my entire family during the Christmas week break. The rooms were traditional and charming.
The bathrooms were very modern and sparkling clean. The rooms have great views of the Matterhorn .
The best part of the hotel was the amazing food. Breakfast included a huge variety of delicious cheeses , breads,cereals, yogurts,and more. Dinners were beautifully prepared with so many courses and of such high quality ingredients. We were in truffle heaven !
The staff was so accommodating in every way.
There is a comfortable ski room with great boot warmers .
Skiing in zermatt was wonderful !

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A last minute booking into this hotel and I mean last minute lead to a great experience. The hotel is well located in Zermatt as most are with it being a walking only town. The room was excellent and the service outstanding. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when in Zermatt. The value of the last minute deal was also outstanding for Switzerland!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is clean , comfortable and has good service. The beds and pillows are good and the bathrooms are clean an modern. Loved the balcony overlooking the pretty little town.The staff are helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Team Hotel National Zermatt at Hotel National, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear LeanneL,

we thank you for taking your time writing this kind feedback!
We are happy reading that our services and facilities met your expectations. We hope getting the chance to welcome you again here in our Hotel National Zermatt very soon and, by then, surely be able to exceed your expectations.
Until then we wish you all the best and remain, with greetings back to New Zealand

Your Hotel National Zermatt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the National for about a week. The room was comfortable and clean. You find wine and fresh fruit when you arrive, and a lot of other sweet things (there was even a welcome message on the door on the day of arrival...).
All employees very kind, polite, and clever. Superb restaurant, with a good choice of fine food (mostly Walais-inspired), and of course a wonderful beer at the bar. If you like to smoke, there is a quiet and elegant 'fumoir' in the bar area.
The hotel is very close to the railway to Gornergrat, but you hardly notice the sound of the train running.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silvana
Hotel Silvana
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#13 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#40 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel National 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WITH US... ...you reach within 20 footsteps the fastest ski lift - within 3 min it takes you up to the first slopes (immediate connection to all neighbouring skiing areas) ...you can experience a level of service that will astound you ...you can enjoy a panoramic view every morning - all 54 of our rooms have a south-facing balcony, 41 of which offer an unimpeded view of the Matterhorn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.