We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel National

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel National to your Saves list
Hotel National
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CHF155 (CHF)
Ranked #24 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed with my entire family during the Christmas week break. The rooms were traditional and charming.
The bathrooms were very modern and sparkling clean. The rooms have great views of the Matterhorn .
The best part of the hotel was the amazing food. Breakfast included a huge variety of delicious cheeses , breads,cereals, yogurts,and more. Dinners were beautifully prepared with so many courses and of such high quality ingredients. We were in truffle heaven !
The staff was so accommodating in every way.
There is a comfortable ski room with great boot warmers .
Skiing in zermatt was wonderful !

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
53
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A last minute booking into this hotel and I mean last minute lead to a great experience. The hotel is well located in Zermatt as most are with it being a walking only town. The room was excellent and the service outstanding. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again when in Zermatt. The value of the last minute deal was also outstanding for Switzerland!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is clean , comfortable and has good service. The beds and pillows are good and the bathrooms are clean an modern. Loved the balcony overlooking the pretty little town.The staff are helpful and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNationalZ, Team Hotel National Zermatt at Hotel National, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear LeanneL,

we thank you for taking your time writing this kind feedback!
We are happy reading that our services and facilities met your expectations. We hope getting the chance to welcome you again here in our Hotel National Zermatt very soon and, by then, surely be able to exceed your expectations.
Until then we wish you all the best and remain, with greetings back to New Zealand

Your Hotel National Zermatt Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the National for about a week. The room was comfortable and clean. You find wine and fresh fruit when you arrive, and a lot of other sweet things (there was even a welcome message on the door on the day of arrival...).
All employees very kind, polite, and clever. Superb restaurant, with a good choice of fine food (mostly Walais-inspired), and of course a wonderful beer at the bar. If you like to smoke, there is a quiet and elegant 'fumoir' in the bar area.
The hotel is very close to the railway to Gornergrat, but you hardly notice the sound of the train running.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel has good rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds and good pillows. Lovely to have a balcony big enough to relax on after a busy day. Breakfast was excellent, dinner okay (we were with a group with a set menu). The staff are friendly and helpful. I would happily stay here again. We loved the flowers, it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with a group and liked it so much that I stayed for an additional night with my wife only.

First of all, the entire hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Laurent and his team provide an excellent service in the restaurant. The meals are delicious and copious, the breakfast buffet comprehends continental and American breakfast.

The location is excellent, just opposite of the Sunnega lift. We had a quite spacious double room including a view to the Matterhorn. The rooms were clean and provided everything you expect.

There is a spa with a swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam bath, sauna. As I have not used the spa, I cannot comment on it.

The only minor point was the internet access that did not really work in our room (but in others it was apparently not a problem) because the connection switched from one access point to another and had to reconnect all the time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here as part of the 'Contrasts of Switzerland' Trafalgar tour and loved it! Service was excellent and the food was tasty, wholesome cooking - an absolute pleasure! If we go back to Zermatt, will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silvana
Hotel Silvana
#20 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ginabelle
Hotel La Ginabelle
#32 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#13 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel National

Address: Matterstrasse 39, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#15 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel National 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WITH US... ...you reach within 20 footsteps the fastest ski lift - within 3 min it takes you up to the first slopes (immediate connection to all neighbouring skiing areas) ...you can experience a level of service that will astound you ...you can enjoy a panoramic view every morning - all 54 of our rooms have a south-facing balcony, 41 of which offer an unimpeded view of the Matterhorn ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel National, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.