We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but can be noisy outside - schoolyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Le Petit Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Metzggasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 115 Hotels in Zermatt
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice but can be noisy outside - schoolyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As soon as we got off the train, we knew we were not in for a good stay. Right off the bat, sooooo many tourists and vehicles. They keep touting Zermatt as a vehicle free place, but there were electric cars everywhere and we almost got run over by one. Unfortunatly we lost our way to the hotel so it was not a fun start.
All in all the hotel was very very nice and the reception was first class. The room was a tad small but the extremely comfortable bed made up for it. Upon arrival, school children were out for recess and it was awfully noisy for well over half an hour, with kids yelling and screaming outside our window. There are 2 schools right behind the hotel.
We found Zermatt so terribly touristy, that we decided to leave after just the one night there. The hotel was kind enough to discount or second nights stay so we did not have to pay full wack for not staying our second night.
We did have a view of the Matterhorn out our side window, which was nice - however all the building cranes in the way did not make for a good photo op.
The breakfast was excellent. Lots of variety and great coffee.
All and all if this hotel had not been in Zermatt, all would have been fantastic.

Room Tip: If you have tinnitus, do try to get a room where you will not hear the screaming children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    128
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
149
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Zermatt is super expensive. This was THE cheapest hotel we could find. Cheapest in dollars but not in quality. This place is so cute. I am a hotel snob. I won't camp, I won't sleep in a rock hard bed, I'm just picky & I want to rest easy while on vacation. This place was great. The rooms are small but there bathroom is not small, not crowded. It's modern and clean. The beds are European so it's hard to fit 2 people in each bed. I have a family of 4 adults: 2 parents & 2 teens. We can usually squeeze into one room in American sized beds, but European beds are much smaller. The beds were SO comfortable though. I still haven't found a bed this comfortable, even in 5 star American hotels. The plaza. The Waldorf Astoria in NYC... Not as comfortable as Le Petit Hotel. The complimentary breakfast makes American continental breakfasts look like crap. This breakfast was huge and plentiful. Soo many options, I couldn't believe how great it was for the price. The location is perfection. A 10 minute, easy paced walk to the foot of the Matterhorn. Its a half block from the main town square, the main shopping street, and the maim church. all beautiful things you'll want to see. The roof has potted flowers, deck chairs, and a TO DIE FOR view of the Matterhorn. My room had a view of the towns rolling hills, The swiss rooftops, the church steeple, and beyond the town the cows and goats grazing in the emerald fields of Switzerland. This place is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here six nights while on our ski vacation. Staff were very helpful and welcoming.

The room was among the smallest I've ever stayed in, however we managed to unpack all our kit into the closet and the space was quickly made to become our home away from home. The bathrooms seem to have been recently updated and were well appointed. Beds were a bit on the uncomfortable size as the springs created pressure points. Our stay was mostly quiet however there was the odd drunk couple that would make a ruckus in the hallway and wake us up.

No matter which hotel you stay in in Zermatt, you are in for a bit of a journey to the ski lifts. Electric taxis are abundant and buses are frequent. We carried our skis to the "Matterhorn Express" lift the first day and locked our skis and boots there at a cost of two Francs per night. The hotel has a very good ski room where you can take off your gear, store your skis and dry out your boots should you desire - don't wear your ski boots inside the hotel or you will be quickly advised.

Breakfast was included - continental style. I enjoyed the meats and cheeses. Drip coffee was okay, ask for a pressure brew from the staff and they will make you one.

In the end we came to Zermatt for the skiing, not a five star hotel experience. This hotel offers good value when compare to the astronomical rates you could pay elsewhere. We had the best vacation ever staying at the Le Petit Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was our second visit to Le Petit Hotel in 3 years and all the way from Australia. We stayed 6 nights and it was just as good as previous. Remember the name and expect that the rooms will be small but not all rooms are the same size and, everything else is big. The staff welcome is big and friendly and knowledgeable, the roof top scenery is big and has the Matterhorn as the backdrop, the assistance from the staff to get taxis or anything else you might need is big.

We had a room on the 1st floor at the end of the corridor and another on the 3rd floor. There is a good, if not tiny lift. We took the beautiful, large spiral staircase (for exercise). Both rooms had opening windows and both had excellent heating especially as it was -10C outside at night. Our room had large corner windows and was more spacious than other rooms. It was above the narrow street and the local school is just past the hotel but there was little noise. The bathroom had been decorated in a sophisticated contemporary style and had a bath and shower. It also had opening opaque windows and a heated towel rail. Servicing the room was very good and each day we got fluffy white towels and refreshed toiletries. The beds were all dressed in white and have a lovely light and warm doona (duvet to Europeans). We had a flat screen TV and free wifi, although this worked better in the corridor than the room. I would have like larger curtains fitting right over the windows as I like a darkened room to sleep in, but this is very personal.

Breakfast is on the ground floor and is decorated in traditional style. There are booths to sit in, 2 person tables and round tables for 4 or more. There is a little bar with a cappuccino machine too. It is all very cosy. For the Swiss breakfast each day we could help ourselves to juices, tea and coffee, cereal, a good choice of crusty breads, cheeses, boiled eggs, yoghurts and various condiments. Fresh fruit was available all the time and the bowl of Mandarins on the desk at reception was a nice touch and they tasted juicy and sweet. There is also a snack and drink machine if you feel the need late at night.

When we arrived by train into Zermatt we took an electric taxi to the hotel. The price was 20 Swiss francs for 4 and all our luggage and it is much better than dragging luggage through snow and past other people who are shopping. Cars are not allowed in Zermatt except for the electric taxis. We also got the hotel to arrange a taxi each day to take us to the skiing stations with all our ski gear. The cost for that was 12 Swiss francs per trip and well worth it. So each day the 4 of us and our skis etc piled into a taxi and whizzed straight to the ski stations. While the distance is not too far to walk there are some downhill icy patches and of course snow everywhere, which makes carrying skis and walking in boots a bit edgy and tiring. The hotel has a ski drying room and warmed boot racks. It is security locked and can only be accessed with your swipe card. There are comfortable chairs and benches to sit on while putting your boots on, and storage for walking shoes too.

Zermatt village is delightful and has many pedestrianised areas, cafes, shops of all types, 3 or 4 small supermarkets and lots of great Swiss architecture. It is the archetypal Swiss village. We did not find eating out too expensive and the coffee and cakes available cannot be passed up as you wander about taking photos of everything including the horses and sleds trotting through the streets. It is magical. Even if you don’t ski it is worth a visit just to wander the streets and soak up the ambience.

If you want a hotel that is small, quiet, personal, friendly and the staff make time to chat then the Le Petit Hotel is worth a try. It’s also very clean and very well priced for Zermatt. Thank you to the staff on the desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath and one of the bigger rooms. Our corner room had good opening windows and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My second visit and all is well and good with this splendid little hotel. I cannot really say more and a second visit confirms this hotel is rated highly by me. Enjoying a cigarette on the roof terrace one evening I noticed that the lights for the lift stations high up the mountains are blue. They then started changing colour ... On asking why, I was told there is a way to change the colour using text/sms. Any money raised goes to the local mountain guide charity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a great Hotel at a sensible price located just a short walk off the Bahnhofstrasse.

A 10 minute walk from the station - almost all of it walked along the plateau of the Bahnofstrasse, leads you to this small but perfectly formed Hotel. The Reception staff were always very happy to help and always offered a welcoming demeanour.

The Hotel also has a roof terrace which can be used for a spot of sunbathing or as a good vantage point for looking over Zermatt, The Matterhorn is visible from the terrace, but not in its totality.

Rooms were nice, especially the newly renovated bathrooms - they were spotless and breakfast was a standard, but numerous, buffet offering.

We would definitely go back again - its an oasis of sensibility in the exuberant town of Zermatt!!

Oh.....and the Matterhorn, believe the hype - its hypnotic in its beauty!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As soon as you walk into the place you feel completely welcomed by the incredibly friendly staff. They are extremely helpful and know a lot about the area, where is good to go in different weather conditions.

The rooms are cosy and are nice to return to.

The breakfast is good, you won't go hungry.

The wifi can be accessed from within the rooms, but it is transmitted from the stairwell so it's better to go there for more data intensive apps like Skype.

Thank you so much for your hospitality

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: Metzggasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#56 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Petit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Zermatt
Hotel Le Petit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.