We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great view of the Matterhorn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welschen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Welschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Welschen
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, great view of the Matterhorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely family-owned hotel. Well situated close to centre but not amongst the bustle. Our bedroom looks out to the Matterhorn, surely the most spectacular mountain view in Europe. Hotel very tasteful and a lot of trouble has been taken over the details. Steps up to hotel but everything in Zermatt is up.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It's uncommon to find most reviewers appear to agree that this is a lovely little hotel/B&B. Maybe that's because it offers good, reliable service and is very clean and comfortable. So I'm not going to repeat all the praise given by everyone else, but will just highlight a few things.

My first reason to book this hotel was because of its proximity to the sunegga train. I'm a wimp when it comes to walking to ski lifts in my ski boots and, apart from the slope of the hotel property where you could hang onto the fence, all you had to do was to cross a little road, over the icy snow, and then you're straight onto the concrete steps to the ski train.

We enjoyed a leisurely breakfast from 7.30, got booted up and were on the ski train at 8.30 and skiing our hearts out at 9.10 on almost deserted slopes. Wonderful!

Other reasons to book this hotel is because its small and homely, clean and charming. Breakfast was wonderful (whoever says its small must eat a lot!).

The hotel website and brochure do not really give much information and could be improved. For example I didn't realise there were tea and coffee facilities until after I had booked. I didn't know they sold beer/wine to drink in the lounge (there's no bar or restaurant) until I was leaving.

I stayed in room 10 with a lovely view, but many rooms have equally good views I believe. Just two last things - yes, there's an unusual glass wall between the stunning modern bathroom and the bedroom, with a privacy curtain to pull if required, but it IS a little short!! And yes, the pillows are a bit thin (probably expensive goose down but I prefer nice solid pillows!).

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9 and 10 are on the top floor with a lovely view. Room 11 is at the back, on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived at the hotel welschen we were made to feel at home. The hotel is 3 star but in my opinion should be awarded 4 stars. The service given is among some of the best I have experienced. The hotel has a home feel to it and has plenty of character with some quirky edges to it. The setting is perfect as it is set upon a small hill so you have views overlooking the village. Bathrooms in rooms have been recently refurbished so are in very good condition while looking modern. Bedroom although small is extremely comfortable with added extras like a welcome bottle of wine and water left each evening.
Hotel is a 5 minute walk to village and 3 minute walk to the sunnegga underground train.
I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in zermatt however the hotel welschen is now my preferred location and we have already made our booking to return for New Year in December 2013.
We stayed in room 9 which I can recommend as the view of Matterhorn is fantastic and the balcony has great views of the village.
We were travelling with another couple who stayed in room 4 and this was also a very nice room.
This hotel is highly recommended and will not disappoint.
Thank you to all the staff at hotel welschen for making us feel so welcome this last week.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I recently visited Zermatt and stayed at the Hotel Welschen.
While Switzerland is expensive, we found this place to be a great value.
The staff were very friendly.
The hotel's location is close to the main train station with a shutttle service to and from the Hotel. The Sunnega Cable car access is located right next to the hotel which is very convenient and worth the ride up with spectacular panoramic views of the surrounding mountainside.
Our room had a balcony and a lovely view of the Matterhorn mountain.
Be prepared to walk hilly streets so bring a good pair of walking shoes.
An overall unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel because it had one of the cheaper rooms with a view. They shows us to our room (#1) and it was amazing! Clean, quaint, all the things you need. This is not a posh place, but it has tremendous character. The distance from the city is about a 5 minute walk. I am writing this post from our balcony and could not be more pleased. Best decision. Forgoe pricy places in the city center and opt for the great staff and better view.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel on an edge of Zermatt. Atmosphere is Swiss; thus a lot of wood... Polite staff. And the advantage of the hotel is that some room have a clear view on the Matterhorn. Fabulous! When conidering this hotel, book one of those rooms. Makes the stay unforgettable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A lovely small hotel in the quieter location of Zermatt but still close to the amenities. The hotel is efficiently managed by the owner, his wife and the pleasant assistant. We enjoyed a Matterhorn view room with balcony, superb! Nothing better than to lie in bed and view the Matterhorn. The room including the bathroom was immaculate. Breakfast were served by the assistant, great selection and excellent quality.
We couldn't fault this great hotel. An added advantage, is that there's a delightful garden to enjoy this wonderful view.
For future stays in Zermatt, only the Welschen.

Room Tip: We stayed in - Matterhorn view room. . A room with a good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Welschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welschen

Address: Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welschen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOTEL WELSCHEN is situated at a quiet and sunny location, providing a magnificent view onto the Matterhorn. Even though the hotel was fit to offer modern conveniences, we strived to preserve the homey and rustic nature of the chalet-like building.The Sunnegga Express is only a minute away. And also Gornergratbahn, the bus to Matterhorn glacier paradise – Valley Station, the train station, and the village’s center are in only a few minutes walking distance. In a new outbuilding, we offer a private spa on 95m², which can be booked at a fee for up to 8 persons. As from summer 2014, a lift will take you from the street right to the hotel’s entrance door level. We strive to make your holidays in our hotel a stay as pleasant as possible. Free WIFI is available all over the building. The entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Welschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.