We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swiss atmosphere, with great view on Matterhorn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Welschen to your Saves list
Hotel Welschen
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Utrecht
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Swiss atmosphere, with great view on Matterhorn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Fine hotel on an edge of Zermatt. Atmosphere is Swiss; thus a lot of wood... Polite staff. And the advantage of the hotel is that some room have a clear view on the Matterhorn. Fabulous! When conidering this hotel, book one of those rooms. Makes the stay unforgettable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A lovely small hotel in the quieter location of Zermatt but still close to the amenities. The hotel is efficiently managed by the owner, his wife and the pleasant assistant. We enjoyed a Matterhorn view room with balcony, superb! Nothing better than to lie in bed and view the Matterhorn. The room including the bathroom was immaculate. Breakfast were served by the assistant, great selection and excellent quality.
We couldn't fault this great hotel. An added advantage, is that there's a delightful garden to enjoy this wonderful view.
For future stays in Zermatt, only the Welschen.

Room Tip: We stayed in - Matterhorn view room. . A room with a good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012 for two nights. When we found the hotel, a short walk from the train station, we were kind of daunted by taking out bags up the slope to the hotel. However, as we pondered this the owner appeared and took one of our bags up for us. These were not light bags since we'd been traveling for two weeks and this was our last stop before heading home. When we made it to the lobby, our bags were taken up the three flights of stairs to our room as we checked in. The view was amazing and well worth the short walk. We enjoyed watching a sunset and a sunrise from our balcony. Breakfast was mostly breads but they were good and we were able to eat our fill. The hotel is also right near the Sunnegga Paradise tram which made it easy to find some more impressive views of the area. The river is also close enough that you can listen to it soothe you to sleep every night if you leave the balcony doors or window open.

The bathroom wall was made of glass but a curtain was provided if needed. I stayed here with my brother, so we used the curtain with no issue. But if you're alone, the view of the Matterhorn could be enjoyed.

Please note that the hotel is up a hill and a steep hill at that. Half of the walking path is flat but half is a set of stairs. If this isn't an issue, than I'd highly recommend this hotel! There also isn't an elevator, so keep that in mind.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

just had a long weekend here and am not sure I can add much to the high rating reviews. It's classed as a 3 star hotel but please don't confuse that with the same classification in the UK. This place is cleaner than your own home! The bathrooms are finished off immaculately. The beds are perfect and apparently they regularly clean the matresses in some special way that the hotels back in Blighty would never have heard of. We had a balcony room at the front of the building and as the owner opened the french windows the view of the Matterhorn took my breath away - I could have sat there looking at that for the next 3 days!

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice place on side of hill. Great location, picturesque setting. Comfortable room, though not appropriate for children to share as the optional short curtain covering the transparent glass partition to the bathroom leaves a nice view at about waist-level. Smaller portions of a variety of items at breakfast. Lovely presentation--just don't expect to eat lots. Have to be able to do stairs to access the property, though a hotel shuttle is possible from the station. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just a five minute walk from the station, it enjoys a slightly elevated position which affords amazing bedroom views across Zermatt and of the Matterhorn (make sure you ask for a room with a view, it is worth every extra penny). The staff that we met just couldn't do enough for us and although we were there for only one night, gave us possible activities that would last a week. You are only five minutes walk from the centre of Zermatt, where you will find an abundance of places to eat and drink. Breakfast was a small selection of everything, perfect for the start of the day.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just spent two nights in this small quiet hotel which is a short walk from the station, the staff are friendly,the rooms are warm and clean,and if you have good weather unlike us then you will have a wonderful view of the Matterhorn!!!
Breakfast is simple but nicely done!
I would recommend anyone who wants a good value hotel to stay in while in Zermatt!

Room Tip: The rooms 2 and 3 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Welschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welschen

Address: Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welschen 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOTEL WELSCHEN is situated at a quiet and sunny location, providing a magnificent view onto the Matterhorn. Even though the hotel was fit to offer modern conveniences, we strived to preserve the homey and rustic nature of the chalet-like building.The Sunnegga Express is only a minute away. And also Gornergratbahn, the bus to Matterhorn glacier paradise – Valley Station, the train station, and the village’s center are in only a few minutes walking distance. In a new outbuilding, we offer a private spa on 95m², which can be booked at a fee for up to 8 persons. As from summer 2014, a lift will take you from the street right to the hotel’s entrance door level. We strive to make your holidays in our hotel a stay as pleasant as possible. Free WIFI is available all over the building. The entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Welschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.