We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Welschen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Welschen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Welschen
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 30 Zermatt B&B and Inns
Champaign IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Nice place on side of hill. Great location, picturesque setting. Comfortable room, though not appropriate for children to share as the optional short curtain covering the transparent glass partition to the bathroom leaves a nice view at about waist-level. Smaller portions of a variety of items at breakfast. Lovely presentation--just don't expect to eat lots. Have to be able to do stairs to access the property, though a hotel shuttle is possible from the station. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just a five minute walk from the station, it enjoys a slightly elevated position which affords amazing bedroom views across Zermatt and of the Matterhorn (make sure you ask for a room with a view, it is worth every extra penny). The staff that we met just couldn't do enough for us and although we were there for only one night, gave us possible activities that would last a week. You are only five minutes walk from the centre of Zermatt, where you will find an abundance of places to eat and drink. Breakfast was a small selection of everything, perfect for the start of the day.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just spent two nights in this small quiet hotel which is a short walk from the station, the staff are friendly,the rooms are warm and clean,and if you have good weather unlike us then you will have a wonderful view of the Matterhorn!!!
Breakfast is simple but nicely done!
I would recommend anyone who wants a good value hotel to stay in while in Zermatt!

Room Tip: The rooms 2 and 3 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Hi!
This weekend I've took a trip with my boyfriend to Zermatt, and we stood at the hotel Welschen. It's a very well placed hotel, in the middle of Zermatt, at 1 minute of walking to one of the 3 main ski lifts, 5 minutes of walking from the railway station (and the main shopping street), 2 minutes from a ski rental shop.Very easy to get to.
The hotel looks from outside like a house from a fairy tail with very nice decorations and the inside looks very pretty with attention for details and good taste. Near the reception desk there is a living room with a beautiful chimney and a relaxing area, a desk with a laptop for free internet access. A lovely place to relax.
The room we've booked was very nice and very clean.It had TV plasma and a wonderful bath room separated from the room only by glass.On the table we had spring water, a heather for tea and tea and coffee envelopes. We had also a wonderful view of Matterhorn from our window that could be seen while seating in bed. Very good sleeping conditions. The room had also a nice terrace to seat and admire the view.The bath was equipped with everything needed.
The breakfast was very good and varied, the staff was very friendly and attentive, from the eating room there was a nice view of Matterhorn also.
The price was very good compared to other hotels with the same conditions (240 CHF/day/room with Matterhorn view).
I recommend it with pleasure!

Room Tip: you can choose a room with Matterhorn view, just ask for it when booking (Room 10-very good).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The hotel is a pretty chalet on a slope with fantastic views of the Matterhorn as soon as you step out of the front door. You should be aware that there is a steep slope and a flight of steps up to the entrance. The hotel has been nicely decorated with many traditional decorations.
We used the service at the station where you ring up on a free phone and the owners will come and collect you and your luggage. We didn't have to wait long for the van to arrive and the owners were really helpful.
The rooms were fairly small but had everything we needed. The bathrooms were also small and the shower over the bath was not the best but was adequate. My only real problem was the floppy pillows which were so thin they were not worth having! It was absolutely silent at night and very dark! The back of the hotel (where we were) is a bit overlooked and there was a path which went right past our window making my husband a bit wary about leaving the window open at night despite the heat when we were there.
Breakfast was adequate with some really nice bread.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

The room we booked at Welschen was one of the last available in Zermatt for the busy holiday week. Fortunately, it worked out perfectly. The rooms are basic, but worked perfectly for a ski trip. The beds were a bid firm, the pillows paper-thin, and were actually two twins pushed together (though that's the case in many euro hotels). The shower was also tiny. Those negatives aside, the room and our stay was great. Our four nights here cost less than one night at one of the fancier hotels in Zermatt. The staff was helpful (take advantage of the complimentary pick-up and drop-off from the train station, as it's a bit of a hike without the vehicle). The hotel is situated 5 minutes from the main streets/shopping, but is right above one of the 3 main ski lifts (and 2 minutes from a ski rental shop).
The complimentary breakfast each morning was quite good, with a large variety of food in a great setting. Both the dining room and our room had an amazing view of the Matterhorn. Even if you don't get a room with a view, just step outside and you'll see it all.
The lobby also had a nice sitting room with a roaring fire that we took advantage of each night after walking back to the hotel after dinner. There's a computer with good internet access, too, in case you need to look up train times, etc.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We selected hotel Welschen after several offers from different hotels in Zermatt, and after a thorough search at TripAdvisor. And what a match! Excellent service and frienly hosts, spacy room with a balcony facing Matterhorn, tasty breakfast. The nice garden was just perfect to enjoy a cold beer when returning from the mountains. Location: The distance from the towncenter and the train to Gornergrat was just a nice walk, the train to Sunnegga Paradise was just down the stairs and across the road. You may find cheaper hotels in Zermatt (and of course a whole lot much more expensive) but if you are looking for a nice, small and calm place - do not search for another, Hotel Welschen will sure be the right choise!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Welschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Welschen

Address: Wiestistrasse 44, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Welschen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our HOTEL WELSCHEN is situated at a quiet and sunny location, providing a magnificent view onto the Matterhorn. Even though the hotel was fit to offer modern conveniences, we strived to preserve the homey and rustic nature of the chalet-like building.The Sunnegga Express is only a minute away. And also Gornergratbahn, the bus to Matterhorn glacier paradise – Valley Station, the train station, and the village’s center are in only a few minutes walking distance. In a new outbuilding, we offer a private spa on 95m², which can be booked at a fee for up to 8 persons. As from summer 2014, a lift will take you from the street right to the hotel’s entrance door level. We strive to make your holidays in our hotel a stay as pleasant as possible. Free WIFI is available all over the building. The entire hotel is non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Welschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Welschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.