We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mirabeau

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mirabeau to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mirabeau
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Mukilteo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stay of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were married in Zermatt on February 27, and stayed at this wonderful hotel for a week, along with my parents. Hotel Mirabeau was simply magical, and remains the topic of conversation as the best trip and accommodations we have ever had. We were treated royally by the Julen family and the entire staff. We cannot praise the hotel enough for the incredible service and warm family atmosphere. Every attention to detail and individual needs far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were charming and well appointed, and we did have a view of the Matterhorn. The food was scrumptious..5 stars...no need to go anywhere else. My parents were treated extra special and attended to with every need. I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. Incredible!!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Matterhorn, you can ask if available. All rooms impeccable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    40
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
159
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were lovely, the food was amazing and the room was impeccable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, we only stayed for 3 days in Zermatt and intend to return. Hopefully we can stay at Mirabeau again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a mini - suite with a Matterhorn view. Very luxurious with both bath and separate show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockenhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

As part of a rail holiday, we spent 3 nights at the Mirabeau. We had asked for twin beds and were delighted to find that our request had been actioned. Staff were extremely pleasant and I was very pleased to see Mr Julen around the hotel, particiularly at meal times when he speaks to all the guests.
We made use of the long swimming pool and jacuzzi. After dinner we enjoyed sitting in front of the log fire in the lounge/bar area.
Our only disapointment was not to see the Matterhorn from the hotel dining room and our balcony. The Matterhorn seems to be a cloud magnet. Still we went up the Gornergrat and spent all day viewing the mountain!
I thoroughly recommend the Mirabeau.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotel Mirabeau is a hotel in the old tradition. The customer comes first. From the moment one steps in the front door you are treated as a special person and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are well appointed with free internet available. The bathroom facilities are excellent and all needs have been provided for. The Buffet Breakfast provides for all tastes with a wide variety of breads, cereals juices and cold meats. The hot side was not to my liking but that's a taste matter. The coffee was to die for, strong and robust, just how I like it. I recommend this hotel for the discerning traveller

Room Tip: I stayed in the rear which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great hotel , nice big rooms by ski hotel standards, good food and plenty of it. In particular great breakfasts. There was also an excellent swimming pool. The staff were also friendly and most attentive

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Matterhorn- stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second trip to the Hotel Mirabeau and we weren't disappointed. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are stylish and comfortable and the ambiance of the hotel is welcoming. We all found our rooms too warm but you can turn off your radiator and open the window. The ski room is excellent and as one reviewer mentioned, you can take a bus to the Sunnega lift but you can also walk to the Gornergrat train in about 5 minutes which takes you up to the centre of the mountain. The main train station is just opposite the Gornergrat station but when you arrive/leave the hotel will pick you up and drop you off along with all your luggage. In contrast to one reviewer, we loved the food - most people choose the breakfast buffet and 5 course dinner option. The portion sizes are great and you can combine the options however you'd like - skip the soup and have 2 desserts if you want! One night there was a delicious raclette buffet and a great dessert buffet another night. We had some wifi issues but going down to the lobby and logging in again normally got it working again. I had a great massage at the Spa and my son and father enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My sister and i have just returned from a week at the Mirabeau,we have very high standards and this hotel meets every expectation,from beginning to end.we had to leave the hotel at 4am there was staff to provide tea coffee ect.and also a small treat of the local chocolate.the owner's and their daughter are attentive to all their guests.We have been ski-ing for 12 years (twice a year)
this is the first Hotel wewill return to..even though we always stay at 5star hotels.

Room Tip: We upgraded to room 305 and for 50 francs a night we got a much bigger room and bathroom well worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mirabeau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirabeau

Address: Untere Mattenstrasse 12-14 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#19 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Mirabeau 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
..Welcome to a magical place! Hotel Mirabeau is a third generation family owned and managed property in Zermatt, Switzerland. The hotel is located in the calmer part of the town, with a majestic view on the Matterhorn and the surrounding Michabel Mountains. With our restaurant ZerMatta, and the 15 points Gault Milliau and Michelin featured gastronomic restaurant Corbeau d'Or as well as our bar and the Joseph's Wine Lounge our guests can enjoy fantastic Food and Wine - the fine art of living. The design of our two buildings is stylish yet alpin and our mountain spa features several saunas, steam baths and relaxation rooms, a newly build pool and jacuzzi as well as a large array of treatments; from couple wine-therapy to chocolate massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mirabeau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabeau Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mirabeau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.