We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antares

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Antares to your Saves list
Hotel Antares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schluhmattstrasse 101, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“hotel with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Antares is situated very near to the cable car station that is used to access the Matterhorn Ski Paradise and the Klein Matterhorn cable car station,The staff are friendly and informative and can give local information which may not be available in guide books .Our room was a double room with a south facing balcony from which you could see the Matterhorn. For a double room the size is small but the bathroom is ok Rooms on the other side of the hotel face a grassy bank with trees , so make sure you book a room on the south side if you want to see the Matterhorn,the elevation is as shown on the photo above next to the address.The town centre is 10 mins from the hotel, but its a pleasant walk over the river bridge.The hotel has an electric taxi service to and from the railway station, We booked the hotel in advance and would do so again if we re visit Zermatt.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Situated a little out of the centre of Zermatt, but still within walking distance of the train station (15 - 20 minutes with luggage).

Rooms on the Matterhorn have a virtually unobstructed view of the mountain (make sure you upgrade to a Matterhorn view room to ensure you get one, it's definitely worth it).

The bathrooms are superb, finished with Jade Onyx!

Service was friendly, and the receptionist made recommendations for our sightseeing and dinner options.

Continental breakfast was pleasant and the staff in the restaurant were helpful and courteous.

The lift only goes to the 4th (of 5) floors, but If you want a room with a view, this hotel will not disappoint (make sure you ask for it!!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked this hotel through hotels.com, when we were 1 hour from Zermatt, we received an email that they did not have a room for us. When we arrived, we called and they said they found us a room at a "lesser" hotel. Lesser hotel? I don't know because we didn't see this hotel. They blamed hotels.com for the error. Our "lesser hotel had no view and cost 10 Swiss francs less. My advice would be if you book this hotel, call and make sure they will honor your confirmation number because they certainly did not honor ours. The only reason they got 2 circles was because the girl found us room, the whole town was fully booked. I'm wondering what would have happened had we not found it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel is an older one, but the room we had had a brand new bathroom which was nice. Hotel is ok. The Hotel is about a 10 min. walk from where all the shops and restaurants are. If the weather is good it might be a pleasant walk, if not might be bad! Our room had a direct view f the Matterhorn which was beautiful. Breakfast was fine. Room size, just ok. No air conditioning, but with the balcony door open, it was ok. The owner was a very nice and pleasant lady. Free-Wi-fi. The hotel is only a few steps away from the Cable cars up to the Matterhorn which is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Antares is a very comfortable hotel ideally situated for skiers 1 minute from the Matterhorn gondola. We stayed in March 2012. No complaints on the service or food standards. The wellness area is compact but very good. In fact the whole hotel is compact, our room had a Matterhorn view which was fantastic but there was only just enough room for the two of us, we did have a balcony to use & the weather was great all week. If there is one negative it was the hotel staff arguing in the restaurant during dinner, there were temporary/seasonal staff who were told off in front of the guests for what looked like fairly trivial reasons - not good practice. Our waitress was always very pleasant. The hotel has a great sun terrace to relax & have a beer after a days skiing.

Room Tip: The rooms are compact so best book one with a balcony & a Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was really nice. We were welcomed by a friendly lady who gave us a heap of information regarding activities, restaraunts ect. The room was great with amazing views of the Matterhorn from our balcony and bedroom window. It was mid season on our arrival so very quiet and the spa, sauna and hotel restaraunt were closed but it was still lovely!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is ideal for people who visit Zermatt for skiing. Although it is a little far away from the train station it is about 100 metres or so away from the lifts to the slopes.

The room: I had a corner room with a very nice bathroom. An exceptionally nice bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room was of a decent size. The pillows could be improved but that is just my personal preference. There is wifi available free of charge.

The breakfast : pretty standard cold cuts cheese and bread. Apparently you can order eggs to your preference nights waiter never mentioned this to us until we were leaving.

The staff: front desk is managed by a delightful lady from Bern. She is just charming and most helpful.

The bad: slightly far away from the après ski scene. However you would have to walk it anyways from the lifts

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 101, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.