We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Europe ski trip 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambiance

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambiance to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambiance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 98, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Kirkland, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Europe ski trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Best breakfast of any place we stayed hands down!! 5 stars on that. Brand new super updated bathroom in our room. Spotless. The room itself was fine. Great bed and bedding after you took off the horrible bed cover, underneath were wonderful white duvets with down comfortors. the chair in our room looked about 50 years old and was falling apart. my guess is they are updating parts of the hotel. Otherwise clean and lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful room with a balcony facing the Matterhorn (as we have had on our previous 2 stays). The family and staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good (we took 1/2 board) and we were provided with the day's menu in English every morning. We particularly like the hotel's location-out of the hustle/bustle of the main street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. And a balcony if you like to sit outdoors with beer or hot tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you! We are looking forward to having you here next season again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Ok rooms, smallish, had room overlooking construction site. Had balcony but no patio furniture, but cushions for patio furniture in closet. One side of bed collapsed on middle of the night because the slats did not seat correctly, looked like someone had tried to repair it by stuffing paper in the slots so it is a known problem by someone. Did not trust bed after that and moved mattress to floor. Owner/desk had not much to say about it in the morning, just "oh, sorry..." a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are sorry for the broken bed that stole you a night's sleep. Sometimes, things happen that you might not expect in advance. Still, thanks for taking you time to comment on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel to celeberate our wedding anniversary. right from check in it was great experience. Check in by Michelle was smooth and welcoming. All information was provided. The bedroom was clean.Having worked in different hotels for 14 years and having visited a lot of hotels i was surprised at recieving a five star experience for good price. The bathroom was clean a priority for any stay.The view of matterhorn from the bedroom balcony was beautiful. Breakfast was of top quality. its located just 10 minutes walk away from main street and access to trams going up to matterhorn was easy. Again all maps and information was provided by Michelle. We were pleased and hence extended our stay one more day. Again this was very effectively dealt. kathlyn at bar was very efficient and ensured good service. It was a top quality service throughout and we will definitely be back hopefully this winter.I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Request for a room with view to matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We thank you for this very positive comment and will be pleased having you here in winter again. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is located slightly out of the centre of Zermatt. From the station it can be reached within a easy 10 minute stroll slightly up the hill. It provides some nice views over town and from some rooms and the terass also over the Matterhorn. It is a family atmosphere with very friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are nicely furnished, have free WIFI and big screen TV. The bathrooms are newly renovated.

They offer a hearty breakfast buffet which will provide a good basis for a day full of activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking you time to express your experience with us. We would be pleased having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice wooden room with balcony and astonishing view of the Matterhorn. Access to the outside jacuzzi, very relaxing after a day of hard walking over the beautiful and steep mountains.
Good choice for breakfast, quantity was the main positive point.
I would suggest for staying in Zermatt.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Yes, we also love our Jacuzzi. It is perfect to enjoy a relaxing time after a day full of hiking. Thank you for your comment. We would be pleased having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ned
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

was a nice clean hotel super locatie and very kindle people
The restaurant is oke only de bar and night quite but de rest is good may be the next time whe come tho zermatt we visit this hotel

fam ketting

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambiance

Address: Riedstrasse 98, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ambiance 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambience Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.