We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambiance

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambiance to your Saves list
Hotel Ambiance
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 98, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a wonderful room with a balcony facing the Matterhorn (as we have had on our previous 2 stays). The family and staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good (we took 1/2 board) and we were provided with the day's menu in English every morning. We particularly like the hotel's location-out of the hustle/bustle of the main street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. And a balcony if you like to sit outdoors with beer or hot tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you! We are looking forward to having you here next season again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Ok rooms, smallish, had room overlooking construction site. Had balcony but no patio furniture, but cushions for patio furniture in closet. One side of bed collapsed on middle of the night because the slats did not seat correctly, looked like someone had tried to repair it by stuffing paper in the slots so it is a known problem by someone. Did not trust bed after that and moved mattress to floor. Owner/desk had not much to say about it in the morning, just "oh, sorry..." a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are sorry for the broken bed that stole you a night's sleep. Sometimes, things happen that you might not expect in advance. Still, thanks for taking you time to comment on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at this hotel to celeberate our wedding anniversary. right from check in it was great experience. Check in by Michelle was smooth and welcoming. All information was provided. The bedroom was clean.Having worked in different hotels for 14 years and having visited a lot of hotels i was surprised at recieving a five star experience for good price. The bathroom was clean a priority for any stay.The view of matterhorn from the bedroom balcony was beautiful. Breakfast was of top quality. its located just 10 minutes walk away from main street and access to trams going up to matterhorn was easy. Again all maps and information was provided by Michelle. We were pleased and hence extended our stay one more day. Again this was very effectively dealt. kathlyn at bar was very efficient and ensured good service. It was a top quality service throughout and we will definitely be back hopefully this winter.I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Request for a room with view to matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We thank you for this very positive comment and will be pleased having you here in winter again. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is located slightly out of the centre of Zermatt. From the station it can be reached within a easy 10 minute stroll slightly up the hill. It provides some nice views over town and from some rooms and the terass also over the Matterhorn. It is a family atmosphere with very friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are nicely furnished, have free WIFI and big screen TV. The bathrooms are newly renovated.

They offer a hearty breakfast buffet which will provide a good basis for a day full of activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking you time to express your experience with us. We would be pleased having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice wooden room with balcony and astonishing view of the Matterhorn. Access to the outside jacuzzi, very relaxing after a day of hard walking over the beautiful and steep mountains.
Good choice for breakfast, quantity was the main positive point.
I would suggest for staying in Zermatt.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
André K, Inhaber at Hotel Ambiance, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Yes, we also love our Jacuzzi. It is perfect to enjoy a relaxing time after a day full of hiking. Thank you for your comment. We would be pleased having you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ned
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

was a nice clean hotel super locatie and very kindle people
The restaurant is oke only de bar and night quite but de rest is good may be the next time whe come tho zermatt we visit this hotel

fam ketting

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I planned a last minute trip to Zermatt with my daughter and her boyfriend and we were lucky to find two rooms available at the Hotel Ambience. My daughter's room was spacious and clean with a modern bathroom and balcony with a Matterhorn view. My room was more basic but also clean with a nice bathroom. Evidently the suite rooms are exceptional. Our rooms were comfortable, but as others have mentioned, could use a some design update. However, considering how expensive Zermatt is, we felt we got a good deal. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and we had a delightful dinner on our second night there. The hotel is a bit removed from the action which makes it very quiet, but a bit of a hike to catch the ski bus. Our only complaint was that when we made our reservation, they did not mention that they provide a shuttle from the train station, so we ended up dragging our skis and luggage quite a distance to the hotel. At checkout, again, no mention of the shuttle. Only at the last minute as we were dragging our skis out to leave, a hotel employee offered us a ride to the train station. The woman who was working the reception desk was not particularly helpful or warm, however all the other hotel employees were wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambiance

Address: Riedstrasse 98, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ambiance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambience Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambiance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.