We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful chalet with great views and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Schoenegg to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 35, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Wonderful chalet with great views and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the time we arrived to the time we left our stay was perfect. The chalet sits on top of the hill overlooking the village and has great views of the Matterhorn.
Our room was surprisingly perfect. There was lots of space for our clothes, the room was very clean, quiet, and had a great balcony with great views.
Breakfast was great as well with plenty to chose from. The dining room was very charming and the decor depicted the chalet theme perfectly. It was great having breakfast with a view of the Matterhorn every morning.
The staff was very courtious and friendly. They made sure they answered your questions and made you feel welcomed during your stay.
After a long day of walking and sight seeing we took advantage of relaxing in the spa. The chalet was filled with lots of Swiss charm throughout. To get to the city and train station, we took advantage of the tunnel which was a short 5 minute walk.
We have stayed in many hotels throughout our travels and would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. It is definitely worth the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
89
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was situated above the city of Zermatt and our room faced the Matterhorn. Really nice to wake up in the morning and walk out onto the balcony to that view! Room and bed were comfortable - had no issues whatsoever. Breakfast was standard and good quality. Would definitely stay here again. Fell in love with this town, and really enjoyed the hike down from the Gornergrat!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The staff was so friendly and helpful -- the best we met in Switzerland! We had a triple room with a balcony. The room was a bit snug for three, but had an amazing view of the Matterhorn.

One tip: Call the hotel when you arrive. They'll pick you up and whisk you to the hotel via their tunnel. (We took a taxi and the 3 minute ride cost us $18 CH!)

I would definitely recommend the hotel and stay there the next time we're visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had a wonderful time and couldn't ask for more. The room with the amazing view to the Matterhorn and village is amazing. Everything is close by, walking distance.
The owner Anna & Sebastian are doing a fabulous job! We definitely will be back :).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear saf55

Wow, it seems that you were really thrilled by our services! Thank you very much indeed for this nice comment here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed our establishment and our services! You made a very nice picture from your room congratulation!!!

Indeed the view is the big advantage of the #ChaletHotelSchönegg comparing all other hotels in Zermatt. You can imagine, that we are very happy about that fact.

We are looking forward to your next stay with! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts…

We look forward to welcoming you hopefully soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.
#schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a beautiful chalet. Had the best view of the Matterhorn from our bedroom balcony. Was lovely to wake up to. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Zermatt. Will defiantly stay here when we return in a couple of years with a few of our friends. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Julie B

You came all the way from down under to visit us here in Zermatt? Thank you very much!! As well I would like to thank you for your lovely review here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

You highlight our panoramic view from the rooms. We are very glad, that you enjoyed this view over Zermatt roof tops and towards the Matterhorn.

Our staff thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us in a couple of years! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts…

We look forward to welcoming you hopefully soon back at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg.
#schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a great view of the Matterhorn from our room. The rooms were charming with all the wood and the balcony. There was construction outside one of rooms, which was distracting, but nothing the hotel could control.

The tunnel to the hotel was a unique feature. The elevator to the tunnel made it quite easy to quickly get down to the city level and main shopping district.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear “WinstonTravelers”

Thank you very much for your honest review here on TripAdvisor! Regarding the construction we can indeed not control them in anyway. At least it damages not the view our guest have from their room. You can not even her the noise since our windows are all very good isolated. Normally the construction will be over by summer 2015. But in the winter time there will be no noise, since they are not working.

We are very happy, that you liked the #view@chalethotelschönegg.

Our private elevator and tunnel is a big advantage for our guest. From the busy centre of Zermatt it only takes 5 minutes to reach the calm situation of the hotel

The view is indeed the big attraction in our hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts… #schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederrohrdorf, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Went on a last minute trip to see Zermatt and the Matterhorn. Checked into my room in the newer Chalet section, opened my curtains and there in front of me was the Matterhorn and a great view of the city of Zermatt. Pleasantly surprised with the rooms in this hotel. Staff was friendly and food was decent.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Owner at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear “jtquinn72”

It seems that you are a spontaneous and lucky person. Spontaneous because of your last minute trip to Zermatt. Lucky because your caught a room in the #PetitChaletSchönegg. Since we are often fully booked in our new wing, we encourage everybody to book his room as early as possible. The rate is usually as well better.

The view is indeed the big attraction in our hotel.
The location is perfect if you like to be close to the slopes (ski in), near to the next hiking trail or the next rail to the mountain. If you like being close to the town thanks to our private elevator and tunnel. Last but not least if you like having the greatest view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn.

I wil transmit your compliments to our staff. They thank you already with a big smiley during your next stay #@theChaletHotelSchönegg. Regarding the food I see you were not 100% satisfait. We would like to know more about that. Please contact us in order to let us improve on this field.

We are looking forward to your next spontaneous stay with us! Please make sure you book directly at our hotel’s website to get the best deal. There are always some additional service included or special gifts… #schöneggview #chalethotelschönegg

Best wishes and see you soon

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.