We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Hotel Schoenegg to your Saves list
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedweg 35, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Promotio Code TripAdvisor
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very nice rooms in the new Chalet. Excellent gastronomic food and a very professional service in the dining room. Quite a nice spa with a beautiful view, no swimming pool.
After quite some stays in Zermatt over the years, the first hotel that we would consider going back.
Be careful if you have special rates by a company or else with Swiss Quality Hotels, those rates apply at all times on the advirtisement, but not in reality when you book a room ! Which is a bit unpleasant and cheating !

Room Tip: More expensive but with wonderful wooden walls, chose the Chalet part of the Hotel and ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear „mcmutrux“

First of all we thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Zermatt! We are very glad, that your were happy with the service that we provide. In terms oft he swimming pool we are working on it. Unfortunately this is a big investment and we cannot consider that at the moment.
For your next booking we recommend to directly book on our web site. Here you will always find the best conditions and special promotion rates!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg

Your hosts, Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    34
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
126
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spend just one night in the Chalet hotel Schönegg but everything was perfect. Beautiful and very neat room, very good breakfast, very nice spa with beautiful view on the mountains... The staff is very nice and accomodating. A real 4 stars sup. hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Camille 1123

Thank you very much for your kind comment! We are very happy, that you appreciated your stay in at the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!
The view is indeed one of our big advantages, we are very happy, that you enjoyed it!;) I will transfer your compliments to our nice staff!

We look forward to give you another warm welcome to our propriety soon…;)

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend at the Schonegg and it was a beautiful experience. The hotel is located a bit above the village, so that rooms enjoy a magnificent view of the Matterhorn (try to book a room with a view). An elevator allows you to go straight to the village from the hotel so that you don't have to walk all the way down.

Service was perfect and the dining room (also used for breakfast) offers stunning views over Zermatt and the Matterhorn.

We are looking forward to coming again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear „Armen1907“

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! It is very nice, that you share your nice experience you had in our establishment!
I can understand, that you liked the location and the view, the weather was gorgeous during your stay, so your view from the room is unbeatable!;) Our own elevator is a big advantage for our guest. It makes the hotel reachable within 5 minutes from the center of Zermatt. The ski facilities are as well just around the corner!
I will as well transfer your compliments of the kitchen to our chef!

We look forward to your next stay in the Chalet Hotel Schönegg!

Best regards!

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the Hotel Schoenegg, following a very successful stay in February 2011. The staff on reception were helpful and welcoming and again we were shown to excellent large and comfortable rooms (twice the size of the single rooms we booked for a similar price at a ski hotel in St Anton last year). The beds are very comfortable with soft feather pillows. There is a TV in the room but the only English Channel was BBC Prime (not worth providing) but I was happy to watch Italian TV and improve my language skills.

The day starts with a tranquil breakfast overlooking the Matterhorn (with an inclusive glass of Prosecco if you can manage it) then you are ready for a long days skiing. Skiing is easy to access, a few minutes walk to the Sunnegga funicular in the morning for us to catch the 8:50am or 9am train up (they leave every 10 mins) and then the whole of the amazing Zermatt-Cervinia monster ski area is available to you with its excellent mountain restaurants such as Les Marmottes, Paradies and Chez Vrony to name a few. The ski area was very quiet the week we were there, February24th to 1st March. At the end of the day a quick spin down the Riedweg run and you are back at the hotel for a drink on the hotel’s patio (if you’re lucky in the sun with a clear view of the Matterhorn).

The food in the restaurant is exceptionally good for half-board; it really is cuisine with delicate, perfectly proportioned courses which are more than adequate after eating lunch out at one of the fine mountain restaurants in Zermatt. One of the reasons we chose this hotel again was for the dining and friendly service. A lovely drink by the fire in the lounge every evening followed by a 5 course meal accompanied throughout by the charming resident pianist was a perfect end to the day.

The hotel is also opposite a very good ski-hire shop if that is required.

Another fantastic stay and I expect we will be back in 2015 if not before.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear „ Valentina88“

We thank you very much for your lovely comment here on TripAdvisor!
We train our staff to be as courteous and frindly as possible! We are very glad, that our service was delivered in this way to you!

You also mentioned our location and view. We are very lucky for this 2 USP’s that we have comparing to nearly all other hotels in Zermatt! Since the hotel is a little bit higher we have this incomparable view over Zermatt and to the Matterhorn. But in the same time we are, thank to our own elevator and tunnel, very close to the ski slopes and the center of the village!

Our kitchen is very well known in Zermatt. Our chef is very delighted, that you liked his creations!:)

We look forward to welcoming you soon again @ Chalet Hotel Schönegg. Do not forget to book on our Website in order to get the best price on the web!;)

Anna & Sebastian Metry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Schoenegg staff are professional, charming, fun and helpful. One even fixed my broken parka zipper! The food is gourmet and plentiful with adequate choice for all tastes. Our room was extremely comfortable, from the heated floor to the long beds and cozy duvets. The view of the Matterhorn is unparalleled and unobstructed because the village is below the hotel. Major skilift systems are just steps away, or you can take the green bus to the other end of the valley. Also, the Spa provides a much-needed way to relax and soothe your body. If you want luxury, friendly and consistent service, comfort and an unforgettable experience, this is the place to stay in Zermatt. We have already booked our 2014 visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn. Most, but not all, of the rooms face that direction. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear “Donald C”

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel. We are very glad, that our service met your expectations! You may don’t know, but we specialized in broken zippers…;)
Thank you very much for the compliments for our kitchen! Beside the kitchen the view and our location are the other advantages from our hotel compared to the other hotels in Zermatt. We are higher then the village with a breath-taking view over Zermatt and towards the Matterhorn, but thanks to the elevator

We look forward to welcoming you next year!!

Warm regards from sunny Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I spent a week at the Chalet Hotel Schoenegg with a large group of friend for my birthday last week and all I can say is that it was beyond amazing.
Sebastian and the Metry family took such good care of us and were so flexible in our booking that it made the whole organisation process seamless.
The hotel is a combinantion of modern minimalistic luxury chalet design with more traditional design in the old part of the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. The spa was very cozy, well-equiped and had a breathtaking view of the Matterhorn mountain.
The evening dining included in the half-board package was so extraordinary that I never ate outside the hotel during my one week stay in the hotel. The five course menus are healthy, light and beautifully designed by a German Gault Millau and Michelin chef. The perfect treat with a good bottle of wine after a day of skiing! The dining room has a spectacular view of the Matterhorn so your breakfast is guaranteed to be enchanting!
The skiing access is very easy and the hotel is located on a cliff with a tunnel and lift access (very much like James Bond in the film "on her Majesty's Secret Service"). The tunnel is located less than 50m from the Sunegga ski domain access so no need to worry about location!
When you are skiing definitely go to the amazing Fruhalp restaurant on the Sunegga domain. Sebastian, the exceptional manager of the hotel will give you all the secret tips so listen carefully!
I have stayed in almost all the best hotels in Zermatt and this is without a doubt the best hotel I have stayed in. Human-sized hotels are the way as you trully feel unique and looked after in a way that larger hotels struggle to deliver. If you are planning a trip to Zermatt, the Schonegg hotel is definitely the way.
I will be back soon.
Pierre-Yves

Room Tip: Contact Sebstian or Anna for all the tips!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi “PY L”

We are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our establishment and that you and your friends had a great time! The organisation of your party is part of the service that we provide. We are very happy to make an effort for our guest in order to fulfil their wishes.

Thank you for the compliments for our chef. They try every day to improve and to impress our guests with the dinner menu! And of course, no dinner is completely achieved, without a bottle of swiss wine…;) …especially with this view over Zermatt by night, from our dining room.

Our location is indeed very lucky. Thanks to our proper elevator and tunnel, we are very close to the Sunnegga station and the bus to all other ski domains starts just in front of the tunnel. But located a little bit higher the Zermatt in this “Schönegg Plateau” we benefit from a unique view over the town and towards the Matterhorn.

Thank you very much for the flowers…;) We are very much looking forward to see you soon!

Very warm regards from Zermatt

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I just passed 3 great nights in the Petit Chalet (the newer part). The hotel location is perfect.. short walk to trian station, basically attached to Sunnegga ski area and only a few steps from the closest bus stop to go on Matterhorn express. They are on top of a cliff with a view over the town and the matterhorn which I find quite remarcable. The view from their dining room is exquisite to say the least. Service was top and we had tremendous food in the evenings (strongly recommned this option) with 5 course meal each time. The owner is super attentive. Breakfast buffet super complete and tasteful.
Great spa area, super clean and again with super view. Hotel has its own lift from the street level to the lobby and has a small tunnel that makes you think about a James Bond film.
The Petit Chalet has lovely rooms with wood throught. Really nice.
You can also ski directly back to the bar of the hotel which has a lovely terrace for your apres-ski session. Do go by train which is super convenient and they come to pick you up with lovely electric vehicles which are very 70's.

Room Tip: Petit Chalet - Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonegg, Inhaber at Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear "Flying_Italian"

Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are very pleased, that you like the rooms in our new wing the "Petite Chalet". The Location & View are, beside of the good kitchen, our more important USP’s! It is very rare in Zermatt to offer the possibilities to ski in. We are happy, that our clients can ski to the hotel.

Pointing out, that everything is clean in our hotel is very kind from you. All these small details are very important and we pay a lot of attention to it.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again in our establishment. Maybe together with you children. In the meantime have a look on our webcam on the schonegg web page.

Sunny wishes from Zermatt...

Anna & Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE Superior
BELLERIVE Superior
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Schoenegg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Schoenegg

Address: Riedweg 35, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Schoenegg)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chalet Hotel Schoenegg 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Hotel Schoenegg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Hotel Schoenegg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.