We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wide open spaces” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rothorn Paradise

Rothorn Paradise
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
41279660101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 47 things to do in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: From the peak of the Rothorn at 3103 metres there is the most spectacular view across the whole Zermatt region as far as the Matterhorn. On this walk around the Rothorn restaurant you can draw in the pure mountain air and admire the original "Peak Collection". This special outdoor exhibition of 18 sculptures will connect you on an artistic level with the Alpine world of Zermatt and its many tales
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wide open spaces”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Love the skiing especially when it is a cloudless sunny day. I am not good when it is overcrowded and you come across a few selfish skiers. Luckily that does not happen very often. But that is not the fault of Zermatt.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Maybe the best Runs in Zermatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Off the backside, the runs are terrific, long, through a valley, and the Reds and Black off the top are very nice too. Need good visibility otherwise it's high alpine and one is "blind" in whiteout conditions.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect Matterhorn View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We rode to Rothorn which is a combination of tram and cable car ride to the top. The scene up top is magnificent, glacier and perfect Matterhorn views. There is a decent size observation area to walk around and a restaurant which we did not eat at. At certain times of the week, the restaurant has a sunrise breakfast and a sunset dinner which we would have liked to have done but couldn’t fit it in.
It is possible to hike up to or down from the top of Rothorn but it is EXTREMELY steep. We did, however see some fit people doing this as we passed them on the cable car. Unless you want to eat, an hour is plenty of time for the visit. We sat and watched a couple of paragliders.
As usual, this activity is best saved for a fairly clear weather day. We also visited Gornergrat and the Glacier Paradise Matterhorn Observatory. I would definitely say that Gornergrat was the best experience and Rothorn was second so keep that in mind if your time is limited.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“writting from Rothorn just now”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

iam here up for almost 1 hour and dont want to leave. today as yesterday isvery sunny and warm. really a big joy to sit on the terrace with a hot wine or chocolate. You can eat here specific swiss food.
From Zermatt here up its costing 66 francs per person. first take a train till Sunegga. In this train you cannot sit down and there is no view( its driving through the mountain tunnel). then you take the gondola till the next station where you have to take the cable car ( big one really). when you take the cable car sit on the back side of it( opposite drive direction) so youcan see the whole valey. Here up we found a superb typical swiss saint bernard dog with wood bottle on the neck. he is photomodel so you can make some pictures with him. Overall its worth any franc especially when its a sunny day. No picture can give the ompression of the real view. You have to see it with your eyes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

At the top of the Cable car is Rothorn and the views are to die for. On a clear day you can see for miles as well as seeing the amazing Matterhorn which is around 1500metres higher the the top of the ski area.

Skiing from here is amazing and the runs are lovely blue and red runs with something for everyone.

It is definitely a must

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rothorn Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Rothorn Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothorn Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.