We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Unique Hotel Post to your Saves list
Unique Hotel Post
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 41, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“LOVE this hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for 2 nights during our 2 week European vacation. It was our favorite hotel of the entire trip. I wanted to stay longer just to stay here a bit more! I greatly appreciated the shuttle to/from the train station. Even though the hotel is within walking distance, with luggage, it's much easier to have the shuttle get us to/from. On the day we checked out, we woke up to about 6 inches of snow (at the end of May!), so this was especially true - no way would I have wanted to lug my suitcase through the snow!

As for the room, we were on the 5th floor facing towards the direction of the train station. The room was very clean and very cozy/comfortable. I loved the decor throughout the entire hotel and the touch panels for the elevators was just too cool. I also loved that the bathroom had an anti-fog mirror. While none of the hotels in Zermatt are 'cheap', this one definitely lived up to the price. I felt taken care of from the moment we arrived. Once you check in, they don't just hand you the key and point you to the elevator, they actually escort you to the room, tell you about the area, and make sure you're comfortable with the room.

The breakfast is a buffet, but it was well stocked with yummy options, so no complaints there. It was a great way to start the day! The location of the hotel is ideal...it's right in the middle of the main street, so tons of shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

All in all a wonderful stay in a wonderful town. I would love to visit Zermatt again, and if I get the chance, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Unique Hotel Post again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    72
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
137
28
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms are super staff are nice. It is located in a very central location. Breakfast wonderful. Did not try the spa. The wifi signal in my room (single room) was not too good, but it was not a problem as i carried my own wifi device. Overall the experience was super. If I return to Zermatt I will be staying here again. No doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Yes this hotel is chic and fun, but the guest services is what truly makes this property unforgettable. Jon Phillipe (assistant manager) showed my husband & I the VIP experience with a tour of the property which will surely make us return!

Room Tip: Matterhorn Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice arrival service by electrobus to hotel. Reception staff nice and helpfull, showed us to the room and explained all amenties. We had 1 room with bathtub and1 room with rain shower. Both were very nice and functioning well. It was a snowy day with not much to do and the staff helped us in finding a nice program. There is a little SPA with a masseur available. Breakfast is good, brown cow bar always busy. Very centrally located, just 5 walk minutes from the station. Decoration is all wood and stone, very chic alpstyle.. We had a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel after a tour on the glacial express. The hotel is in the middle of the town and allows easy access to and from the train station (500 metres away) and is situated slightly uphill on the left hand side of the street and also within a few metres for a view of the Matterhorn as well as to the many shops with goods to sell. The staff were pleasant and willing to assist with guidance to what was best to see whilst on our stay. Our suite was on the second floor and it consisted of 2 floors of small space. The downstairs was a sitting room and very small bathroom. Upstairs via windy steep slippery wooden stairs was the king size bed and an enormous spa that we were warned about was self cleaning and could start at any time of the night to clean itself, if used. This deterred us using the spa and gave us hope of a solid night sleep. There is free wifi in the rooms. The meals - the Post has a great little bar at the front were more than suitable and reasonably priced. We were in the mainly off season with little skiers about so this gave us more time to enjoy the sights. The supplied weather conditions that we found on our room door handle were great and allowed us to plan our day. They were fairly accurate as well. Worth the stay if you want comfort and convenience. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Zermatt for 3 days last week with my whole family and it was just perfect. The hotel is in the main street of the village. Just a 5 minutes walk from the train station. Plenty of restaurants, bars etc. are just next to the hotel (there are also some restaurants, a bar and a club in the hotel itself, though we did not stay there for dinner as those restaurants do not offer typical Swiss food, which I personally think is a bit of a pitty as I'm not going to the Swiss mountains to eat Mexican or Italian food...). The breakfast buffet at the hotel was amazing. They have a huge variety and very good quality. You can also order eggs etc. any style you want, any type of coffee and freshly squeezed juice - all included to the price.
The hotel is clean and has a nice and modern renovation but I think it still fits into the mountain environment as they used a lot of wood and stone. We had two normal rooms (303, 201) and one suite (402). For the normal room, 303 is great as it has a bigger balcony and you can see the Matterhorn. My mum stayed in 201 and she complained that it was a bit noisy during the night as her room was facing the street and guests from the club in our hotel stayed outside smoking and talking for quite a bit.
The hotel also has a small but lovely spa. They have a jacuzzi, steam and sauna.

Room Tip: 303 - big balcony with view of the Matterhorn. Further this room is not directly exposed to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and specially loved the interior design of this hotel. The room was neat and tidy with a balacony which I could see a bit of the mountain view. The toilette provided was great. Breakfast was good with reasonable choices, felt very comfortable and warm in the restaurant. Location was excellent, along the main street (around 5 mins walk from the train station)

The only thing that was not quite realistic was perhaps the basin which was so small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#55 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unique Hotel Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.