We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful boutuque hotel at Zermatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Unique Hotel Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Unique Hotel Post to your Saves list
Unique Hotel Post
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 41, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful boutuque hotel at Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Rooms are super staff are nice. It is located in a very central location. Breakfast wonderful. Did not try the spa. The wifi signal in my room (single room) was not too good, but it was not a problem as i carried my own wifi device. Overall the experience was super. If I return to Zermatt I will be staying here again. No doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    62
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
25
128
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Yes this hotel is chic and fun, but the guest services is what truly makes this property unforgettable. Jon Phillipe (assistant manager) showed my husband & I the VIP experience with a tour of the property which will surely make us return!

Room Tip: Matterhorn Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice arrival service by electrobus to hotel. Reception staff nice and helpfull, showed us to the room and explained all amenties. We had 1 room with bathtub and1 room with rain shower. Both were very nice and functioning well. It was a snowy day with not much to do and the staff helped us in finding a nice program. There is a little SPA with a masseur available. Breakfast is good, brown cow bar always busy. Very centrally located, just 5 walk minutes from the station. Decoration is all wood and stone, very chic alpstyle.. We had a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel after a tour on the glacial express. The hotel is in the middle of the town and allows easy access to and from the train station (500 metres away) and is situated slightly uphill on the left hand side of the street and also within a few metres for a view of the Matterhorn as well as to the many shops with goods to sell. The staff were pleasant and willing to assist with guidance to what was best to see whilst on our stay. Our suite was on the second floor and it consisted of 2 floors of small space. The downstairs was a sitting room and very small bathroom. Upstairs via windy steep slippery wooden stairs was the king size bed and an enormous spa that we were warned about was self cleaning and could start at any time of the night to clean itself, if used. This deterred us using the spa and gave us hope of a solid night sleep. There is free wifi in the rooms. The meals - the Post has a great little bar at the front were more than suitable and reasonably priced. We were in the mainly off season with little skiers about so this gave us more time to enjoy the sights. The supplied weather conditions that we found on our room door handle were great and allowed us to plan our day. They were fairly accurate as well. Worth the stay if you want comfort and convenience. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eschen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in Zermatt for 3 days last week with my whole family and it was just perfect. The hotel is in the main street of the village. Just a 5 minutes walk from the train station. Plenty of restaurants, bars etc. are just next to the hotel (there are also some restaurants, a bar and a club in the hotel itself, though we did not stay there for dinner as those restaurants do not offer typical Swiss food, which I personally think is a bit of a pitty as I'm not going to the Swiss mountains to eat Mexican or Italian food...). The breakfast buffet at the hotel was amazing. They have a huge variety and very good quality. You can also order eggs etc. any style you want, any type of coffee and freshly squeezed juice - all included to the price.
The hotel is clean and has a nice and modern renovation but I think it still fits into the mountain environment as they used a lot of wood and stone. We had two normal rooms (303, 201) and one suite (402). For the normal room, 303 is great as it has a bigger balcony and you can see the Matterhorn. My mum stayed in 201 and she complained that it was a bit noisy during the night as her room was facing the street and guests from the club in our hotel stayed outside smoking and talking for quite a bit.
The hotel also has a small but lovely spa. They have a jacuzzi, steam and sauna.

Room Tip: 303 - big balcony with view of the Matterhorn. Further this room is not directly exposed to the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days and specially loved the interior design of this hotel. The room was neat and tidy with a balacony which I could see a bit of the mountain view. The toilette provided was great. Breakfast was good with reasonable choices, felt very comfortable and warm in the restaurant. Location was excellent, along the main street (around 5 mins walk from the train station)

The only thing that was not quite realistic was perhaps the basin which was so small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review of the hotel for a couple of months now. We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of January with my Wife and 2 year old Daughter.

It almost gets 5 stars but the meal in the mexican restaurant unfortunately took the edge away. If I could give 4.5 I would.

The checkin was slick - picked up from the train station by the hotel taxi and a glass of champagne was given while we were waiting for the admin to be done. The staff were super friendly but still professional.

Location is great and very central to Zermatt - you will read some reviews here that this makes it noisy - our room was probably one of those more exposed as we were on the street side but it was not invasive and I am a light sleeper and often get frustrated in noisy hotels. The noise within the hotel itself is very well managed and we never got the feeling or noise that we were in a building with lots of bars and clubs - the only noise was really from those over the road but the heavy glazed windows seemed to block it all out once shut.

The room was really comfortable with a large bathroom and very comfy beds.

The breakfast was great - cooked or continental.

The restaurants in the hotel:

Pizza Factory - great service and good food and atmosphere. Really enjoyed this meal

Mexican - the restaurant was freezing which made it a rather miserable atmosphere with most the other guests also complaining - food was a good standard

Brown Cow pub - very good and friendly service - it can get busy but it is the main bar for most in Zermatt!

We went out to an awesome fine dining restaurant - Heimberg - expensive but not a ripoff.

We used the spa at the Monte Rosa on the Saturday morning - A lovely Spa and only 2 mins walk from the Hotel Post however found the staff there rude and stuck up in the extreme just because we had a 2 year old girl with us. If they didn't want us there they should'nt have taken our money!!

The Spa in the Hotel Post usually only opens later in the day, however the staff were excellent to us and put the pool on to heat and let us use it early in the day as we were not skiing. A great jacuzzi and nice space.

And one final note - our weekend would not have been so relaxing if we had not had fantastic babysitting from one of the receptionists. Unfortunately I have forgotten her name now but she was excellent and we had no worries leaving our daughter asleep while we enjoyed some meals out.

Overall it was exactly the trip we were looking for - thank you to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Unique Hotel Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unique Hotel Post

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 41, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#49 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Unique Hotel Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerce in a totally new hotel experience: sophisticated, yet homey, Mountain Lodge Style with an international touch – be enchanted!Situated in the center of Zermatt, the Unique Hotel Post unites one individually styled hotel rooms & suites, a stylish SPA area and a diverse range of popular restaurants and bars under one roof.Our unique hotel rooms & suites - equipped in a sophisticated Mountain Lodge Style - combine skilfully regional, natural materials, sandblasted fir wood, centenarian quarry stone walls and straight, modern design to an equally fresh and authentic mountain experience which already starts in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Unique Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Unique Hotel Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.