We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel to your Saves list
Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment you step into this hotel you feel at home. From the drinks on arrival to the warm fire and friendly front desk staff.

The decor is very authentic but not too overdone. The rooms are simple but very clean & neat. Traveling with a teenage boy means food is of the highest priority and he gave a double thumbs up to breakfast. Again just like the hotel itself simple but really well done.

Out of all of our hotels during our Swiss holiday this was definitely a stand out. Great value for money. I would definitely recommend it and have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    33
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
71
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We liked the hotel very much during my 5 nights stay. The hotel is in perfect location where you can simply walk to most of the best restaurants and shops as Zermatt is eco car-free little village. Skibus stop is 1 minute walk after I picked up my gear from the ski room provided by the hotel and just located down besides the hotel by the riverside. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in cozy Swiss alpine style with lovely fireplace in the living-room. Everywhere is well-maintained and clean. Staff is friendly, helpful and well communicated . I even bought skipasses at the reception in order to avoid long line-up at ticket office. You will be so happy when you come back from all day ski in the afternoon and see free refreshments, tea and snacks in the lobby provided by the hotel everyday. The room is clean and tidy. I really enjoyed everyday breakfast. Please share more time in the morning in the breakfast room and enjoy the delicious local cheese, quality food and great deli.

Room Tip: First priority is to choose rooms facing Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Lots of snow making the sort of winter wonderland Aussies can only dream about. The timber decor is incredible. Unfortunately I was unwell and confined to bed for part of my visit. Bummer!! But it gives me the opportunity to say said bed was very cosy, and the crinkly European doona totally comforting. Breakfast was delightful when I finally emerged from my cave, as was the short walk into the village. The taxi drivers at the station square are an endless (free) entertainment.

If you're on a reduced timetable, as I ended up:

Gornergrat by cogwheel railway is a must. Hop off at Riffelberg for a coffee at the cafeteria if the summit is snowed in. Go the whole hog if you're ski-ing back down. You can also admire the ski-ing expertise as people of all ages and sizes zoom past the panorama windows. There's hope for me yet. Also, don't miss the Matterhorn Museum. Check their website for opening hours.

There are plenty of powerpoints for overnight battery charging. My room was thumbnail #6 of the professional photos. The view was over the cemetery, which bothered other reviewers. I liked it. The rear rooms face the Matterhorn.

Room Tip: Rooms onto Kirchstrasse look over the cemetery, so if you spook easily, go for the other side and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Three nights at the Allalin and would recommend this excellent hotel without hesitation. Beautifully clean throughout and our rooms looked out on the Matterhorn itself. Who could ask for more?
Lovely touches included transfers to and from the station (although there was a slight delay picking us up), welcome drink and free water and mints for the journey home. Breakfast was usual continental fare but very tasty.
You couldnt fault the staff - all were very friendly and attentive. The location was perfect - five minutes walk to the main street and within walking distance to the main rail and cable car stations. We were given maps of both the town and the ski areas to help us decide what we wanted to do.
I've read some mixed reviews about the Allalin; we definitely fall into the 'superb hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone' category.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-floor room at the back of the hotel with wonderful views of the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I a very excellent hotel. we had a grt stay with great comfort there. room service and attire is excellent. resturants and items of dishes are excellent. Cleanliness is excellent. I wish everyone will enjoy the hotel with much comfort.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights at the Allalin Hotel, regretablly you do not get good value for your money, the room/bathroom was far to small, the breakfast choice was very limited and the Spa's hour's were very limited which they do not tell you about before you book. I have stayed in other hotels in Zematt and they were far better

B&G

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The lovely staff couldn't do enough for us when we arrived at the hotel. We were a little early however because it was such a lovely day we wanted to go hiking. Nothing was any problem for them. We went up to our room around 3.00pm and it was beautiful with a view over the cemetery. We had two rooms as we were travelling with our twin boys. Breakfast the next day was lovely. We just stayed overnight as we were connecting to the Glacier Express. The transfers to and from the railway is 5 francs each, very worthwhile in winter. During summer you could easily walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel

Address: Kirchstrasse 40, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#45 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#52 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YOUR HOLIDAY HOME will enchant you with its stunningly beautiful, unique wood carvings that imbue the whole home with a matchless touch and outstanding style, and give us the pleasure of being able to offer you a special atmosphere for you to live in. So much charm and a matchless ambience await you in the individual rooms. Come and feel at home in the Zermatt Mountains, in a cosy and stylish setting! Relax with the healthiest off sleeps, a splendid breakfast buffet and let time drift by as you sip your afternoon drink in comfort and enjoy and relax in our new ALPINE SPA WELLNESS & SILENCE until the evening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allalin Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allalin Swiss Alpine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.