We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly, multilingual staff, amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parnass

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Parnass to your Saves list
Hotel Parnass
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, friendly, multilingual staff, amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We received a warm welcome. The room was cosy but adequate with views of the mountain range. (Not the Matterhorn) with the amazing view of the Matterhorn from the garden and restaurant we really didn't feel like we missed anything. We went half board as we are vegan and they served superb 4/5 course meals so be prepared to over eat. We asked for small portions but the chef loves food and so was still over feeding us. Not that we complained. It was definitely worth the extra cost compared to eating out. They were very accommodating with any suggestions we made for meals. We will most certainly visit again.

Room Tip: We chose the standard double with mountain view at the side of the hotel which was very good so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    54
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
87
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Still one of our favorites. Convenient location, yet away from the crowds. The personal service and delicious 5 course half board make it a real find. Rooms are simple, but comfortable and the Matterhorn views are perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hotel Parnass was extremely comfortable and clean. I love the fact that the view was superb - the balcony of room faces the matterhorn - what more can we ask for? :) However, there is definitely a price to pay for this. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're on a budget, but if you're willing to pay, this place is definitely worth it. The location is great - walking distance to the train station, to the supermarket, and the tram up gornegrat and sunnega. I love how small zermatt is, such that it's almost walking distance to anywhere. The owner of this hotel is very friendly - she tries her best to speak english to us and I appreciate it. The view of the Matterhorn from the breakfast room was great as well. The bathrooms are clean, and I guess I was lucky when i was there in June 2013 because they just finished renovations. Zermatt was the first stop of my europe trip and this wonderful hotel made my holidays a great start!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at $200 SWF per night and it was worth it. We had very relaxing sleep with no noise and we had a full view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast is included and the staff was friendly. Shuttle to and from train stations is $5 FR per person but not required because it is a short walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights. One of our rooms was the new apartment which had two bedrooms, a large, long bathroom, entry hallway, living/dining room with dining table and small kitchen. The apartment was new and clean, great for a family. The appliances were all brand new and there is plenty of closet space in all of the rooms. Supermarket not far away for food and drinks since everything in Zermatt is expensive. Beds were comfortable and bedroom windows had rolling shudders (rolladen) to keep rooms dark if you desire. The owner and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The apartment also has two balconies, one on the side and one on the front of the hotel. Both balconies have gorgeous views of the Matterhorn. I would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend Hotel Parnass, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Our family had a very comfortable stay for 1 night. Breakfast was adequate and we had a personalized service by a very friendly owner who made sure we had everything we needed. Location was great, about 5-10 min slow walk from the banhof. Hotel rate is pricey but so is everywhere else in Swiss. Would definitely stay again on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights. When we arrived at the station of Zermatt, it was around 11:00. I called from the panel in the station, and asked to pick us up. I know it's a bit early to check in but the receptionist (the daughter of the owner) welcomed me and asked to give them 5 minutes. Precise 5 minutes later an electric van came to the station. Good first impression! The room was cozy and had sufficient space and, on top of that, had a great view of Matterhorn. I and my wife enjoyed hiking as well as the nice three-night dinners. The location is very convenient to the station and rope-ways. We fully enjoyed morning Matterhorn from the terrace of the room as we set the morning alarm at 6:00am. That was just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Room with Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Parnass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parnass

Address: Vispastrasse 4 | Postfach 189, Zermatt CH-3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#10 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Parnass 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel in Zermatt's best location. Delicious food and fine hospitality, personal and friendly. Non smoking dining room in cherry wood, cozy lounge with fire place. Stunning MATTTERHORN VIEW from all balcony rooms and garden. Excellent value. The place for restful relaxation for tomorrow's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Parnass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parnass Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parnass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.