We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very warm and clean hotel with great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Europe Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Europe Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Very warm and clean hotel with great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just left Zermatt few days ago. Had a wonderful stayed in this hotel we had a room with the Matterhorn view. The hotel and the room is very clean, shower is good with spa amenities. Definitely gonna return to come back to zermatt and stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
151
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We got a good price for this room on line, and stayed two nights. The room was very nice and clean, and the bed was the best we had in Switzerland......It was really comfortable. Breakfast comes with the price of the room, and it was wonderful. Smoked salmon and fresh yogurt, with a wonderful variety of meats, cheeses and fresh breads & cereals. They made fresh orange juice and eggs, too. Dinner was a little pricy, but worth it. Absolutely excellent lamb with dessert.....I was not too hungry, so they allowed me to have two of the three course meal, and charged me accordingly. The staff was terrific. Super nice and helpful. We had booked a massage in advance, and had it consecutively, as there was only one massage therapist. She was OK; I've had better.....It was relaxing, but for my tastes, it could have been much deeper, or therapeutic. (I asked her, repeatedly, but guess that was her max...?) Anyway, I would highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I agree with all of the positive comments from the other reviewers. We spent 4 nights at this hotel, hiking during the day, coming back to the spa between 4 & 6 and then going to dinner (the half board included in our package). The first night's meal included Creamy White Onion Soup, Pesto Ravioli, Salad Buffet, Rabbit Roulade with Sweet Corn Puree and Tarragon Foam, Apricot Compote with Apricot Crumble Cake & Vanilla Ice Cream! Each meal was superb and designed to wow. The Duck Breast on the second night was perfectly prepared and we did not that we could love duck! We felt so spoiled there--hiking around the Matterhorn, and then hitting the spa--gorgeous and new--going from the state of the art hot tub to the bio-sauna to the meditation room and then going to dinner without the stress of finding a restaurant or even having to pick our food--we just waited to be surprised. Of course they would ask if the menu looked fine each night and of course it did. We also found the staff to be very friendly--the owner's daughter checked in on us at dinner two nights and visited with us about our day, making suggestions for activities and so forth. We were truly sad to leave and hope to return someday. .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Matterhorn, or the corner room with a view of the Matterhorn and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent two nights at the Hotel Europe during the last week of August 2013. The hotel is a fairly short walk from the railroad station, but they also offer a complimentary shuttle service between the hotel and the station. Upon arrival at the Zermatt train station if you would like a pick up it can be arranged at the tourist information office in the train station. How can you say anything bad about a hotel where you wake up and from your bed you see the Matterhorn against a perfectly blue sky. Regardless of the view I can't think of a thing I didn't like about the Hotel Europe. The hotel is situated a little ways off the main street of Zermatt. The location is very quiet while being easily accessible to all that Zermatt has to offer. The hotel throughout has a clean modern look. Our room was large by European standards with a balcony and a $million dollar view of the Matterhorn. The beds and bed linens are first rate and there is evening turn down service with a chocolate on the pillow. The bathroom was spacious with a combination tub/shower and ample space to tuck away all of your toiletries. The breakfast buffet which was included in our rate has a combination of American and European favorites. The also have a cook top on which you may cook you own eggs or omelets or they will do it for you. In the evening the bar area is a general gathering place and a conversation with Eva the bar tender can be the source of good information about Zermatt. The restaurant is outstanding, but pricey even by Zermatt standards. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Europe and certainly would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a room with a Matterhorn view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Lovely small hotel with new and spacious rooms and state-of-the art bathrooms. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Make sure to take your meals here---outstanding and creative dinners and an excellent value given the generally high prices of restaurants in Zermatt. Take advantage of the relaxing and beautiful small spa here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Zermatt is very nice place to stay and Europe hotel just suits Zermatt in all ways. Polite and smily people, quiet location, clean, tasty food. Much better service than in 5 star hotels in France and Italy, which we tried.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Europe Hotel and Spa is a fantastic place to enjoy Zermatt and its beautiful surroundings.
The staff is friendly, the rooms are very well designed, the breakfast is super, the lobby bar has a perfect ambiance to relax in the evening and the restaurant has a great dinner menu which changes every evening!
Somehow it feels like a home. Very warm, sweet and pleasant. Definitely would recommend Europe Hotel and Spa for everyone! Perfect choice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel And Spa
Europe Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europe Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.