We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming & child friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Europe Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Europe Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, welcoming & child friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Europe for over a week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay. A highlight was the warm and welcoming nature of all the staff, who went out of their way to make our children feel right at home. The beds are comfy, the views of the Matterhorn as mesmerising as everyone says and we really enjoyed the delicious food, particularly the soups. Thank you to Familie Julen, we hope to return next winter.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
148
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Don’t let the corny name fool you. Excellent beautiful hotel. Perfect mix of old and new. They kept the old building and added a new one. Integrating them nicely. A difficult task, executed well.

High class spa with large bubble pool, three different saunas, relax room, massage treatments etc. etc. The spa sections is nicely styled with wooded insertions like björk-wood. We spent our afternoons here, after ending the skiing a bit early. So relaxing we often fell asleep down there. Relaxing to say the least.

It is in the details you know this hotel is good. Sparkling wine for self-service at the breakfast, make your own omelet by the old stove, perfectly made coffee, fresh flowers and daily weather report at every table, thought-through re-occurring design of bar and common areas, same key for the room as for the locker in the ski-room, Toblerone bar at the pillow every night, and the list goes on and on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The stay was good overall, although I found it on the expensive side for what it was. The Spa, breakfast and dinner and cozy common areas saved its 4 stars, as they are excellent. Pluses: Immaculately clean Very friendly staff Super cozy, mountain chic common areas Fun bar with lots of options. Spa was new and modern and very very nice. View: from my bed (lying down) i could see the Matterhorn - what a treat!!!Breakfast was awesome and had everything you could think of! Cooking your own egg was kind of fun too. The breads were fantastic. Dinner options looked excellent (we didn't dine in the hotel unfortunately). Negatives: For as great as the common areas and Spa/wellness area were, our ROOM was stuck in a typicaly 1980's Swiss alpine village time warp...Yes, it was immaculate, but it was tired and dowdy. The view to the Matterhorn saved it...and its 4 stars. The rest of the hotel was great, but they need to speed up the renovation. It seems as though they have built a whole new wing onto the old traditional part. The weird thing (although I'm nto quite sure) is that it appears that the best views to the Matterhorn are in the older "traditional" rooms, as the new part is behind the traditional part so I can't imagien they have the same views. As weird as it sounds, the hotel is very nice and the service is very friendly and warm, so you can't go wrong here...but do try and skip the "traditional" rooms...and hopefully the views are as good from the new side. And the beds were super annoying: made up of two twin beds shoved together...I basically slept in the crack both nights...

Room Tip: Avoid the traditional rooms if you can...time warp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Zermatt counts hundred of different hotels and guesthouses. As an "habitué" of the place (this was my 6th visit to Zermatt in the last 12 months), I have to say that the Europe Hotel is the best place I've been to so far. Modern and cozy, the hotel is nicely run and gives a welcoming feeling of warmth. The spa is definitely the hotel's forte, with two spacious saunas, an hammam and a nice indoor pool. Staff is friendly and efficient. Worth the price, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a week at Europe hotel for new year 2013 and it turns out to be our best ski holiday ever!

Arrival, check-in
The owner picked us up at the station with the hotel electrical car for a seamless transfer. Very helpful and efficient staff who told us everything we should know about the property in a nutshell.

Room
We had a design room in the new wing, which turns out to be perfect. Very tasteful decoration, mixing the comfort and modernity of new materials with the cosiness of wood and traditional Swiss chalet 'must have'. Great bathroom, very modern, with both shower and bath which makes a real difference after a day out skiing.

Half-board plan
Great breakfast, a lot of choice in order to stay energised for a full day out. Buffet style with super friendly and helpful staff who will help you and accommodate any special request.
Dinner is even more surprising, and you will discover every evening the outstanding skills of the chef. Soup, starter, salad buffet, main course and dessert are really high quality and a lovely gastronomy experience, mixing local products with an Asian twist from time to time.

Ski
c.3-4 minute walk to the closest bus stop that drives you to matterhorn express, train station (gornergrat) or sunegga paradise. Otherwise 10 to 15 minute walk to any of the 3 lifts if you dislike ski buses. Convenient storage facility to leave your skis overnight, unless you prefer to use lockers at the bottom of the lift for hands-free walk the next day.

Management
Discreet and attentive management team, present at every dinner and making sure regularly that everything runs smoothly and efficiently all the time. Very friendly owners, who are managing the team perfectly and make your stay really enjoyable, always available to give you the right advice.

Spa
Spotless, very clean and modern. Although we were travelling in high season with the hotel full, size was appropriate so that it did not feel overcrowded.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 4 days there for mini ski holiday. Staff is very helpful and kind. The owners are everywhere making sure things run smoothly - and they do.

The entire new addition including spa is simply spectacular. Shame that the spa closes at 8pm.

Breakfast buffets are really decadent. We didn't take the demi-pension this time as we wanted to try different restaurants in the village. But did eat once dinner at the hotel, where we concluded that the next time we will definitely be taking the demi-pension! The food and presentation were that good!

Ski lockers with mitt and boot dryer are very appreciated. The ski bus passes by - a very short and manageable walk.

Room Tip: Do splurge and get a room with a view - simply magical! The demi-pension is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here for our honeymoon, a delayed honeymoon about 6 months after our wedding. This is truly a great luxury hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and accommodating. They're there to answer any question you have regarding the hotel or the town in general. You'll frequently see the owner around the hotel, he is extremely friendly and loves to chat with the clients. On a couple lazy nights we'd head down to the bar for a drink and talk with the bartender, who was good company. So very high praise for the staff. Breakfasts are very good. A great spread of dried meats, dairy, breads, grains, and fruits. They have do-it-yourself omelette and hard boiled egg stations and a fresh squeeze orange juice machine. Housekeeping comes by twice a day, usually while we were at breakfast then when we were out for dinner for the turn down service. We were there to ski, and while it was further from the lifts compared to other hotels, it didn't bother us at all. The ski bus is a short walk that takes you to all the lifts. The hotel has very nice ski lockers which include heaters to dry out your boots. Our room, with a view of the Matterhorn and deck (truly wonderful, though in the winter you'll only be out on the deck a short time!) was spacious enough for us for a 1-week stay, and the bathroom is very nice and large as well. We actually never used the spa, we were always out skiing, hiking, or generally wandering around the town or Zermatt! In general I'd highly recommend this hotel, if nothing else but for the amazing service you'll receive from the staff!

Room Tip: If it's affordable for you, having a view of the Matterhorn when you wake up or in the evening i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel And Spa
Europe Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europe Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.