We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, beautiful Spa and common areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Europe Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Europe Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Geneva
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, beautiful Spa and common areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The stay was good overall, although I found it on the expensive side for what it was. The Spa, breakfast and dinner and cozy common areas saved its 4 stars, as they are excellent. Pluses: Immaculately clean Very friendly staff Super cozy, mountain chic common areas Fun bar with lots of options. Spa was new and modern and very very nice. View: from my bed (lying down) i could see the Matterhorn - what a treat!!!Breakfast was awesome and had everything you could think of! Cooking your own egg was kind of fun too. The breads were fantastic. Dinner options looked excellent (we didn't dine in the hotel unfortunately). Negatives: For as great as the common areas and Spa/wellness area were, our ROOM was stuck in a typicaly 1980's Swiss alpine village time warp...Yes, it was immaculate, but it was tired and dowdy. The view to the Matterhorn saved it...and its 4 stars. The rest of the hotel was great, but they need to speed up the renovation. It seems as though they have built a whole new wing onto the old traditional part. The weird thing (although I'm nto quite sure) is that it appears that the best views to the Matterhorn are in the older "traditional" rooms, as the new part is behind the traditional part so I can't imagien they have the same views. As weird as it sounds, the hotel is very nice and the service is very friendly and warm, so you can't go wrong here...but do try and skip the "traditional" rooms...and hopefully the views are as good from the new side. And the beds were super annoying: made up of two twin beds shoved together...I basically slept in the crack both nights...

Room Tip: Avoid the traditional rooms if you can...time warp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    40
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
62
151
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Zermatt counts hundred of different hotels and guesthouses. As an "habitué" of the place (this was my 6th visit to Zermatt in the last 12 months), I have to say that the Europe Hotel is the best place I've been to so far. Modern and cozy, the hotel is nicely run and gives a welcoming feeling of warmth. The spa is definitely the hotel's forte, with two spacious saunas, an hammam and a nice indoor pool. Staff is friendly and efficient. Worth the price, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent a week at Europe hotel for new year 2013 and it turns out to be our best ski holiday ever!

Arrival, check-in
The owner picked us up at the station with the hotel electrical car for a seamless transfer. Very helpful and efficient staff who told us everything we should know about the property in a nutshell.

Room
We had a design room in the new wing, which turns out to be perfect. Very tasteful decoration, mixing the comfort and modernity of new materials with the cosiness of wood and traditional Swiss chalet 'must have'. Great bathroom, very modern, with both shower and bath which makes a real difference after a day out skiing.

Half-board plan
Great breakfast, a lot of choice in order to stay energised for a full day out. Buffet style with super friendly and helpful staff who will help you and accommodate any special request.
Dinner is even more surprising, and you will discover every evening the outstanding skills of the chef. Soup, starter, salad buffet, main course and dessert are really high quality and a lovely gastronomy experience, mixing local products with an Asian twist from time to time.

Ski
c.3-4 minute walk to the closest bus stop that drives you to matterhorn express, train station (gornergrat) or sunegga paradise. Otherwise 10 to 15 minute walk to any of the 3 lifts if you dislike ski buses. Convenient storage facility to leave your skis overnight, unless you prefer to use lockers at the bottom of the lift for hands-free walk the next day.

Management
Discreet and attentive management team, present at every dinner and making sure regularly that everything runs smoothly and efficiently all the time. Very friendly owners, who are managing the team perfectly and make your stay really enjoyable, always available to give you the right advice.

Spa
Spotless, very clean and modern. Although we were travelling in high season with the hotel full, size was appropriate so that it did not feel overcrowded.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 4 days there for mini ski holiday. Staff is very helpful and kind. The owners are everywhere making sure things run smoothly - and they do.

The entire new addition including spa is simply spectacular. Shame that the spa closes at 8pm.

Breakfast buffets are really decadent. We didn't take the demi-pension this time as we wanted to try different restaurants in the village. But did eat once dinner at the hotel, where we concluded that the next time we will definitely be taking the demi-pension! The food and presentation were that good!

Ski lockers with mitt and boot dryer are very appreciated. The ski bus passes by - a very short and manageable walk.

Room Tip: Do splurge and get a room with a view - simply magical! The demi-pension is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here for our honeymoon, a delayed honeymoon about 6 months after our wedding. This is truly a great luxury hotel. The staff are all extremely friendly and accommodating. They're there to answer any question you have regarding the hotel or the town in general. You'll frequently see the owner around the hotel, he is extremely friendly and loves to chat with the clients. On a couple lazy nights we'd head down to the bar for a drink and talk with the bartender, who was good company. So very high praise for the staff. Breakfasts are very good. A great spread of dried meats, dairy, breads, grains, and fruits. They have do-it-yourself omelette and hard boiled egg stations and a fresh squeeze orange juice machine. Housekeeping comes by twice a day, usually while we were at breakfast then when we were out for dinner for the turn down service. We were there to ski, and while it was further from the lifts compared to other hotels, it didn't bother us at all. The ski bus is a short walk that takes you to all the lifts. The hotel has very nice ski lockers which include heaters to dry out your boots. Our room, with a view of the Matterhorn and deck (truly wonderful, though in the winter you'll only be out on the deck a short time!) was spacious enough for us for a 1-week stay, and the bathroom is very nice and large as well. We actually never used the spa, we were always out skiing, hiking, or generally wandering around the town or Zermatt! In general I'd highly recommend this hotel, if nothing else but for the amazing service you'll receive from the staff!

Room Tip: If it's affordable for you, having a view of the Matterhorn when you wake up or in the evening i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Whilst hotel dining rooms are not my first choice to eat ''a la carte, the restaurant at the Europe is a step above the norm. Beautifully decorated and with an ambiance more usually associated with top flight restaurants. We have eaten in most of the restaurants in Zermatt over the past 20 years and this place rates in the top ten. Beautifully presented ,innovative and superbly cooked we were delighted with our experience and at a cost of less than 50 Sfr per person for 3 courses plus appetizer, value for money was unbeatable. We have eaten in places this week costing 3 to 4 times the cost of dinner at the Europe and been bitterly disappointed with the quality of the cooking, located slightly off the center but as they say in the Michelin well worth a detour!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genève
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent one week in this hotel with our kids aged 7 and 9 for a family week of ski. This is the 3rd time we are coming in Zermatt in Winter and the last 2 years we booked in an other hotel (very nice too) but we feel that it was time to see something else. We then started to look and we finally booked the Europe Hotel and Spa as it seems that is matches what we love in hotel: design and tradition, beautiful room, good location efficient management and the ability to accommodate kids. We were not disappointed at all as the hotel has it all ! First the location, close to the heart of Zermatt, not far away from a ski shuttle but very quiet as not being directly on the street. And we were lucky this year as we could come back directly by ski to the hotel… but it may not be possible to do it every year as there was a bunch of snow this time. Then the room (we were in the newly part of the hotel, there is one completely new part and an “old” one where rooms are more traditional but with the same level of comfort): just as we wanted, large, with beautiful material and design decoration but being very traditional and practical in the same time, a very nice bathroom with tub and shower, 2 sinks and a large balcony over a very quiet neighbourhood of Zermatt (see picture). The room is very well designed and could easily accommodate the 4 of us. The restaurant: we were on half-board and the menus were very original and on the higher side of what you can expect from an half-board formula, service was very professional and kind: our 7 year old kid had his birthday during the stay and they managed to do something special for the breakfast and the dinner, that was much appreciated. I have to say that they were many kids in the hotel and that ours are quiet when they sit together with us on table but become more excited when they start playing with other kids… and that was often the case as all the kids were playing together, which is of course perfect and nice even if it generates some noise… The management was very comprehensive and it makes us feel comfortable. The breakfast buffet was gorgeous too, with lot of fresh local products, you can even do your own orange juice. Then the spa: there is no swimming pool but a very big jacuzzi that looks like a small pool in fact. The dark blue ambiance is perfect and makes it the perfect place to relax after a day of ski. There is also a separate sauna/hammam zone and a quiet room to rest, installations are as the rest superb and you can also receive spa treatments. The Jacuzzi/pool space is for me one of the top advantage of the hotel, you can get there directly from the newly part of the building using the lift and it is the perfect place for the kids, they really loved it as much as us ! There is also a beautiful bar that connects the old and new part, which is intelligently built. Fruit tart and tee are complementary in the afternoon. Finally, ski local is good, with personal locker to put your ski material. Reception is very professional and people are nice and available. At the end, minor point is that there could have been a “play room” dedicated for the kids, when they could freely go after dinner and be together to play, ensuring a little bit more quiet in the restaurant (this is of course a “nice to have” but of course not something that you often find in hotel).
Las but not least, the family owners are really present, going to each table at nigh and chatting with clients, you can then really feel that the hotel is actively managed and that certainly explains why we felt so good during our entire stay. As a proof of the above, we already booked a room for next year winter holiday !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel And Spa
Europe Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europe Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.