We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel, very well managed, with perfect spa and rooms !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Europe Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Europe Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Europe Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Genève
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel, very well managed, with perfect spa and rooms !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent one week in this hotel with our kids aged 7 and 9 for a family week of ski. This is the 3rd time we are coming in Zermatt in Winter and the last 2 years we booked in an other hotel (very nice too) but we feel that it was time to see something else. We then started to look and we finally booked the Europe Hotel and Spa as it seems that is matches what we love in hotel: design and tradition, beautiful room, good location efficient management and the ability to accommodate kids. We were not disappointed at all as the hotel has it all ! First the location, close to the heart of Zermatt, not far away from a ski shuttle but very quiet as not being directly on the street. And we were lucky this year as we could come back directly by ski to the hotel… but it may not be possible to do it every year as there was a bunch of snow this time. Then the room (we were in the newly part of the hotel, there is one completely new part and an “old” one where rooms are more traditional but with the same level of comfort): just as we wanted, large, with beautiful material and design decoration but being very traditional and practical in the same time, a very nice bathroom with tub and shower, 2 sinks and a large balcony over a very quiet neighbourhood of Zermatt (see picture). The room is very well designed and could easily accommodate the 4 of us. The restaurant: we were on half-board and the menus were very original and on the higher side of what you can expect from an half-board formula, service was very professional and kind: our 7 year old kid had his birthday during the stay and they managed to do something special for the breakfast and the dinner, that was much appreciated. I have to say that they were many kids in the hotel and that ours are quiet when they sit together with us on table but become more excited when they start playing with other kids… and that was often the case as all the kids were playing together, which is of course perfect and nice even if it generates some noise… The management was very comprehensive and it makes us feel comfortable. The breakfast buffet was gorgeous too, with lot of fresh local products, you can even do your own orange juice. Then the spa: there is no swimming pool but a very big jacuzzi that looks like a small pool in fact. The dark blue ambiance is perfect and makes it the perfect place to relax after a day of ski. There is also a separate sauna/hammam zone and a quiet room to rest, installations are as the rest superb and you can also receive spa treatments. The Jacuzzi/pool space is for me one of the top advantage of the hotel, you can get there directly from the newly part of the building using the lift and it is the perfect place for the kids, they really loved it as much as us ! There is also a beautiful bar that connects the old and new part, which is intelligently built. Fruit tart and tee are complementary in the afternoon. Finally, ski local is good, with personal locker to put your ski material. Reception is very professional and people are nice and available. At the end, minor point is that there could have been a “play room” dedicated for the kids, when they could freely go after dinner and be together to play, ensuring a little bit more quiet in the restaurant (this is of course a “nice to have” but of course not something that you often find in hotel).
Las but not least, the family owners are really present, going to each table at nigh and chatting with clients, you can then really feel that the hotel is actively managed and that certainly explains why we felt so good during our entire stay. As a proof of the above, we already booked a room for next year winter holiday !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    44
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
173
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Europe hotel was brilliant. The rooms are lovely. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The management are friendly and approachable. We went ski-ing with our 3 year old daughter, every evening the hotel had colouring pencils and drawing pictures for her at dinner. They assisted us where ever they could in regards to transfer to ski school in the mornings and free use of baby monitors. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a brilliant holiday and the Europe hotel was a big contributing factor. Thank you.

Room Tip: If you want the modern rooms request when booking as there are two parts to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We loved the Hotel Europe and would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel or return for a Summer holiday. We spent a long time deciding on a Hotel in Zermatt and we were so pleased with our choice. The Hotel is spotless,well run with superb service and attention to detail. The owners have really made a great effort to make the Hotel cosy and inviting but chic at the same time. The food was outstanding and we all looked forward to the amazing 5 course Suppers every evening. Our children aged 13 and 12 loved their huge bedroom and every evening enjoyed the jacuzzi and playing cards in the lovely snug with a wonderful log burning stove before Dinner.
I have not stopped talking about this Hotel and really think it is one of te nicest Hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We booked 2 rooms (corner of traditional part of Hotel,1 with matterhorn view) they were not interco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were late in booking our Christmas holidays and took a chance by searching online, we were not even familiar with Zermatt! We definately lucked out with this great hotel, so much so that we will be returning next year. It is not easy finding a hotel that will cater for adults and the children, but Europe Hotel and Spa catered to our every requirements.

Room Tip: Any part of the hotel the new or old are nice. The new ones have no views to the Matterhorn and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very comfortable size of facilities and very good feeling Bar space and quite convenient location for any transportation and high quality cuisine of hotel restaurant, and especially very kind services by all staffs.

Room Tip: Definitely select view side towards Matterhorn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent an awesome two nights here. Room was incredibly spacious with a balcony overlooking the matterhorn and another window with an amazing view as well. Staff could not have been friendlier and even took the time to give us a tour and walk us to the room to make sure everything was ok. A great selection for breakfast and it is worth eating dinner at least one night you are there . What makes this hotel stand out is the spa - incredibly relaxing especially after coming in from below freezing temps. Look forward to coming back here one day. Spent 3 weeks travelling through Europe and this was the best hotel by far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved every single thing about this place! Rooms are perfect for families and the beds are super confortable. Location is very good and food was outstanding. Last but not least the service was beyond expectations. Will definitively be back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Europe Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Hotel & Spa

Address: Riedstrasse 18, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#12 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Europe Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Europe Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Hotel Zermatt
Europe Hotel And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europe Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.