We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, good service, good food, great spa, a bit pricy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alpenhof Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alpenhof Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matterstrasse 43, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 118 hotels in Zermatt
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good location, good service, good food, great spa, a bit pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

we stayed here in 2007 and again in 2013.

rooms are small. good for 2 people. we had 3 adults. last time we rented 2 rooms. this time we negotiated 3 in 1 room. one person slept on couch. saved us some money, but it's tight for 3.

we added breakfast and dinner for 5 nights but decided to cancel for last 2 nights. food is very good and a great value, but we needed a change of scenery. if you don't mind eating same place every day, get the breakfast and dinner. breakfast is same choices every day. scrambled and hard boiled egg, but no omelet, as well as usual cold cuts, juice, fruits, cereal etc. dinner varies every night. Friday night's dessert spread was very impressive, and choices were more limited other nights, but still good.

We paid $35/person for breakfast and dinner. great value for gourmet meals with soup, salad, appetizer, dinner, and dessert. wine is extra by glass or bottle. zermatt is expensive with steak costing over $60 per plate. generally food is very good. our only complaint was that soup although different every night, was basically the same rich buttery broth with different flavors added on each night. service is excellent. room is made every day and you a get a few pieces of fresh fruits each day. we also got a free bottle of wine on last night there.

hotel is about 10-15 min walk from train station, but the shuttle service can pick you up and drop you off for about 6 francs per person i think. not bad. you keep skis in heated locker.

hotel is 3 min walk from ski shop and 5 min walk to tram that takes you up to mountain, or a shuttle that takes you to gondola that will take you towards italian side.
the spa is large with pool, sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and 2 relaxation rooms. outdoor jacuzzi is not warm enough. steam room is also not very hot. sauna is too hot. pool is good. there is also massage available for a fee, a bit too expensive compared to USA, more than double price.

nice cozy piano bar with a very good piano player / singer that sings in multiple languages, but sounded the best to me in Italian, which i don't speak.

owners are friendly and always there. they speak multiple languages including English, French, German, and probably Italian. Andrea a Bar tender spoke Spanish too.

free wifi was fast enough for us to watch a movie online :)

room furnishing is too gaudy and psychedellic combined. huge ugly wall mounted light fixtures in rooms and restaurant :)

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony. ours didn't. may be ask for one with balcony if not much more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
61
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in early January in a large room with balcony (Matterhorn view from balcony in one direction, street view in the other direction.) The room was big and comfortable but would have seemed even more spacious without the bath in the middle of it. There is a pull-down screen between the bed and the bath. We liked the free wi-fi in the room and the comfy sofa and complimentary fruit every evening. The bed was large and comfortable though the pillows were too soft. The room was quiet at night despite having a view of the street. Staff were helpful and courteous at all times.

Food was really good, with one or two exceptions where the main course was rather ordinary, but generally we enjoyed everything and there's plenty of choice. Some dishes could do with a better translation into English - we came across a few un-translated items and had to ask what they were.

Things we liked: lounge bar with pianist and open fire; pool and hot tub (no naked people while we were there). location - 2 mins walk from Sunegga lift station, 5 mins to main street.

Hotel is popular with families during school holiday weeks (it was a Russian holiday week while we were there) but there's plenty of space in the public areas and it was never too noisy. We would definitely stay again, though we'd choose a different room next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Matterhorn view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, washington
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We just spent a week at this family run hotel. The location to the lifts could not be much better. The owners and staff were very helpful from the moment we walked in the door. They helps us with lift tickets, guides and dinner reservations. The breakfast offered a good selection of breads, fresh juice and assorted meats.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the 5 course meal was top. The rooms are a little crazy, our friends room had a bath tub in the middle of the room and since they were on the first floor had street noise at night.
We had a suite on the 4th floor and enjoyed the size and 2 beautiful bathrooms.
The spa offered great massages and a beautiful large indoor pool. Free WIFi was a plus for keeping in touch back home.
My husband took full advantage of the beautiful smoking room off the bar to enjoy a cigar after a long day on the amazing mountain.
The ski lockers in the basement were very cramped and needed a good cleaning but our boots were always warm in the morning. Climbing up the steep outside stairs was not a good way to start or end a day of skiing.

We would stay with the Alpenhof again!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great hotel, nice location (2 minutes walk to sunegga lift) and very, very friendly staff. Spa was very nice as well.

Restaurant was so good in both service and the quality of food that I didn't even want to eat out.

Definetely a great place to stay at Zermatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Charming decor, spaciuos rooms, comfortable beds, fine complimentary toiletries, elegant dining room, excellent breakfast, pleasant and attentive staff, beautiful views of the Matterhorn, very clean, nice spas indoors and outdoors, complimentary transportation from the train station. I would highly recommend this hotel, it was not lacking anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for a week and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The restaurant is great and the staff very friendly and attentive. Food is excellent with lots pf choice from the buffet breakfast, dinner is brilliant also, great choice,well presented and very tasty indeed. This hotel has great staff, always willing to help and with a smile. Although we didn't use the spa or pool facilities we had a look and they are excellent. Bedrooms are roomy, cosy and clean although perhaps a little quirky for my taste. The location is spot on, close to the lifts and town centre etc although we had a room on the front and with the raging river outside and below we had to sleep ( on very hot sticky nights) with the balcony door and windows closed. This hotel has just about everything you need for a good holiday, attentive and friendly staff, great food, good facilities and nice clean and spacey bedrooms. If we were to visit Zermatt again we would certainly consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We sadly stayed for one night. We had a nice and cosy room with a view of a a very shy Matterhorn (it didn't show its tip just for a moment!), so we'll have to come back for sure.
The bedroom was very comfortable and nicely done. The bed is a king size, so just perfect. We enjoyed the bathtub in the middle of the room.
The staff is friendly and polite. Very helpful, too.
We were a bit disappointed of the spa as it needed some maintenance work: some saunas didn't work properly. The inside swimming pool is very elegant. We didn't enjoy the outdoor jacuzzi as it was full (a bit small).

Room Tip: 202 with a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Hotel

Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Zermatt
Address: Matterstrasse 43, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#64 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alpenhof Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet-style Hotel with modern facilities, restaurant and bar; situated near the train station; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alpenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpenhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.