We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number one experience in Zermatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Matterhorn Glacier Paradise
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 81 00
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 24 attractions in Zermatt
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
bangkok
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Number one experience in Zermatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is simply the best and most important experience one can have in Zermatt. Pray that you have good weather as otherwise the breathtaking views are hidden among the clouds. The infrastructure is mind boggling, offering a truly safe and comfortable ride up to 4000 meters. We left our mobile phone in one of the cabins and only noticed it after the cabin had left the station. No problem - the staff was more than helpful and our phone returned within 12 minutes in one of the cabins.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    64
    26
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top of the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

There are at least three things that someone could be reviewing here - the trip up, the destination, or the slopes going down. We weren't skiing, just looking to get up up up into the Alps. We were not disappointed. Without discounts, some folks seem to get sticker shock, but 100 ChF round trip to Keine Matterhorn, given what it must have cost to build such a lift system, and given the type of view that will last a lifetime in memory, seemed pretty fair to me.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ride up to here was breathtaking - if you dont like heights dont try it!!!! Views from top just amazing and still snow up there in September. Inside of glacier very well done. If you have problems breathing this is not for you as air is a lot thinner up there and you become breathless very quickly

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Matterhorn Glacier Trail: From Trockener Steg to Schwarzsee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When I was young, I read a book named Mountain Adventures. The chapter about a beautiful mountain by the name of Matterhorn inspired me in particular with the stories about those brave men that were not afraid from the intimidating challenge of this mountain. They struggled to their physical limits – some succeeded but many perished.
Having known that I am not up to the task of climbing this mighty mountain – I have been dreaming to at least approach the mountain at its east side as near as possible. The east side is the steep rocky slope where many crazy mountaineers tried to climb.
This opportunity came this year. We came to Zermatt for a week and settled in a holiday apartment. In the morning we went to the cable way station only to find out that the direct cable car that goes to Trockener Steg does not operate. So we took the long way via Schwarzsee. Upon disembarking at Trockener (2939m) – we immediately started to walk.
The trail is wide and easy in the beginning. It starts with a descend to a lake, then turns left along the lake shore and ascend until reaching a huge plateau. This area used to be covered by snow and ice until 30 years ago. Now the ice receded (due to the global warm-up) and exposed a unique terrain, full of stones, rocks and boulders of all kinds and colors. If you watch and read carefully all what is written on the plenty information boards that are scattered along the trail – chances are that have earned your admittance to Geology studies in the university.
The whole plateau looks like a desolated wilderness, with hard to notice green pockets here and there. The mountains with the snow and ice around add to the intimidating feeling. Sometime I felt stranded in the desert.
The plateau ends with descend towards two glaciers that flow at the Matterhorn basis. A huge moraine marks the division line between them. The trail follows the glaciers until their melting point where an impassable strong water stream blocks the way. A nice and effective metal bridge was built across the stream for safety passage of the hikers. This is probably the closest that you get to the Matterhorn basis. From there the trail ascends towards Hirli at 2780m. On the left side – the trail to Hörnlihütte is clearly visible with metal ladders built literally in the air, adjacent to vertical rocks - certainly not for the faint-hearted.
Reaching Hirli – it was like revealing a new world. All of a sudden the desert is forgotten and flora is just everywhere. The deep descend towards Schwarzsee was not easy, but we had to do it quickly as the time for the cable car station close was imminent. Check before you start the shutdown time of the cable car station – they differ along the seasons.
The trail took us 4.5 hours to complete. Big experience, highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The View is Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Get an early start to beat the crowds and if the day is clear like it was when I went up you can clearly see the entire mountain range from the viewing platform. You can see several four-thousand meter mountain peaks in France, Italy as well as Switzerland. For the adventurer there is skiing, snowboarding, hiking, climbing and mountain biking available. There is a restaurant and shop at the top to rest and get a bite to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Glacier Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.