We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all its cracked up to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Matterhorn Glacier Paradise
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 81 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Attractions in Zermatt
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Caldwell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I took the cable car to the top, which was very expensive. The views to the top were amazing, however it was a long ride. Upon arriving at the glacier paradise we were excited to do the ice cavern and I sadly was disappointed. We had previously done the ice cavern at Juanfrau Joch and loved it, however I felt that this ice cavern was short and incompleted. We ate at the top which was nice and did some snow tubing, however I felt it was just an average experience and I don't think I would ever do it again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    83
    30
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a trip in a life time. The views from each leg of the cable car journey just got better and better. The views back down to Zermatt from Schwarzsee were spectacular, only to be bettered by the views of the Matterhorn, which luckily for us was cloud free until mid afternoon. The air was a bit thin at the top, as well as very cold, but watching skiers fly down the slopes, children enjoying the inflatable 'toboggans' and the panoramic view of the peaks did a much better job of taking your breath away.
It is an expensive trip, but we were lucky enough to get a reduction via our hotel in Tasch, and it was worth every centime.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Miss out the ice palace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

One the plus side the views of the mountains are amazing. The Matterhorn was hidden in cloud, but the view of the Breithorn were great.

On the minus side. It is very expensive (even with a 50% off Swiss Pass). The viewing platform was closed on the day we went. The ice palace+ice slide is poor. Don't waste your money. Also you have to go through about 5 turnstiles up and the same amount down, which seems quite unecessary.

Tips. It takes an hour to get up and another hour to get down, so go before lunch if at all possible. Take warm clothes and sun glasses.

The cable car sways quite a lot - so give it a miss if you have vertigo!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a must go for all visiting switzerland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

been to zermatt with my wife. our hotel staff recommended visiting gornergrat and matterhorn glacier paradise. we chose only glacier paradise and i must say i made a wise choice. it was just amazing. the last leg of cable car was jus out of the world and the 3 floor above deck gave us the best panorama views of peaks of europe! the glacier palace is also one of best as compared to other ice palaces in switzerland! would love to visit again for sure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Journey to the Center of the Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If Jules Vern's book froze over, I'm pretty sure this is where it would be. This was GREAT! Very cool (literally) being inside a glacier. There is a small slide for kids (and adults (: ) that is all completely made out of ice. This is definitely part of the Matterhorn experience! Only negative comment would be the price. One hundred swiss franks to catch the lift up (glacier paradise included) and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Glacier Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.