We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must go for all visiting switzerland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Glacier Paradise

Matterhorn Glacier Paradise
Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 966 81 00
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #4 of 24 attractions in Zermatt
Type: Observation Decks/ Towers
Attraction Details
Pune
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a must go for all visiting switzerland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

been to zermatt with my wife. our hotel staff recommended visiting gornergrat and matterhorn glacier paradise. we chose only glacier paradise and i must say i made a wise choice. it was just amazing. the last leg of cable car was jus out of the world and the 3 floor above deck gave us the best panorama views of peaks of europe! the glacier palace is also one of best as compared to other ice palaces in switzerland! would love to visit again for sure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    64
    26
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Journey to the Center of the Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

If Jules Vern's book froze over, I'm pretty sure this is where it would be. This was GREAT! Very cool (literally) being inside a glacier. There is a small slide for kids (and adults (: ) that is all completely made out of ice. This is definitely part of the Matterhorn experience! Only negative comment would be the price. One hundred swiss franks to catch the lift up (glacier paradise included) and enjoy the view.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Place to see Matterhorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is the closest you can get to Matterhorn, Non stop cable ride from Zermatt. Has a very good restaurant at the top & a beautifully done snow castle on the top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTE VEDRA BEACH
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Ride up to Schwarzee is just fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

To save some time & money we just rode up part way to Schwarzee but this is still an excellent excursion with great views of Zermatt and the Matterhorn. It's not as pricey as the full ride up. The is probably the best & longets cable car ride in Zermatt.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very high”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was our second time in Zermatt but with different people who had never seen the Matterhorn so we decided to spend 1st August (Swiss National Day) there. The campsite we were staying at, offered us tickets for the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise at Frs 80 instead of Frs 99 so we bought them. It was recommended that we bought Junior Pass for the children as it's cheaper than the normal children tickets you can get (30.- against 49.50).
It was a great experience and we all enjoyed it very much. The cable car goes very very high but the view is amazing. Once at the very top, it's rather cold so take some extra clothes to put on.
The glacier palace is even colder obviously but really worth a visit.
You can choose to get on or off at various places the cable car stops at and go for a walk or a drink at the restaurant. Regardless of what you do, the view is so beautiful and being so close to the Matterhorn is amazing.
The festivities start mid-afternoon with music being played and food and drinks being served on the street.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matterhorn Glacier Paradise also viewed

 

Been to Matterhorn Glacier Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.