We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Mathahorn View from Bedroom Window” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Save Saved
You added Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matterstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 116 hotels in Zermatt
Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Mathahorn View from Bedroom Window”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Mathahorn can be seen from bedroom, dinning room and as well as swimming from the spa pool . Location is very close to the downtown walking street .

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon and had an amazing time. Our room had a magnificant view of the Matterhorn, and although modern and not overly characterful in decor, it was very clean and the facilities were good. The spa was relaxing with huge windows so you can look out over the village and mountains.

The location is outside the centre of the village so away from the hustle and bustle and tourist hot spots. Contrary to other reviews, we thought breakfast was very generous and tasty with hot meals provided on request. Dinner was also very good and we were offered seconds and even thirds!

The staff were delightful - so friendly and courteous and cheerful. I would really recommend this hotel for a pleasant and comfortable stay. It's not fancy but it has a very warm and cosy atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Nice hotel, very friendly, has a good spa, not really anything negative, tip - call them and they will pick you up on their electric buggy from the station.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The best part is the location. It's a 6-min walk to the main train station and the main street where restaurants and shops are located. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a decent spread, with cold meats and cheeses, juice, coffee/espresso/tea, cereal, fruits and cook-to-order eggs on request. However, the room was just ok with basic toiletries provided in the bathroom. The decor of the room was a little outdated and the king-sized mattress was very very firm. The balcony did have the view of the Matterhorn. However, we paid about CHF450 per night, so we felt that the room was overpriced for the quality of the room with such basic hotel amenities (small pool, jacuzzi and sauna). The weekend we were there, most hotels were already fully booked, so we supposed we were quoted a slightly higher price due to unavailability in other hotels. On our next ski trip in Zermatt, if the same room is quoted more than CHF100 less than what we paid for, then we might consider returning to the hotel due to its close proximity to ski lifts and its friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Let's begin with the positive points, which will be absolutely short: a good service at the restaurant, a nice and helpful doorman, the beaufiful view over the Matterhorn from the eating room.

Unfortunately the negative points had the upper hand: the Metropol is an old hotel without any charme and with oldfashioned decoration, which proposes a second-class breakfast and very old sleeping rooms. In fact the all hotel should be renovated! Besides that the price is far too expensive for the poor quality that the house offers. To put it simply, these few nights we spent at the Metropol's hotel were by far the worst ones we have ever had in Zermatt!

Not to recommend at all.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed at the Metropol Hotel (and the third at the Alfa/Metropol facility). While there a number of more 'over the top' hotels in Zermatt, we elect to stay at the Metropol because of the friendliness of the owners and staff. They really make you feel at home. Nothing is too much trouble. The location is very central, the spa facilities excellent, and the food first rate. The majority of rooms have great views of the Matterhorn and is is a only s short walk to the links to the ski slopes. Fellow Australians would be well advised to explore the slopes of Zermatt as an alternative to the popular destinations of Whistler and Japan.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martigny, Switzerland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Tour de France came to our town (Martigny) for two whole days in July. We (a) do not like cycling and (b) nor do we like crowds! So we decided to leave town before the circus arrived and not come home till it was gone. We haven't been up to Zermatt for a few years and since it is less than 2 hours away we decided a few days there would be perfect. We chose the Metropol because we have always stayed there, since our very first time in Zermatt in the summer of 1966. Since we last stayed there (we have rented flats for some time instead of being in a hotel) the hotel has had a serious renovation but happily no change of owner!
The Metropol has gone from a 3 star "garni" hotel, which essentially means breakfast only, to a lovely 4 star hotel with quite decent restaurant and a really nice pool/fitness/spa complex. The hotel is on the banks of the river and at night you can sleep with your window open and hear the river rushing by. It is very quiet, and even though the hotel was full when we were there, seems uncrodwded. The extension which houses a nice sitting area with fireplace and the huge dining room is a great success. It really fits the mountain spirit and melds nicely with the original building.
Herr and Frau Taugwalder (son and daughter-in-law of the owners who first welcomed us there) were as charming as ever. Both speak good French and English, in addition to German.
We had breakfast there every day - a buffet, and quite adequate. I am not sure if eggs etc were on offer since we didn't ask. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night. The menu is very large and ranges from a simple boiled egg to various steaks etc. This is really nice since one might have had (as we did) a large lunch on the mountain and not wish for much to eat at night. We had soup and salad, and both were good.
The hotel will send someone to the station to collect you and your luggage if you ring them from the train. They charge 3frs per person for this service.
The rooms - redone - were attractive and the bathrooms really nicely redone. Lots of mirrors and bright lights (in some Swiss hotels the lighting is very low and it is hard to see what you are doing!)
All in it was a great three days in a lovely hotel. We plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt

Address: Matterstrasse 9, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Metropol & Spa Zermatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.