We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very exorbitant Internet...highest I have seen 6 trips to Europe” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holiday

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Holiday to your Saves list
Hotel Holiday
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gryfelblatte 4, Postfach 301, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very exorbitant Internet...highest I have seen 6 trips to Europe”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Seriously...a franc per 5 minutes? In 2013? This was the most expensive hotel of the trip and after fantastic travel day on Glacier Express, tired, hungry, wishing for news and email...Internet sucks!! Asked several others and this far from routine here. Go elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    14
    1
    4
See reviews for
27
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Service was friendly and good advice about difficulty of walks and viewing points in area. Got given matterhorn view even though booked standard room. Table with name on it at breakfast. Breakfast food ok.
Room had feel of cosy appartment with its balcony and sofa area. Very clean and bright. Mini bar packed,electronic safe,lots of storage area.
Hotel 10 mins walk up slope from stations and town but rewarded with views of town and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

First impressions not great when phoned to arrange pick up to be told not available. Receptionist was not going to provide any other response till I asked how we could get there (late at night). Turned out that late at night is not the only time their shuttle to and from hotel does not run as it was not available when we left either. This bumps up price of a stay as taxis to rail station very expensive. Incase anyone wondering this is not standard -we've stayed in another hotel in Zermatt and were taken to and from it at no cost. Breakfast OK but staff a little distant. Room couldn't be faulted - clean, well decorated and a nice balcony. Comfortable stay, just not likely to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a hard time finding this hotel. After asking directions from passer bys, we finally found it.

It was a steep climb up and it was not easy lugging our luggage as the track was covered with snow back then.

We booked a Quadruple Room with Balcony and it was clean. But WiFi was not available.

We requested for hot water and was charged for it!

When we checked out the hotel, we requested for the shuttle service from the hotel to the train station and were charged for it as well. Around 20 CHF for a < 5 min ride!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Holiday Zermatt was a very nice surprise in a positive way. The rooms are well dimensioned and very very clean. All the staff is always with a smile in their faces, and ready to help, as an example, I asked if they could print all the boarding cards of our group of 19 people and it was ok. The "owners" are always very close of everything, and we can see that they try to do all to make us feel ok.
But the big surprise was the Restaurant. What a Gourmet place, with low prices.
I must say that all the staff of the Restaurant, starting in Mr. José, the chief of staff, is at a top level in sympathy and efficiency.
A place to visit again.
Congratulations for all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We recently stayed in the Hotel Holiday while traveling with a group. The rooms are spotless and appear to have been recently renovated. The location is a bit far from town and inconvenient with hand luggage. The desk clerk was exceedingly helpful but the rest of the staff left much to be desired. In all of our previous accommodations, we had dinners included with w 2 drinks and fresh water. They did not bring water and said they would only provide 1 drink and if we wanted water, it would be $7.5 Swiss Francs or close to $10 for a small bottle. Upon check-in, our group gathered in the large bar and asked to order glasses of wine. The hotel said they would not sell glasses, only whole bottles. Since we were going to dinner soon, everyone chose to forgo the glass of wine which would have been very enjoyable. The hotel told us the desk would be manned nightly until about 9:30 or 10:00. After dinner, at 8;30, our group had many questions about activities in the area and went to the desk. There was a sign that said they would be right back but after waiting 30 minutes, we decided they had left early and were not returning. The dining staff was very unfriendly, never spoke to our group and seemed happy to say no they would not provide water. The internet is very expensive, there are no shampoos or toiletries. It felt like we were being nickle and dimed to death in this establishment.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel renovated the rooms recently and therefore they were spotless and accommodating.
Now they should renovate immediately the lobby that was probably built in the early 1970's.
One annoying thing was that they charge 15 CHF for the shuttle service from the central train station to the hotel. I have stayed at many ski resorts and this is the first time that a shuttle for the guests is not for free, especially when the hotel is 15 minutes walk on not on plain level off course...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holiday

Address: Gryfelblatte 4, Postfach 301, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Holiday 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Holiday is situated in a quiet place, 8 minutes' walk from Zermatt's centre and only 200 metres from the Sunnegga Express, taking you to the Sunnegga, Blauherd and Rothorn mountains. The ski slope from the Sunnegga down to Zermatt brings you right to the Holiday hotel. The Gornergrat train station and the bus stop to the Klein Matterhorn are as well easily reachable on foot. Our hotel has 36 non-smoking double or family rooms on four floors, with elevator access. Our family rooms have three or four beds, and some have connecting doors. Each room offers modern facilities in a warm and bright setting and has access to a balcony. Most of the rooms have a beautiful mountain view. Our restaurant, <>, allows you to enjoy dishes prepared by our chef, Denis Matray, a former student of Paul Bocuse. Our cuisine distinguishes itself by its use of high quality seasonal products. After a peaceful night's sleep, our generous breakfast buffet will set you off on a good foot for the day. You may select our half-board menu or give in to the temptations of our a la carte menu. You will also appreciate the cosy and chic atmosphere of our lounge-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Zermatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.