We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel was just as we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt to your Saves list
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 30, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Hotel was just as we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ideally placed for the train station and access to the walking trails. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant Stubli had a cosy and nice atmosphere. We had a corner junior suite which was spacious with views of the Matterhorn. The breakfast buffet was very generous and tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonvisitor186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
kuwait
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My room had a large balcony overlooking the street. The town is nice and cool in August and September. The hotel is very clean but too much wood for my taste. I loved the town. It is for mountaineers and skiers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h3kamal_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your reply on tripadvisor.

We were very happy to welcome you to our Hotel.

Sorry, that you think that there is too much wood. As our hotel is one of the oldest hotels in town and built in a typical chalet style there is definitely a lot of wood.
The owner family is investing every year a lot of money to keep the wood up to date.
Nevertheless I will inform the owners of your mention.

Thank you once again.
We hope to see you one day back here in Zermatt.
Sunny regards in the meantime,

Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our family's first trip to Zermatt. We were picked up at the train station by the hotel and was so happy to find that the hotel was right in the middle of this quaint town with many shops and restaurants. The location was perfect for us! The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Gornergrat Bahn. The hotel has a deep history and was well maintained. The front desk team was very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful with making dinner reservations and helping us find our way to the ski lifts. The breakfast buffet included is basic but very good with cereals, pastries, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and usually eggs with bacon or sausage. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food and service was also very good. We look forward to returning to Zermatt one day and would definitely stay at the Walliserhof hotel again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a king bed for my husband and I and a loft with a twin bed for our daug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is great for getting to and from the train station because it is only a few hundred metres away. Zermatt itself is small enough that it really doesn't matter where you stay. The room was quite large and very homely, very warm. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a large buffet that had a great coffee/hot chocolate machine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloSYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is very close to the station right on the main street of Zermatt. The place welcomes you with an overwhelming aroma of cheese because there are two restaurants on the ground floor and cheese fondues happen to be a favorite dish, this part of globe. The quality of food served is very good and that opinion was further reinforced after having dinner at a gourmet restaurant close by. There is also a McD, 5 minutes away from the hotel. There isn’t much of a view from the hotel but the windows are strategically located to get a clear glimpse of Matterhorn, if and when it appears. We were lucky to see it twice during our two nights stay. We visited Gornergrat and I must admit that it was the high point of our Switzerland visit. Zermatt town itself looks a little shabby by Switzerland standards. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and always wanting to help.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
129 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and tidy! We also got a room with a shared balcony. It was nice to hear and see the birds in the morning.

The breakfast buffet had limited food though. Plus, the service of the waitress was unsatisfactory. She was rude to one of my group members when he came down at 8:30am for breakfast and found out that bacon and eggs were almost finished. Behind him were 5 more Westerners waiting for food. He complained to the staff and the waitress that the food supply wouldn't feed the 6 of them and she simply responded, 'Well, there are still some eggs in there.'

The point wasn't that there's food or not. It's just not enough. She should've offered to refill the table instead of saying rudely that 'there's still some' food there (although not enough for the 6 of them).

Other than that, the hotel is in a good location, walking distance from all shops and restaurants as well as the train stations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank passportpleasePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Pinkoff,

thank you very much for your reply.
I am very happy that you were happy with your room at the Walliserhof.

I am terribly sorry that you had such a bad experience at breakfast. I do appologize for this incient. Today I had a discussion with my breakfast staff and I presented your review.
Thanks to your lignes we will be able to improve.
Once again, sorry for your feeling of rudeness.

thanks again for having stayed with us at the Walliserhof - Zermatt,

Caroline Ogi
Gastgeberin - Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you don't like cheese or feel bad wiht it smell, be prepared to smell it.. as there is a restaurant you have to pass for the elevator and the smell is quite intensive.
The hotel is quite nice.. the room we had was very confortable. The breakfast wasn't nothing special for the price we paid.. The restaurant is also very nice.
If you are going to skiing the hotel is not near the gondola.. still it is only about 10 minutes walking in the vilage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligia06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Ligia06,

thank you very much for your reply.

I feel sorry, that you were not so happy with our breakfast. What did you miss ? What should have been on our breakfast?
We try to improve our buffet breakfast regularly. My husband, who is our head chef, is trying to present a typical swiss breakfast full of freshness. We will analyze all that and do thank you for your reply.

Hope to have you back one day.

Best regards from Zermatt,

Caroline Ogi
Gastgeberin - Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pollux
Hotel Pollux
#50 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#26 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simi Zermatt
Hotel Simi Zermatt
#52 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#32 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Walliserhof has been a second home to guests from all over the world since 1896. You can find our hotel tucked into the middle of the main street in the heart of Zermatt. Here at Hotel Walliserhof we boast the oldest authentic cheese restaurant in Zermatt. Let your appetite be inspired by our chef Christian Schubert and his team in our second restaurant, the "Grill", which serves international dishes. Come cozy up by the fire at Thedi's Coffee & Tea House and enjoy a delicious cup of coffee or artisan tea. Take a break at our mini wellness or go for a work out at our partner CrossFit Zermatt. We hope to see you soon. Pernilla & Boris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walliserhof Swiss q Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing