We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was with Globus Tour of Switzerland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
kuwait
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I was with Globus Tour of Switzerland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My room had a large balcony overlooking the street. The town is nice and cool in August and September. The hotel is very clean but too much wood for my taste. I loved the town. It is for mountaineers and skiers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your reply on tripadvisor.

We were very happy to welcome you to our Hotel.

Sorry, that you think that there is too much wood. As our hotel is one of the oldest hotels in town and built in a typical chalet style there is definitely a lot of wood.
The owner family is investing every year a lot of money to keep the wood up to date.
Nevertheless I will inform the owners of your mention.

Thank you once again.
We hope to see you one day back here in Zermatt.
Sunny regards in the meantime,

Caroline Ogi & Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    50
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
81
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This was our family's first trip to Zermatt. We were picked up at the train station by the hotel and was so happy to find that the hotel was right in the middle of this quaint town with many shops and restaurants. The location was perfect for us! The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the Gornergrat Bahn. The hotel has a deep history and was well maintained. The front desk team was very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful with making dinner reservations and helping us find our way to the ski lifts. The breakfast buffet included is basic but very good with cereals, pastries, cheeses, fruit, yogurts and usually eggs with bacon or sausage. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food and service was also very good. We look forward to returning to Zermatt one day and would definitely stay at the Walliserhof hotel again!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that had a king bed for my husband and I and a loft with a twin bed for our daug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location is great for getting to and from the train station because it is only a few hundred metres away. Zermatt itself is small enough that it really doesn't matter where you stay. The room was quite large and very homely, very warm. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was a large buffet that had a great coffee/hot chocolate machine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is very close to the station right on the main street of Zermatt. The place welcomes you with an overwhelming aroma of cheese because there are two restaurants on the ground floor and cheese fondues happen to be a favorite dish, this part of globe. The quality of food served is very good and that opinion was further reinforced after having dinner at a gourmet restaurant close by. There is also a McD, 5 minutes away from the hotel. There isn’t much of a view from the hotel but the windows are strategically located to get a clear glimpse of Matterhorn, if and when it appears. We were lucky to see it twice during our two nights stay. We visited Gornergrat and I must admit that it was the high point of our Switzerland visit. Zermatt town itself looks a little shabby by Switzerland standards. The staff of the hotel was very friendly and always wanting to help.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and tidy! We also got a room with a shared balcony. It was nice to hear and see the birds in the morning.

The breakfast buffet had limited food though. Plus, the service of the waitress was unsatisfactory. She was rude to one of my group members when he came down at 8:30am for breakfast and found out that bacon and eggs were almost finished. Behind him were 5 more Westerners waiting for food. He complained to the staff and the waitress that the food supply wouldn't feed the 6 of them and she simply responded, 'Well, there are still some eggs in there.'

The point wasn't that there's food or not. It's just not enough. She should've offered to refill the table instead of saying rudely that 'there's still some' food there (although not enough for the 6 of them).

Other than that, the hotel is in a good location, walking distance from all shops and restaurants as well as the train stations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Pinkoff,

thank you very much for your reply.
I am very happy that you were happy with your room at the Walliserhof.

I am terribly sorry that you had such a bad experience at breakfast. I do appologize for this incient. Today I had a discussion with my breakfast staff and I presented your review.
Thanks to your lignes we will be able to improve.
Once again, sorry for your feeling of rudeness.

thanks again for having stayed with us at the Walliserhof - Zermatt,

Caroline Ogi
Gastgeberin - Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you don't like cheese or feel bad wiht it smell, be prepared to smell it.. as there is a restaurant you have to pass for the elevator and the smell is quite intensive.
The hotel is quite nice.. the room we had was very confortable. The breakfast wasn't nothing special for the price we paid.. The restaurant is also very nice.
If you are going to skiing the hotel is not near the gondola.. still it is only about 10 minutes walking in the vilage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Ligia06,

thank you very much for your reply.

I feel sorry, that you were not so happy with our breakfast. What did you miss ? What should have been on our breakfast?
We try to improve our buffet breakfast regularly. My husband, who is our head chef, is trying to present a typical swiss breakfast full of freshness. We will analyze all that and do thank you for your reply.

Hope to have you back one day.

Best regards from Zermatt,

Caroline Ogi
Gastgeberin - Direktorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

....nor sure why I liked it so much but I did. Restaurant great, breakfast was a dairy food lovers paradise. Fondue was lovely and service was great. Rooms good, nothing outstanding but nothing too complain about either. Just a very good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#42 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walliserhof Swiss q Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Swiss q

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.