We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof to your Saves list
Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Only stayed one night, could easily have stayed longer, only was booked on the "Glacier Express" which leaves just 200 yards from this hotel. An ideal base for all the Swiss tourist trains including the Gornergrat Bahn.
Very friendly welcome, lovely large room with view of the Matterhorn (what more could you wish for), always warm and welcoming despite -18 outside! Had a "special" lunch for CHF25 which was good with quick service, important if catching the Gornergrat.
Would recommend to all - top tip go in winter the snow transforms this beautiful area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    53
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice hotel on Bahnhofstrasse, very close to the main railway station and terminal of Gornergrat train. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has two nice restaurants, the finer one and the "Stube" where you can get fondue and raclette. Someone complained in a review about the smell at the entrance of restaurants. I would not - it is from the cheese! Rooms are plain but clean. Beds are comfortable. The only reason to not give "Excellent" and 5 out of 5 are the poorly performing wifi and the quality of coffee at breakfast - from Nescafe machine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Everything was perfect. We should stay longer...
Great location, just a few steps to the Trains Station(important) and the Gronergrat.
Really nice nearby.
Spacious and confortable room. Great brakfast and restaurant.
The staff has always a smile and was very helpfull.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel in early September. This is a smaller hotel with modern and clean rooms. The bathrooms are well lit and super clean. We had a delicious dinner there, and the breakfast was excellent. This place is close to everything, and quite nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed half board at this hotel for a week in August. The staff were so friendly and did everything to make sure that we enjoyed our holiday in Zermatt. Upon arrival we were met at the station by the hotel porter and were taken to the hotel in an electric car which was just 5 minutes walk away. The room was a good size with fruit and a card waiting for us when we arrived. Our room had a bath and a separate shower which was very convenient. A five course meal was available for every evening meal with a choice of two dishes for the main course giving us the opportunity to try some of the regional dishes. A free packed lunch is also available on request which we found very useful as eating out can be very expensive in Switzerland. The staff were always interested to know what our plans were for the day and were always happy to share their knowledge of the local area. We had a fantastic holiday in Zermatt and would definitely stay here again, thank you Christine and your team!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a very large room here - one that was obviously a family room. The views were great - the Matterhorn from the side window. Having a balcony was a real bonus too - allowing us to sit outside with a drink.

The bathroom had a bath, which was good as this was our third hotel in Switzerland and the first with a bath! There was no air conditioning though which made the room very uncomfortable at night - Switzerland in the summer gets extremely hot! There were no tea and coffee facilities either, only an expensive mini-bar, but we visited the local CO-OP and bought bottles of iced tea!

Breakfast was a little poor - not much selection and the hot food not particularly appetising. On our second morning things were running very low and were not replenished very readily.

One poster comments on the 'bad smell' in the hotel. We too noticed this, but concluded it was probably caused by the restaurant as it sold fondue and raclette - not that we actuallly got to eat in the hotel due to the very unwelcome attitude of the staff. We had made a reservation and when we arrived in the 'Stubli' we were looked at in rather a negative manner and the 'maitre d'' seemed to take an inordinate time to decide that, yes, we had a reservation. He showed us to a table and a very surly waiter gave us menus with very little greeting. We then sat for 20 minutes while the waiter served the couple on the next table and generally messed about. Even trying to catch his eye and get him to come over did not work. So, to cut a long story short, we got up amd walked out. We got the distinct impression that we were not wanted in their 'Stubli'. Perhaps it is because we could not speak German, but whatever it was it left us feeling very annoyed. Sabine on reception was very apologetic, and we were given a bottle of grenadine as a 'sorry'.

A shame the restaurant wasn't as friendly and welcoming as the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Upon arrival, we (not the hotel) signed in with the wrong reservation card (we didn't even look at the name on the card, we just signed it). As soon as we got to our room the room phone rang letting us know there was a mix up. The error was caught immediately and as a compensation, the front desk (Sabine) upgraded our room to a suite and offered us a glass of champagne. Well, weren't we sassy and happy. As we settled into our room, we opened our double door windows to main street Zermatt. There we heard church bells, sleigh bells on the horse drawn carriages, a marching band. OMG, are we in heaven or what? The flower boxes in bloom and the sweet smell of perfume is so nice.

If you want it, Sabine and the Hotel Wallisenhof Swiss Q will find out and make it happen. Sabine is so helpful and knowledgeable about all the local culture. Don't hesitate to find her as she really enjoys what she does everyday and it shows in her pleasant personality and her willingness to go out of her way to be a help and make your stay outstanding.

Other than the breakfasts (which were outstanding) we didn't eat at the hotel but upon entering and exiting the hotel we noticed that the restaurant was always crowded with patrons.

This hotel like others in Switzerland requires that you leave your tassled hotel key on a board in the lobby as you exit the hotel. It seemed strange to us but that's the way "it's done in Zermatt and St. Moritz."

This hotel is quietly comfortable and old world. The lightening and the furnishings are real nice and you get the feeling this hotel has been doing it so well for so long, they really know what they are doing.

I would highly recommend this hotel without reservation and if you can work with Sabine, you will be in for a wonderful stay. We love you Sabine.

Room Tip: I would suggest you request a room in the rear of the hotel. Reason? there is a bar next door and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COKandersteg, Geschäftsführer at Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear HLCSANTA,

thank you very much for you wonderful reply.
We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Walliserhof.

Our aim is to make people happy and to organise them an unforgettable stay.
SABINE is our hero - we love her as well!!!

Come back soon, sunny regards,
Caroline Ogi - Sylvain Stefanazzi Ogi
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof

Address: Bahnhofstrasse, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#41 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walliserhof Swiss q Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Swiss q

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel - Restaurant Walliserhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.