We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located in Zermatt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Conveniently located in Zermatt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Our first impression for the hotel was not good. We went for check in and the brown haired lady ( couldn't remember her name ) looked at us as we are interfering her work. She talked to us in an unwelcoming tone of voice and never gave us a smile during our whole stay. She seems to dislike Asians and cater much more better to Westerners! Her attitude is not right for hospitality business. But our whole stay was made better with Ann ( she is blonde haired). She was really nice and friendly and I gave her a beautiful Thai scarf as a gift for her kindness. Now about the rooms, it is very large a bit dated but clean and with gorgeous balcony and view to the mountains. The breakfast were good and the half board was good. The staff in dining room were Italians and they were very friendly and attentive. The location of the hotel was very convenient for the train station, gornergrat bahn, and for the shopping street in Zermatt. I did not give it 5 stars because of the unwelcoming attitude of the front desk lady. But for the price hotel Butterfly is excellent!

Room Tip: Get a room with balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Cherry,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    93
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
65
154
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights recently as part of a package with Swiss Travel service. The first thing to say is that the staff were delightful. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. Easy two minute walk from station.
We were originally given a room at one end of the building on the second floor. The patio consisted of two plastic chairs on a large metal grate. A public pavement was literally a few feet away. No privacy whatsoever. Asked to change rooms. No problem. This time the room was one of three on the first floor all sharing the same terrace, below pavement level [on an incline] This would be fine for a party of six but not for three different couples who are complete strangers, like the Indian gentleman who appeared next to me one morning dressed only in a towel. Very embarrassing all round.
For those visitors who insist on air conditioning, there isn't any [at least as far as I could see] Also there is no mini-fridge in the room. There is a vending machine downstairs.
Lovely people as I say but all the customer service employees I encountered in this region were.
I'm sure there are other hotels in the area that would equal the Butterfys positives with none of the negatives.Should you decide to stay, INSIST on a completely private balcony on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor for the views and insist on properly screened private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had booked this hotel just one night before changing our plan, as it is very close to the train station. The reception is friendly and well response, as we arrived around the midnight. After informed her in the morning of the arrival date, she had prepared everything nicely. The room is very comfort with the good view of mountain in the morning. The breakfast is nice and variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Scalopages,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights on holiday with my wife. They pick you up from the train station in their little electric bus, but it is really close by and easy to walk ... we easily walked back with our luggage to catch our train when we checked out. Also, the hotel is very close and easy walking distance to everything in the town. We found the reception staff helpful and the rooms clean and tidy with plenty of space. We had a small balcony which was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view, especially when it snowed on our first morning. Breakfast was nice with a good choice of fresh food, although can get a little busy some mornings. Would stay again net time in Zermatt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Keithl,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Situated just a turn from the main railway station (literally first left and follow the narrow street up) is a cosy and affordable hotel with excellent rooms and food. Checking was fine and our room was delightful, with views of the Alps though not quite the Matterhorn. For that, u would have to opt for hotels across the river on the other side of town or further in.
We stayed for 2 separate nights .. Room 400 was great but 301 was not so good cos u cant't get any wifi signal in the latter. Otherwise, this is a good hotel in a fantastic location considering u can't drive in and have to take the train.
Great job and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Avoid 301 cos no wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Markant Faye,

Thank you for your nice review. We always happy to hear that our customers liked the stay in the Butterfly.
thank you for the advice with the WiFi Signal - I checked it and we move the sender/receiver in a different Angle and than it should work!

thanks and see you next time - when you're in Zermatt
Frank

Manager - BestWestern Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed in the Butterfly as wanted to stay in a hotel that looked like a picture on a chocolate box. My expectations were exceeded. The staff were wonderful. The view from my balcony was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend his hotel for service, friendliness, value for money and many other reasons.
Short walk from train station and to restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ceried,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel Butterfly exceeded our expectations for a 3-star hotel, especially in Zermatt which can be quite pricey. We did stay in the off-season which is reflected in the room price. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and "at home". Efficient check in, fantastic room with a balcony and view. Excellent Wi-Fi. The reception staff were so helpful and helpful and the location is very central and an easy walk from the train station. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. We even enjoyed a meal in the restaurant as we enjoyed the Alpine village feel in the hotel would highly recommend this hotel for many reasons and hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Chazzy,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.