We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with close distance and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Zermatt
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with close distance and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had booked this hotel just one night before changing our plan, as it is very close to the train station. The reception is friendly and well response, as we arrived around the midnight. After informed her in the morning of the arrival date, she had prepared everything nicely. The room is very comfort with the good view of mountain in the morning. The breakfast is nice and variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Scalopages,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    93
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
65
154
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed two nights on holiday with my wife. They pick you up from the train station in their little electric bus, but it is really close by and easy to walk ... we easily walked back with our luggage to catch our train when we checked out. Also, the hotel is very close and easy walking distance to everything in the town. We found the reception staff helpful and the rooms clean and tidy with plenty of space. We had a small balcony which was nice to sit outside and enjoy the view, especially when it snowed on our first morning. Breakfast was nice with a good choice of fresh food, although can get a little busy some mornings. Would stay again net time in Zermatt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Keithl,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Situated just a turn from the main railway station (literally first left and follow the narrow street up) is a cosy and affordable hotel with excellent rooms and food. Checking was fine and our room was delightful, with views of the Alps though not quite the Matterhorn. For that, u would have to opt for hotels across the river on the other side of town or further in.
We stayed for 2 separate nights .. Room 400 was great but 301 was not so good cos u cant't get any wifi signal in the latter. Otherwise, this is a good hotel in a fantastic location considering u can't drive in and have to take the train.
Great job and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Avoid 301 cos no wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Markant Faye,

Thank you for your nice review. We always happy to hear that our customers liked the stay in the Butterfly.
thank you for the advice with the WiFi Signal - I checked it and we move the sender/receiver in a different Angle and than it should work!

thanks and see you next time - when you're in Zermatt
Frank

Manager - BestWestern Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed in the Butterfly as wanted to stay in a hotel that looked like a picture on a chocolate box. My expectations were exceeded. The staff were wonderful. The view from my balcony was breathtaking. I would definitely recommend his hotel for service, friendliness, value for money and many other reasons.
Short walk from train station and to restaurants.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ceried,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel Butterfly exceeded our expectations for a 3-star hotel, especially in Zermatt which can be quite pricey. We did stay in the off-season which is reflected in the room price. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and "at home". Efficient check in, fantastic room with a balcony and view. Excellent Wi-Fi. The reception staff were so helpful and helpful and the location is very central and an easy walk from the train station. Breakfast was excellent as was the service. We even enjoyed a meal in the restaurant as we enjoyed the Alpine village feel in the hotel would highly recommend this hotel for many reasons and hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Chazzy,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling - BW Hotel Butterfly
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

2nd Stay in Zermatt . First in this hotel. Very smart and stylish .... great value for money. Clean , tidy with efficient staff. View of mountains from our room on 4th floor was breath taking. Good central location two minutes walk from railway station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I considered myself lucky to find a any hotel at a reasonable price, but Hotel Butterfly exceeded my expectations. The location is close to the train station (a 5 minute walk--take a right just past McDonald's). I didn't know the hotel had a courtesy shuttle, but it's so close, who needs it? We had room 211, which faced away from the Matterhorn. But, it was cloudy all three days, so you couldn't see it without going up on the Gornergrat. We did face a horsetail waterfall that was itself beautiful. And, we had a balcony, which you could sit on and enjoy the fresh air and view. The room was very clean, and we appreciated that the tub/shower also had a retractable clothesline for hanging your sink wash. The elevator was tiny, more like a moving closet. But, it was quick and did the job. Wi-fi in the room was strong, which gave me something to do when the second day was a rain-out. The rainy day also gave us the excuse to do something we didn't the whole trip, watch TV. Most of the stations are German language with a couple of British thrown in. Had a real hoot watching the German version of "Cops". The breakfast buffet was very good (eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, etc.), and the attendants were very helpful. The front desk staff was also very helpful with directions, literature, etc. We got a little later check-out to cover any delay we might have encountered on the Gornergrat round-trip. Also, we appreciated the complimentary full size umbrellas by the front entrance. Total cost for two nights (early May) was 380 francs. If I return to Zermatt, I want to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank S, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear ...Shaka_Frank,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at + 41 27 966 41 66.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Frank & Simone Schilling
Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly

Address: Bodmenstrasse 21, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#34 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Butterfly has a quiet location in the center of car-free Zermatt, a 2-minute walk from the Gornergratbahn train station and the ski bus stop.All rooms at the Butterfly hotel have satellite TV including CNN, coffee and tea-making facilities and are provide with free Wi-Fi.In the evening, you can enjoy a delicious 5-course dinner in the restaurant.The spa area features a Finnish sauna, an infrared cabin, a steam bath and a tanning bed. During the summer, the spa area is available upon request. Massages are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Butterfly
Best Western Zermatt
Zermatt Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;