We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mountain Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Ried

Restaurant Ried
Riedweg, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41 27 967 42 84
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 175 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $6 - $49
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Swiss, Contemporary, Healthy
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Mountain Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We've been going to Ried now for years and only now getting around to writing a review.

This place is an absolute gem. As with most restaurants in Zermatt, it has the advantage of an amazing view, and a great culinary tradition. Ried has the unique advantage of being relatively close to town. The 15 min walk up the hill from Petit Village is shockingly beautiful both in summer and winter: passing over a mountain stream, by ancient Stadel through a stand of woods, and up an alpine meadow.

Once there, the hospitality is fantastic. Patrick and Bea are wonderful hosts and usually see us coming and have the bowl of water ready for the dog when we get there. They never seem to mind switching to English after my German runs out. The food is always fun and good; but the treat is the hospitality and sitting enjoying the stunning view of the Matterhorn.

We go every August 1st for a special mountain evening to celebrate Swiss National Day. It's just a few weeks away... I can't wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
1 review
“An amazing place like no other.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is the place to enjoy my stay in Zermatt. I've been skiing in Zermatt for 5 years but I bet I will never find any better place in Zermatt.
Food they serve is always with worm and kind hospitalities, Service is so friendly. I see some people visit this restaurant had bad experiences tho I totally doubt that.
I highly recommend this place. You would miss the best food and hospitality in Zermatt if you didn't visit this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Jägertee stop”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The weather in Zermatt was windy today so we stopped here for a drink on the way down the mountain. We sat in the red and white cabin on the terrace and enjoyed our drink. The waitress appeared very grumpy and accused me of using the toilet without buying any food or drink. Her attitude spoilt our otherwise pleasant visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bea552, Inhaber at Restaurant Ried, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast, es tut uns leid wenn Sie sich falsch verstanden fühlten, aber wir dürfen nach fragen ob die Toilette einfach nur so benutzt wird, wenn Sie versteckt im Strandkorb sassen und es sehr voll war und Sie in diesem Moment leider übersehen wurden , entschuldigen wir uns dafür, wir bedanken uns nachträglich vielmals für zwei Getränke die sie bestellt hatten , merci , weiterhin viel Spass beim bewerten ,Bea Nayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Following the good reviews I had read, my wife and I stopped at Rieds on our final run of the day. To say the waitress had a bad attitude would be an understatement, we had intended to have a late lunch and I ordered a beer and tried to order a jug of water, to be told they only did bottled water. Whilst waiting for a menu we noticed the couple next to us had a jug of water, which we had been told was not available!!! We had to ask to see a menu, to which the waitress moved a board to the end of our table without any explanation, we obviously were not suitable for a proper typed menu like the other customers. We decided at that point to give up on the surly unwelcoming restaurant and find somewhere more welcoming. One star for the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bea552, Inhaber at Restaurant Ried, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast, sie haben unser Konzept nicht verstanden, im Ried wird nur mit Tafeln gearbeitet, unfreundlich ist niemand hier,sie haben uns ausgewählt wegen guter Bewertungen und bestellen Leitungswasser ?? Sie haben viel verpasst , aber weiterhin viel Spass am bewerten, Bea Nayer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Zermatt gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Zermatt,had two excellent meals in Ried, the first was with a group of 20 people on a snowy day, everyone thought it was fantastic and the service and food was very good. Returned two days later and tried the chocolate pudding, to die for. Great service and excellent food, and lovely views of the Matterhorn at the end of the day. Try the meatloaf. Yum.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Ried also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Ried? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Ried, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.