We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Owned, Locals Frequent it. What does that tell you?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet da Giuseppe

Chalet da Giuseppe
Vispastrasse 26, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
+41(0)279671380
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 173 restaurants in Zermatt
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Owned, Locals Frequent it. What does that tell you?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If a restaurant is packed with locals, it usually means it is one of the best restaurants in the area. We had an another amazing dining experience at Giuseppe restaurant. Tiny, quaint, and family owned. The owner shook everybody's hand when they came and left. Ladies got the traditional kiss on the cheek. If you did not know it there, you would walk by it every time. Glad our hotel recommended it!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    47
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A waste of money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing.
Got squeezed in a super small table by a lousy italian man who screams something at you trying to be funny.
Food quality is average , very small portions and very pricey.
Bad value.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich region
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a Italian place during our ski vacation. By coincidence we found Chalet da Giuseppe, not knowing that this is one of the top recommended places in Zermatt. We booked a table on the very same day and it was no problem getting one during the first "shift", i.e. at 6 pm which is more of a family timing. The waitress immediately served a complimentary glass of Prosecco. That was a serious good start. We ordered some great pasta and it was served super fast. They also offered kids portions. Service was very nice, Giuseppe himself was super charming. They even served Grappa towards the end, maybe to let you forget the bill. But despite the pricey food it is a place to recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Italian food plus extra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small, cozy place, close to the train station and to Sunnega tunnel entrance. Always crowded because well known for its simple but great Italian cuisine. Little chance to get into without booking, sometimes few days in advance. Quite a variety of dishes as for such a little restaurant. Nice and quick service. But on top of food there is another good reason to be there: the second name of the place is Da Giuseppe, and there he is – definitively Italian with all his charms and lifestyle. In my opinion without Giuseppe the place would not exist. It is worth to go there, have nice dinner and a lot of fun but if you want to explore it fully, you have to book in advance or be personal friend of Giuseppe. Or best both, otherwise it is just a good restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had last visited this restaurant 14 years ago and found it very good. Has since become very popular and quality of food plummetted. The vast menu couldnt be frshly prepared. I had Mussels that were mushy and probably the worst I've ever had. They had certainly been reheated and I suspect it was a frozen and microwaved.The sauce was tinned tomato with chilli. Pappardelle was overcooked, and everything about the meal was totally forgettable.
The owners "false bonhomie" very quickly grated as did the loud music. I think that the restaurants popularity is due to the provision of "free" drinks that are obviously reflected in the prices charged, and aren't necessarily wanted
.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet da Giuseppe also viewed

 

Been to Chalet da Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet da Giuseppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.