We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Matterhorn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise

Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise
Zermatt, Switzerland
+41 27 966 81 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 45 things to do in Zermatt
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Skiing and snowboarding the whole year round, with 365 days of snow – you can only find this in Zermatt. As the highest altitude, largest and most efficiently developed snow sport location in the Alps, Zermatt offers an absolute snow guarantee. In winter, 350 km of piste attracts skiers of all levels. Unlimited skiing and snowboarding between Switzerland and Italy – no other destination can offer this. And in the summer? Enjoy the 20 km of pistes on the Zermatt Theodul Glacier. Carve and relax alongside national ski teams from the whole of Europe. With the Matterhorn always in sight.
Magolia, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Majestic Matterhorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you have seen the Matterhorn at 6 a.m. with the sun blazing on the snow - you have seen the majesty and glory of God. It is utterly undescribable. The town of Zermatt is so picturesque, it makes you want to live there. We took the train the first time, and the last time electric cars from a little town below. Even though we were there for only 21/2 days, we crammed everything we could into that time. We ate at the Cafe du Pont, which had been there from the beginning of Zermatt and had a great visit with the proprieter. He had pictures of his first cafe and several remodels. We had Rosti, which was the best. Walking is mostly up and down the hill. We stayed at a wonderful place, Hotel Antares. The view of the mountain was fantastic, and the chef outstanding. They have been there for years, and were talking about retiring, which would be a shame. We visited in June 2011 - it wasn't on the date list below.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    82
    14
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Zermatt - take the train up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A great ski destination - the town is quaint - one can only access it by train - great view of the Matterhorn mountain - ski on the Switzerland side - or go over the other side and you are in Italy ... highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Zermatt Wonderland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would compare this resort to Whistler, but better. Amazing terrain and incredible restaurants with great off piste skiing. People around the whole mountain where very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a fun night life scene, this is the spot as well with fun pub's and bar's on the mountain. There is even a fun late night club if you really want to tie one on!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“I love this Alpine ski resort (despite I didn't do any skiing!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The beautiful alpine town of Zermatt is located in southern Switzerland is a must see place. Not because the town is beautiful and its an alpine resort like some of the other places in the area, but its also the start of many hiking routes in the mountains and also the cable cars to whisk tourists up to see the Matterhorn mountain. Most of the mountains overlooking Zermatt are over 4,000m high (13,000ft).

Now, there are three ways to get to Zermatt from the north (as there is no route by road from west/east or south). First, you can hike/cycle to the resort. Second, take the train from anywhere in Switzerland which takes you to Zermatt, and third, drive to Taesch where there is a huge multi-story car park. From here, you take the train which lasts 10 minutes and goes through the valleys past some amazing scenery before arriving in the heart of Zermatt. You see, you are not allowed to take vehicles into the resort unless you have a special permit. (You can also park the car at Visp or Brigg and take the train from there). For car park charges and train fares, check out the website at www.zermatt.ch

The town is very beautiful to walk around especially in the summer, with its chalet houses with baskets of flowers hanging from there, and there is loads of other historic buildings in the centre and also the town square which features a fountain with a statue of a marmot (looks like a beaver to me!)

If you want the cable car to Matterhorn, leave the train station, turn right and follow the road straight (past McDonald's and other tourist shops, and then over a bridge which goes over loads of river streams), and you will make the cable car station within ten minutes. It is all signposted.

This is an amazing ski resort and is worth checking out, even if its just for a day trip. I hope to return here one day as I love mountains and I want to explore more hiking routes from here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My favourite place in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I love Zermatt and was married here. It is the most beautiful place in the world. The only downside is the cost of everything for people who do not earn in Swiss francs. The supermarkets are a similar price to home but everything else is more expensive.

The skiing is fantastic the only downside is that they need to improve access to Cervinia so it is quicker (long queues at Trockner Steg) or freeze on the long t bar. The lift pass us also ridiculously expensive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.